We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian food at its finest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vona's Restaurant

Vona's Restaurant
West 10th and Utica Streets, Oswego, NY 13126
315-343-8710
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 88 Restaurants in Oswego
Cuisines: Armenian, Italian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Italian food at its finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Don't get too filled up on the pizza appetizer because the dinner portions are huge; friendly atmosphere and great service; competitively priced. Don't miss it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fulton, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great spaghetti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

wonderful service. had spaghetti and meatballs. nice portions. friendly staff.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

At my girlfriend's request, we went to Vona's, as she knew the family growing up. We ended up getting there a little bit late and it was getting close to closing time. I apologized to the waitress as it looked like they were getting ready to get out of there for the evening, and asked if they wouldn't mind us having a late supper. The waitress was very accomodating - even said we could stay as long as we liked.

My girlfriend order the Chicken Riggies with a Vodka Sauce, and I had ordered the Rigatoni with a Rose Sauce. They were very observant about letting us talk, enjoy our wine, our appetizers, and we didn't feel rushed at all! The server was polite at all times and even kind enough to talk with us. You could tell, the server genuinely did not mind staying a little late to take care of a customer. The food...unbelievably good. All you could hear from our table were the sounds of 'mmmmm', 'wow', and 'my god this is amazing' - server even had to come over and check on us because of all the noise!

Top notch - you may not think much of it from the outside, but on the inside it is ecclectic, customer-oriented, and Vona's definitely knows the passion for superb food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“OK, but not as good as it has been previously”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

It was graduation weekend, so it was busy, but, service was very slow. My order for chicken Parmigiana was very small, about half the size it has been while everyone else's dish was quite large. One person ordered sliced london broil that came out very rare (ordered Medium) and very chewy. Ordered a NY Strip instead. It took a long time and the steak came out almost RAW and charred on the outside. Inedible. I asked to have it taken off the bill. We had a group running 3 checks and the waiter totally screwed up the checks, mixing up drinks, appetizers and entree's. Dinner without dessert or coffee took 2-12/ hrs. I can only hope they get their act together. It used to be a great place to eat.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great food every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We go there for every major family celebration, it is the one place you an go and count on it always being good. Have never had a bad meal in 25 years plus of experience.
Salad is always fresh and nice sized. Broad variety to satisfy a range of wants and tastes.
Most of the help is also very accommodating. There is one oldr hostess that I am pretty sure is rabid. She is typically rude and snotty, look past that she seats you and there is where it ends.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vona's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Vona's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vona's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.