We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cold but well worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Copper Oven

The Copper Oven
6800 State Route 89, At Cayuga Ridge Estate Winery, Ovid, NY 14521 (Formerly The Copper Oven (at Cayuga Ridge Estate Winery))
+1 607-220-8794
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Ovid
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Pizza, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Winner of The Nature Conservancy's Nature's Plate Award for the Finger Lakes region in 2013, The Copper Oven's specialty is wood fired pizza. Our menu rotates monthly and relies on home grown and locally sourced ingredients. We promise you good food in a laid back and friendly environment. The Copper Oven is located at Cayuga Ridge Estate Winery, in the center of the Cayuga Wine Trail West in the Finger Lakes region.
Earlville, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“cold but well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

wanted to get back here before it closed for the winter and although it was a little chilly we had another wonderful time. Food to die for, the meat platter is our fav as the cheese platter is my sisters fav. The pizza is every bit worth having a small chill, love the bbq flat bread pizza the best. everyone here is so welcoming and friendly its like having dinner with family.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt Laurel, New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very Light On Toppings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

While the ambiance is lovely with a covered deck eating area and view, we did a take out. The thin crust was nicely wood fired crisp, but there was very little on it. Consequently, the small pizzas (personal size) were over priced and very disappointing. In spite of just a few people eating, we waited an extremely long time for our pizzas to be prepared and cooked on top of it all.

We had seen wood fired pizzas at the Ithaca Farmers Market which looked wonderful. We should have waited in line for one of those!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skircher, Owner at The Copper Oven, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Many thanks for your review - especially because it helps us to clarify a couple of things. TRIPADVISOR READERS please take note:

1) Our Take Out Policy - Takeout is available on a limited basis when we can handle it. Sometimes we are too busy with in-house dining to offer pizza, etc. to go. Please understand our first priority is people eating in the restaurant. This policy is posted in BOLD letters on our website.

2) We Are Not Dominos - Like you suggested in your review, you should definitely try Finger Lakes Flatbread at the Ithaca Farmer's Market. Their pizza is awesome (and worth the long line). But if you're looking for pie with more toppings, you'll probably be disappointed again. Why? Because our approach to pizza is the same - i.e., we purposely use toppings in moderation to achieve a balance with our thin crust. But you're from New Jersey (one of the few true pizza capitals of the world) so we know you know this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
“Great Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Copper Oven serves great pizza - light, with unusual and distinctive flavors. And the setting - on an open porch - is very pleasant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wood fired oven pizza, yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you enjoy wood fired oven pizza, this is a delightful place to stop. The ambiance is just great. All seating is outside on a covered deck. There is a nice view of the vineyards and a distant view of Cayuga Lake. There are not many choices on the menu, but if you really love wood fired oven pizza, this is a great place to visit. We had the bbq chicken pizza which was very tasty. There was enough for two, but I wish we had ordered another one!! There was a small selection of wines and juices. If you stop by on a Saturday, I would recommend a reservation and the wineries in the FingerLakes region get very crowded.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarloaf, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were able to sit outside and enjoy a pizza and salad. They were pretty good. We were hoping to have a glass of red wine with our lunch but didn't care for the wines at Cayuga Family Winery. Otherwise, it was a good experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Copper Oven also viewed

 

Been to The Copper Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Copper Oven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.