We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pet friendly hotel close to baseball hall of fame” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oneonta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Oneonta to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Oneonta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5206 State Highway 23, PO Box 634, Oneonta, NY 13820   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Boyds, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great pet friendly hotel close to baseball hall of fame”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was better than expected! Although it was pet friendly, it was very clean. Pool and restaurant were great amenities. The food was good and they even offer room service. The hotel us right off main highway and very convenient to baseball hall of fame.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneontaHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We appreciate your review of the Holiday Inn Oneonta. We are proud to be a pet-friendly hotel, it enables us to provide our guests the ability to bring all of their family members along for travels. We strive to provide our guests with customer service that exceeds their expectations and are happy when our staff is able to do so.

Warmest regards,
Tifanne Wells
Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    44
    48
    23
    16
See reviews for
69
22
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Booked this hotel, as our usual had no vacancies, since it was move in weekend. When we arrived, we were told there were only double beds available. they said in the future, we could possible get a Queen size or king, but those rooms would be at least $30 more. They told us our room was on the second floor, but there was NO ELEVATOR, and no available rooms on the first floor! I told them that i have knee problems and stairs are something i cannot do, and why didnt they tell me over the phone, when i booked the room, that the hotel had no elevator. They said, "well you could have asked". I said that generally in HOTELS there are elevators, and I would not have thought to ask that question, as this was not a motor inn! The clerk, realized her error and said, yes , no one would think to ask that question. It really is THEIR responsibility to inform future customers of the nuances of their establishment. So, no elevator, double beds, very low stream shower head, the digital tv was constantly freezing up. In addition, although it is located within the town of Oneonta, it is far from SUNY Oneonta. It is way past the Wallmart shopping area. Other choices in Oneonta are better for the price. For $180 a night, you should get more.

Room Tip: some of the rooms should have some nicer views. We had a wall view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneontaHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is always helpful for our staff to know where we need to improve with our customer service. Please be assured that we take all reviews seriously and we will take steps to ensure what caused you to have a less than positive experience will not be repeated.

Warmest regards,
Tifanne Wells
Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our room had an overpowering mold smell and you could actually see mold on the ceiling in the bathroom. Additionally, two days in a row, after housekeeping came to service the room, they didn't leave ANY towels! Then, on our third day, we didn't even get housekeeping service at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneontaHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I am very sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your experience at the Holiday Inn Oneonta. I appreciate your comments so we can improve in the areas you felt were not up to what our standards and expectations are for our guests.

Warmest regards,
Tifanne Wells
Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here Aug. 7 & 8 (we were returning home from a trip to Niagara falls and stopped to see the Baseball Hall of Fame). Ray at the front desk, (who was friendly and very helpful during our stay) told me if I needed someone to get my massive suitcase (I'm a classic over packer) to the 2nd floor, they would take care of it, but it really wasn't a problem. Our room, (king with Jacuzzi) was spacious, very clean, and the bed was very comfortable.

We didn't eat at the hotel but I did stop into to the pub. They have a good selection of local beers, and Ivan, (the bartender) can describe them in depth (loved the Ommegang Witte). The FREE 24hr coffee & tea bar is a nice touch (they even have honey for the tea). The only thing they seemed to run out of was real creamer, but there was always powered as backup (shudder). Oh, and all of our lids fit.

The staff here is very knowledgeable about the area, and we learned there is a lot to do and see around Oneonta (besides baseball). When we return to the area, (and we will) we will be staying at the Holiday Inn. Thanks for a great stay guys!

By the way, the place was full of little leaguers, (big tournament in Cooperstown) but other than seeing them in the parking lot and hallways, we would have never known they were there (it was quiet). kudos to all the parents!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneontaHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of the Holiday Inn Oneonta. We strive to provide the best possible customer service and are glad to hear that we succeeded during your visit. Please think of us the next time you are passing through.

Warmest regards,
Tifanne Wells
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Not a bad place to stay when visiting Cooperstown. The setting is quiet, all of the staff were friendly and the room was clean. The corridors, however, were sad looking and a bottle top was on the floor for the duration of our stay. The pub was friendly and relaxing, but the wine my wife ordered was just terrible (not fussy but prefer wine that comes in corked bottles).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneontaHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We strive to make each guest feel at home while they are staying with us. Thank you for your comments about the wine, I will look into what other options we may have. Please think of us when you are in our area again.

Warmest regards,
Tifanne Wells
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

