We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B in Gressan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Giardino dell'Artemisia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Il Giardino dell'Artemisia to your Saves list
Il Giardino dell'Artemisia
Frazione Champlan Dessous 8, 11020 Pila, Gressan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Pila B&B and Inns
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B in Gressan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This B&B is located above the city of Aosta. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and the views of the Aosta valley and the surrounding Alps are spectacular. It is very quiet and comfortable, and our room even had a small stove and sink. The host Cesare, is charming and very intelligent and helpful. It is a beautiful area to walk around in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
59
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and family (three children aged 13, 11 and 9) stayed here at the end of July on the way back to Switzerland after our vacation in Liguria, Northern Italy. What a beautiful B&B ! We stayed in a suite consisting of a very comfortable double bedroom, a bunk bed room for our two boys and a very spacious living & dining room where our daughter slept on a fold out bed. The Giardino dell'Artemisia has a fantastic garden which is obviously the passion of Mr. Gerbelle, the owner, and the house has lots of interesting books & artefacts from all over the world. The sumptuous breakfast was served on the nice terrace...delicious. Nous vous remercions M. Gerbelle pour votre généreuse hospitalité et nous espèrons revenir un de ces jours !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We rented the suite, 1 of the 2 rooms available. This room is more of an apartment, with a sitting area, dining area and separate kitchen. There was a balcony with a splendid view on the valley and a separate private patio. The bathroom was pretty large too. The only downside here was that the shower was not attached to the wall so if you want to take a shower, you have to hold it in your hand. The mattress was also slightly harder than what I like, but that's a personal preference.

It's a 15-minute drive from the city of Aosta which makes this a great location if you want a quiet B&B.

The host was wonderful, he provided us lots of information on where to go and advised us on restaurants. He clearly enjoys having people around.
Another advantage is having free wi-fi in the room but the host has internet connection too and he is more than willing to look things up for you.

Breakfast is very good, without being excellent but all you need is available (jam, bread, cereal, yoghurt, orange juice, tea, coffee, cake, etc) so it's much more than a typical Italian breakfast.

I would certainly go back for all the above mentioned reasons.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms and I believe the only difference is the surface.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012 via mobile

Very good. Good price, location, view. Real montain house, incredible deco. Dont think twice. The best place se stayed in our italian tour

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed at "Il Giardino dell'Artemisia" for 3 nights at the end of August. The b&b is located on a mountain close to the city Aosta (a couple of minutes by car). From the garden (where the breakfast was served!) you can see great mountains and the city Aosta in the valley. The owner's daughter welcomed us and gave us some good suggestions what to do in this region. We think this is a good location to explore this region, e.g. the grand paradiso national parc, the monte bianco and the many castles of this region (Fenis).

We stayed in the room at the upper floor, where the bedroom is seperated from the living. The rooms are very clean and cosy and the breakfast is excellent! We really loved this place and if someone will visit this region: this is a good option to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Il Giardino dell'Artemisia is a truly wonderful Bed and Breakfast. I stayed in the 'Mansardo' (attic) appartment, consisting of no less than 3 rooms - bedroom, bathroom and sitting/dining/kitchenette room (with fridge, microwave, hob, oven, dining table and chairs, large sofa, satellite TV and DVD player) - it is certainly the most spacious and luxurious bed and breakfast I've ever stayed in - it felt like living in someone's home rather than in a typical bed and breakfast room. Everything was top quality, with lots of thoughtful extras. The location was quiet, there was off-road parking and Cesare was very welcoming, helpful and friendly - his breakfasts were plentiful and delicious! If I ever visit the Valle d'Aosta again, this is where I'll stay - highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Cesare, the host, says that the surrounding garden is the logical extension of his retreat in the mountains near Aosta in the North West of Italy. I agree and I think that the decor and the environment inside reflects the garden outside as well. The scent of the fresh flowers on the table, the colors, motifs and carefully chosen books and magazines are all intrinsicaly, 'garden'. Cesare, interior designer and landscape gardner, tends to this three level family home with the same eye for harmony in space and season as he does the shady landscape around it. There is an attic space with exposed beams and a luxurious new bed at the top and then there is a wonderful living room with dining area, fully equipped kitchen, double bedroom, kids room with bunk beds and a balconey which looks over the Aosta valley on the second floor. In fact, this lovely living space expertly reflects life in the Aosta valley and Cesare has a finely tuned network of friends who offer wonderful food and holiday treats on his recommendation. Cesare keeps the lower appartment for himself and his charming wife who speaks good English. So we must "Grant unto Ceaser what is Ceaser's". That is, credit for having created a fruitful and astute combination of taste, comfort and style. Wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Giardino dell'Artemisia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giardino dell'Artemisia

Address: Frazione Champlan Dessous 8, 11020 Pila, Gressan, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Gressan > Pila
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Giardino dell'Artemisia€ Bed & Breakfast stands at about 1000 metres above sea level, halfway between Aosta and Pila. Nestled among the pine, fir and birch woodland, the house is surrounded by a unique garden overlooking the Valley, allowing a stunning view of the valley and the Grand Combin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Il Giardino dell'Artemisia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Giardino dell'Artemisia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.