We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Is Good/ But Atmosphere is Too Cozy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Los Abuelos

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Los Abuelos
38 N Highland Ave 10562-3479, Ossining, NY
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 39 Restaurants in Ossining
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: http://food.lohudblogs.com/2009/10/13/los-abuelos-a-new-mexican-restaurant-in-ossining/
Restaurant details
Description: http://food.lohudblogs.com/2009/10/13/los-abuelos-a-new-mexican-restaurant-in-ossining/
NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food Is Good/ But Atmosphere is Too Cozy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Waiting for this little gem to expand into quarters where you feel less of an intrusion on the family who owns it. Self-conscious dining in small quarters - feels awkward to eat there - though the food is good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    13
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“WOW WHAT A GEM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

I was taken here by a co-worker who raved about the food. Well its well hidden, you have to know where to look. Wordof advise if you are in a hurry - call ahead and order your food. All meals are made to order - and it takes quite a long time. They actually carry the soft drink - sangria - which delighted me - I have never seen it at any other mexican restaurant. I ordered chicken dorados - which was as I remembered as a child. Everything tasted great -including the rice - which is usually just average in local restaurants. I will come back, but either you need 2 hour lunch or order ahead.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, NY
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Mexican around!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

So small and inconspicuous you would miss it as you pass by. It is right next to the Portuguese bakery, and there is ample parking.

Everyone inside the restaurant is friendly, and helpful. The atmosphere is nothing special, but I go with friends who can keep a lively conversation so I don't notice too much. 6-8 tables, bright inside, not sad, but not celebratory.

The menu has the main staples, and then they have their own additions.
My favorites have been the guacamole, the sopes, and the cemitas sandwich.
The flavors are fresh, the prices are okay, but not a "steal."

The take out is quite convenient, but consider what carries well - like fries from a diner never do well for take away.

I am always the only "gringo" inside - so take that as a clue and go!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food but lacks professional business ethics.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Had a great meal, first time there. Ordered 3 tostadas for $8.95. Got the bill and was charged 12.95. I questioned the daughter, mothers was on the phone, as to why I am paying $4 more. I was told it was because I ordered 2 chicken and one beef(I mixed them). But here is the catch, all beef or all chicken are $8.95 so what's the difference? I just paid the bill, she was still on the phone. A good business owner would have made it right especially because I was not told of this difference.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“THE REAL DEAL!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Found this place a year ago, and have been going back since. The food is fresh and made by people who care. It seems that the owner and his family cook and serve, which explains the good food and service. Old school mom & pop operation.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Abuelos also viewed

Ossining, Westchester County
 
Ossining, Westchester County
Ossining, Westchester County
 

Been to Los Abuelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Abuelos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.