We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oneonta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Oneonta to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Oneonta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5206 State Highway 23, PO Box 634, Oneonta, NY 13820   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Kent, Connecticut
1 review
“A nice place to stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stopped here on the way home from a trip to Western NY. It was very nice. Comfortable rooms, friendly staff, a wonderful pool, and convenient for our needs. This Holiday Inn is not "modern," but it was certainly more than acceptable. I would stay here again, and probably will. Spacious grounds made parking easy.

Room Tip: Our room was opposite the laundry room but it was not a problem. Nice restaurant,nice lounge, plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for the kind review. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and our hotel's amenities . We hope you were relaxed and comfortable during your stay with us and we hope you had a great trip as well. Please come back and stay with us again so we can provide you with another great experience.

Warmest Regards,
Raymond Beams
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    44
    48
    24
    16
See reviews for
69
22
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eastchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Nice comfortable clean room. Bed very comfortable. Rates high due to busy period - students returning to college. Breakfast buffet was less than stellar for $9.99. Prefer Hampton inn which was booked and includes breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear you were comfortable during you stay and enjoyed your room. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy our breakfast buffet and we apologize. Our rates do fluctuate and we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. We hope to see you stay with us again so we can provide you with a better experience.

Warmest Regards,
Raymond Beams
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Myself and my Pit Bull Daysimarie enjoyed our recent stay at this Holiday Inn. The room was as expected for an older pet friendly hotel. All of the the staff we met during our stay were very friendly and helpful. Whenever we are in the Oneonta area we shall return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for the kind review. We are glad you and Dasyimarie enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a comfortable and relaxing stay. Our staff strives to provide all our guest with great service and a great experience. We are happy we were able to provide you with one. We look forward to seeing you stay with us again.

Warmest Regards,
Raymond Beams
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

First I would like to say I am an animal lover. But this place is gross.

Place smelled like a wet dog. I assume because they are pet friendly.. So that means some people walk their dogs in the open area (where you have to sometimes walk by the pool, and don't clean up after their dogs. Real classy people. If you leave dog dropping all around your house thats your choice. But when out in public how about you clean up after yourself, after all its your fault this is happening. But don't worry those who track it in the building just wipe their foot on the capets apparently. The hotel should have someone on dog patrol to check for this but they dont. I guess their plan is let someone track it throughout the place wait for a complaint THEN clean. I wonder if they also do this with fleas in the rooms...


Then you have stains in every room I seen (We had 5 rooms) but it dont end there the hallways also are stained with what looks like animal accidents. I dont smoke but it would have been welcomed here as it may kill the smell of wet dog everywhere. And lets not forget the best part you get barking dogs at night because the owners left them behind in a strange place that smells like a shelter.

We booked our rooms well in advance (several months ago) and asked clearly several times of we can check in early (would be best for traveling so we would miss traffic during our 6 hour drive) and if we can have connecting rooms. We are told to call the day before arrival but are guaranteed connecting rooms. We call the night before and speak to some airhead who said it will be no problem. Of course we arrive and its a problem they are fully booked now we have to wait 5 hours for a room. And oh yeah none of them connect.....So parents and children are separated etc. But dont worry the dogs which should have stayed at home will be barking all night to keep them safe.

There are many many more hotels in the area and closer to Cooperstown, some dont show up on travel sites so sniff around the internet. There is no way this is the place to be. I did however like the restaurant as it was the only time when on the property it didn't smell like a dog house.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear nycpropain,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We appreciate the kind remarks on our hotel restaurant. However, we apologize if your stay was negatively affected by the noise levels and cleanliness of the rooms. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to your response and be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for my little sister's wedding as this is where she held her reception. I booked one night months in advance in order to secure the discounted rate. About a week before, I decided to add another night as I realized that I needed a place to stay following the rehearsal dinner. The hotel informed me that I was not able to receive the discounted rate for the night before and that the price would be DOUBLE. This meant that it would be just under $300 for a night in an Oneonta hotel... a hotel that I know from growing up here, is NOT anything special. No other discounts or offers were made so we stayed elsewhere for that extra night.

On top of this, the night of my sister's wedding... yes, the night of the wedding... she was informed that she was not able to stay in the honeymoon suite like they had promised. There was another wedding that night and they had given the suite to her. This may not have been such an issue, but you don't promise someone something and then tell them that night that it's not happening. Unprofessional and unacceptable.

