We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice deck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Press Box Sports Emporium

Press Box Sports Emporium
29 E 1st St, Oswego, NY, Oswego, NY 13126
(315) 343-0308
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 88 Restaurants in Oswego
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Stonington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice deck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Big outside deck seating where you can get a tiny glimpse of Lake Ontario. Wouldn't exactly call it a "scenic view", but there is only one other place on the lake in Oswego and I wouldn't recommend it. I had the special of the day which was a large piece of grilled haddock, mac and cheese and coleslaw, all very good and 8.99 - a deal! Husband had a decent Reuben. This is our second visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    25
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Press Box is very convenient, food is very good and very reasonable. Service is superb. I have eaten breakfast and lunch there and both were good. Great atmosphere and friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Sports bar. Pretty deck to dine outdoors. We really enjoyed our lunch, but our breakfast, the next day, was way overcooked.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very nice spot for an outside supper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were staying at the Best Western across the street and reading Trip Advisor reviews of places to eat. We chose this over the in-house restaurant because, even though the inside restaurant had a lake view, we were more interested in the food. This is a sports bar and has a really nice outside porch with hanging plants and little lights. There are regular tables and fire pit tables, which we picked. The waitress lit the fire for us and it was perfect for a chilly evening. We each had a beer, though they did not have German beer which we prefer. He had a French Dip sandwich packed with roast beef. It came with chips and a pickle. There was a small plastic container of juice which was all but impossible to dip into so, so he poured the juice on the sandwich. That is definitely something they should change. I had a Chipotle Wrap special which came with fries. It was a large wrap with onions, tomatoes and chicken. The fries were crisp and hot and excellent, though it was a small portion. It also came with a pickle. My Guiness 20 oz was $4.50, the wrap $8.99, the French Dip $8.99 and a bottle of Heineken $3.50. Our bill was $27.79 before tip. I don't usually enjoy outside dining but this was a great experience. We were tired from traveling and the food and service were just right.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Oswego's Great Sports Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Press Box Sports Emporium is one of the best restarants in Oswego, New York. Press Box Sports Emporium is located right near the shoreline of Lake Ontario and this makes for a great place to dine in the summer months. The food is good, especially the sandwiches and panini. I suggest the chicken pesto panini. The service is great too. The servers take care of you and make you feel like an Oswegonian. The prices are worth the quality/taste of the meals. Overall, the Press Box Sports Emporium is the go to sports bar in Oswego, New York.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Press Box Sports Emporium also viewed

 

Been to Press Box Sports Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Press Box Sports Emporium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.