We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place on the lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Strand at Sheldrake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ovid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Strand at Sheldrake
Save
You added Silver Strand at Sheldrake to your Saves list
7398 Wyers Point Road, Ovid, NY 14521   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Ovid B&B and Inns
Belvidere, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place on the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Not much more to ad except some photos of this great B&B

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
70
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Hill, VA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I loved this B&B. We loved riding the bikes up to the restaurants and along the lake. Our favorite is Simply Red Bistro. They have items on the menu such as home made smoked trout pate and pickled local asparagus w/red onion ginger and garlic. The local wines are incredible and everything is reasonably priced.

Our room had a turret styled balcony where we ate breakfast. Maura makes a homemade gourmet breakfast each morning. One morning she made a fried vegetable patty with something delicious in between... poached egg? (can't remember) topped with an artichoke and covered with hollindaise sauce. Yum, yum! There was also fresh fruit, homemade cherry coffee cake and blue berry crumpets. A nice extra was putting out a sign on your door if you would like a coffee tray brought and left outside your door.... you could choose among 7:00, 7:30 or 8:00. I loved this as I need coffee as soon as I wake up.

Skip took us on an hour long boat trip ($100) and told us all about the area. Very interesting. There are also other boats for guests to use free of charge.

Everything was very clean and the beds were comfortable. For such an old house it was quiet, too. A minor notice, and only because I'm a decorator, the rooms could use a face lift, especially the flowered border wallpaper. Although if that was done the price would go up... at less than $200 a night this is a steal..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

My husband and I truly enjoyed our visit at the Silver Strand on May 5, 2011. We hadn't even gotten up the steps and Skip was outside greeting us and showing us around. We met Maura later in the day and found the couple to be down to earth, no-nonense and more than accomodating and eager to please. The location is the most idyllic spot to relax, slow down, and enjoy. I loved the breakfast buffet flexibility where we had a range of time we could eat and weren't restricted by portions (either too much or too little). The food was wonderful, the room and house was clean, and the hosts made us feel right at home. Although my husband and I typically like to try and experience different B&B's in our travels, we would have no qualms about visiting this wonderful B&B repeatedly. The Silver Strand in fact could become a destination instead of a place to sleep while visiting other destinations.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Our satisfaction began before even arriving at the B&B. Upon simply asking for recommendations about local restaurants, we also received an offer from Maura (innkeeper) to make a reservation for us.

At arrival, we were greeted warmly by Maura who showed us to our very clean and comfortable room. We stayed in the former master suite which has a balcony that looks out over Cayuga Lake. The room has nearly floor to ceiling sized windows that run along 2 sides of the room. Despite the many windows, our room stayed very warm with the help of a gas fireplace.

Each morning brought a bountiful gourmet breakfast. Maura made goat cheese souffles one morning and apple pancakes on another. There was also fresh cut fruit, toast, bagels, and granola available daily. Maura also offers early morning coffee that she delivers to your room prior to breakfast.

The "lobby" had a large refrigerator with water, soda, beer, and wine available for purchase. There's also a wide choice of snacks to choose from if needed.

This was our first visit to the Finger Lakes region and we found the location of the B&B to be very convenient. It took about 30 minutes to get to Watkins Glen. (The gorge is a must-see!) We were able to easily visit wineries on both Seneca Lake as well as Cayuga.

We have stayed in many B&Bs and this one will definitely be on our list for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

My wife and I spent 3 wonderful nights at this charming B&B on the shores of Cayuga Lake. This gem is centrally located to explore the Finger Lakes Region and the Cayuga and Seneca Wine Trails. Our hosts made us feel right at home. The home cooked breakfasts were to die for and the service was impecible. Rooms are tastfully decorated and very comfortable with their own baths. Having coffee delivered to your room in the morning was a special treat. Even with all rooms occupied we didn't hear a thing at night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

The B&B itself was absolutely beautiful with a panoramic lake view... the most stunning location in the Finger Lakes we have found. Unfortunately, the proprietor Maura was gruff and distracted at best and raging nasty at worst. She made several off-putting comments on the telephone prior to our trip, then made some intrusive comments about the personal items we brought into the house with us as we checked in. But the place was perfect, so we were determined to be pleased with the experience, small annoyances aside. Then during breakfast service, all the guests were enjoying a flawless summer morning on the deck when the idyllic peace was shattered by her decision to throw a temper tantrum set off by the local cat who had wandered on to the premises. She chased the poor cat at full speed, nearly knocking over a guest, repeatedly cussing at top volume while her stunned guests looked on with jaws on the floor. This performance went on for minutes until the cat was caught and thrown. Literally. During this tirade, there was no regard for guests dining in the midst of the outburst. Speaking for ourselves, we did not want to hear loud, foul language from our hostess during breakfast, nor were we comfortable with her running through our party at top speed displaying her rage. The rest of our stay was marked with caution as we tried to avoid contact with her. Hard to say if I would recommend the place because our stay was otherwise incredible. Maybe we'd suggest staying at the Driftwood Inn across the street. Definitely go to the Simply Red Bistro (a 5 minute walk along the lake) for lunch. The food was outstanding and the view from the patio was gorgeous. We ate there twice!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

This was the first time my wife and I had reserved a room in a B & B and we were really pleased. All the positive comments in prior reviews we agree with (so I will not repeat them here) although we could not experience the water sports because of the cool weather. It is a charming place with charming hosts in an excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Strand at Sheldrake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Strand at Sheldrake

Address: 7398 Wyers Point Road, Ovid, NY 14521
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ovid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ovid
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Strand at Sheldrake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.