The hotel is mediocre at best and not willing to accommodate guests.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear April W,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding our property. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention, and sincerely apologize that this was not an exemplary hotel stay experience.

Your concerns have been forwarded to the management and ownership of the aforementioned property. I know they share our vision of providing the best guest experience possible, and I am confident they will take the necessary steps to continuously improve their product and services.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Currently out dated and smelly. Nice front desk area and the staff I talked with were friendly. The room was stinky and the towels had mascara stains. The bathroom had a large accumulation of mold around the tub. I wanted to check out but there weren’t any other rooms available in the area. So, I purchased cleaning supplies and cleaned the bathroom. I left my cleaning supplies behind, hoping, the housekeeping staff will get the hint. Oh, I forgot to mention, the room was pricey too. Totally disappointed!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We apologize for the disappointment and inconveniences during your stay with us. We strive to provide all our guest with a great experience. We have failed you in this regard and once again we apologize. We are glad to know that you were treated kindly by our staff. We hope to have another chance to serve you again and provide you with a much better experience. We appreciate the valuable feedback you have provided us. It will be used to improve our hotel and to ensure this doesn't happen again to any of our guest.

Warmest Regards,
Raymond Beams
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed here due to a visit to the Baseball Hall of Fame & location near Interstate. Let me start with some positive things: Staff are friendly & work very hard trying to serve their customers. We are IHG members & were able to check in early after a very long drive from Ontario. The beds & bedding are comfortable. Microwave & fridge were helpful, although freezer section was thick with frost. Flat screen TV's are large & have excellent selection of HD spots/cable channels.

I really hate to start on the negatives, but people need to know. For the $$$ price, I was shocked as to how very old this Holiday Inn is. There is an unclean smell as soon as you come through the doors. The hallway carpets look filthy. Wallpaper is peeling off the hallway walls. The guest laundry is horrible. Just one old, beat up Kenmore washer & dryer (have to pay for use). 2 hours of clothes being in dyer - they were still wringing wet & had to find another laundry mat in town. Shower head only had a few tiny sprays of water & no pressure; but the water was hot. The only place in the room that you see, due to those crazy "eco-green" lighting, was in the bathroom. You had to pay $5.00/per person for breakfast. No fresh fruit.

If you are coming for a visit to Cooperstown, stay in one of their beautiful B&B's. If you need to stay in a chain hotel, there is a new Best Western Plus that is closer to Cooperstown.

Our experience here is having us re-think our stay at another Holiday Inn hotel next week.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and we hope that you had a comfortable stay. We apologize for the large amount of disappointment you experienced during your stay. It is unfortunate and we appreciate the feedback you have provided us. We strive to provide all our guest with a great experience and excellent service in which we have failed. We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again and provide with a great experience and relaxing stay.

Warmest Regards,
Raymond Beams
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oneonta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oneonta

Address: 5206 State Highway 23, PO Box 634, Oneonta, NY 13820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oneonta 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Oneonta/Cooperstown Area, You like baseball, the kids like soccer, your spouse likes folk art & antiques. Well, you've come to the right place! Situated in picturesque Otsego County New York is the answer to your planning dilemma and is the area's only full service chain affiliated hotel. Visit all the attractions Oneonta has to offer - travel to historic Cooperstown, where much more than baseball waits! Complimentary wireless Internet in all guest rooms & public areas! Our Town Cafe & Pub gives you the Best for Breakfast featuring new low carb options because Morning Matters! Dinner in Our Town Cafe & Pub is the perfect way to end your day! The Pub offers a cozy atmosphere & our menu features a variety of signature specials. The bar is stocked with premium liquors, interesting wines, & local beer. The Holiday Inn Oneonta/Cooperstown Area is Oneonta's premiere banquet & meeting facility! Our 6,200 square feet of space can accommodate groups up to 300 people. Receive friendly & professional service at your next corporate meeting. Don't forget to ask about the Miles for Meetings program. Our wedding packages can't be beat! We also specialize in retirement and anniversary parties - ask about our specials! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Oneonta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oneonta Hotel Oneonta
Oneonta Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oneonta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.