In our case, it broke it. It takes a lot for me to write a negative review here, this may only be my second or third, but it has to be done. We were able to check in a little early, a plus. Upon entering I found the room to be clean enough, once I killed the 2 large spiders. We went to plug in a few necessities and found that somehow, the outlets are larger than your standard plugs. I don't know how or why, but our plugs literally fell out of every outlet we tried. We noticed that the plugs on the lamps were plugged into a wall strip that was plugged into the outlet, but they were full and out of the way. When I mentioned it to others on the team, they said the same thing. Bizarre! Our shower was either hot or cold, very hard to find the "warm" on the dial. Turn it a centimeter one way it was too hot, the other way, cold. Also, no fan in the bathroom so get ready to use your blow dryer to look in the mirror! Our team set up a BBQ that the hotel offers, BIG waste. They offer 3 packages, we chose the middle one for $15 a head. It offered several options, one being Chicken or Ribs. We opted for the Ribs. Turned out they "weren't able to provide us with them", so they gave us Pulled Pork instead. Nobody was notified of this until it was questioned. When they realized we were disappointed, suddenly they showed up with a tray of ribs and the chicken (frozen grilled chicken breasts from the wholesale store that they dumped a gallon of BBQ sauce on, and stuck it in the oven). The ribs that they somehow didn't have, then were able to bring out in less time that it actually takes to cook them, were actually tasty. The "fresh corn" that they list on the menu was so bad, it had freezer burn and felt like that wax fruit your grandmother used to display. Upon holding it I told the man setting up that it was unacceptable and he had to take it back and bring more. When he took it he looked so embarrassed and said he had no idea it was like that. Basically the food was cold, bad and it was just a bummer. We had planned this for our whole team. Took the boys out of their barracks for it, they would have had a better meal of chicken nuggets back at the field. Another night, we planned to take dinner in from a local restaurant. We arranged with Tiffane, the banquet person to have a conference room, which she said would be no problem, they would even provide us with all the plates and plastic silverware. Surprise!! We got the food back to the conference room, no plates, silverware, napkins. Nothing. We asked at the front desk no less than 4 times before a man who worked there said he would give it to us but needed to know who promised it. The next morning, we had a very early game. Breakfast didn't start until 7 and we had to leave by 6:30 so I told my husband I'd get us some coffee from the lobby and we could drink it on the way. No regular coffee. So I poured us some decaf and went to cover them; guess what? The lids were too small for the cups. Had to drive to the game with an open cup and hope I didn't spill the coffee on the way. Talked about that with some team mate parents, one of the young girls was told by a desk rep "We're just tricking you sweetie" and left it at that. Another parent mentioned it and was brought out 1 lid that fit. You would think that after being informed, they would bring out enough lids to fit the cups. My husband and I went into the restaurant one night to have dinner, only 1 other couple (who happened to be on our team) was in there with their son, so there were 5 of us total. We gave our order, got caught up talking and an hour later, the hostess asked us if we were still waiting for our meals and what we ordered. Just burgers! She explained that they have 2 cooks. 1 went home early and they called the other one to come in and cover. She told us that our burgers were on the grill though. 45 minutes later, my husband and I decided to just get out because we couldn't wait any longer. The other family followed shortly after. 2 hours wasted and the dinner never even arrived. What a disgrace. We should have been told right from the start what the situation was. You don't wait an hour before explaining and then another 45 minutes after that still nothing! Free breakfast buffet was adequate. Your typical powdered eggs and bacon, potatoes etc.
It pains me that I spent about $1200 to stay here and that is at a group rate!! DO NOT under ANY circumstances pay the full price! I could have stayed at the Marriott Courtyard up the road for free using my points and I'm sure it would have been much better. If it wasn't that the rest of the team stayed here, and we wanted to be part of the group. My mistake, I'll have to eat this one.
Yes, the staff was nice and the housekeeping was good. Like I said, it's just the little things that annoy you enough to ruin a stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmatoltsy, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
So sorry things were so bad for you. We sincerely apologize about all of the issues surrounding your BBQ set up. I believe that the staff over committed based on other BBQ booking and were not able to recover. I was glad that Tifanne did compensate you but obviously we fell short in many ways during your stay and again, we truly apologize. We have made several adjustments as to how we handle these events going forward to avoid a reoccurrence of what you experienced.
I was glad that at least you did enjoy very good housekeeping service however during was not a very good stay.
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Ohio
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

It's a great place to sleep because it sets on a quiet piece of property off the highway. You can open your window and enjoy the breeze without all the road noise. Overall the people that work here are the best employees a Holiday Inn could want. Super nice and always happy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OneontaHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review! It is great to hear that our staff has provided you with excellent customer service. We strive to exceed our guests expectations. We hope you think of us whenever you are staying in our area.

Warmest regards,
Tifanne Wells
Catering Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oneonta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oneonta

Address: 5206 State Highway 23, PO Box 634, Oneonta, NY 13820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oneonta 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Oneonta/Cooperstown Area, You like baseball, the kids like soccer, your spouse likes folk art & antiques. Well, you've come to the right place! Situated in picturesque Otsego County New York is the answer to your planning dilemma and is the area's only full service chain affiliated hotel. Visit all the attractions Oneonta has to offer - travel to historic Cooperstown, where much more than baseball waits! Complimentary wireless Internet in all guest rooms & public areas! Our Town Cafe & Pub gives you the Best for Breakfast featuring new low carb options because Morning Matters! Dinner in Our Town Cafe & Pub is the perfect way to end your day! The Pub offers a cozy atmosphere & our menu features a variety of signature specials. The bar is stocked with premium liquors, interesting wines, & local beer. The Holiday Inn Oneonta/Cooperstown Area is Oneonta's premiere banquet & meeting facility! Our 6,200 square feet of space can accommodate groups up to 300 people. Receive friendly & professional service at your next corporate meeting. Don't forget to ask about the Miles for Meetings program. Our wedding packages can't be beat! We also specialize in retirement and anniversary parties - ask about our specials! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Oneonta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oneonta Hotel Oneonta
Oneonta Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oneonta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.