We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oneonta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Oneonta to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Oneonta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5206 State Highway 23, PO Box 634, Oneonta, NY 13820   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ok not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Hotel was ok. Checked us in, gave us key and room was totally not ready. Staff was good about changing our room right away. Asked if we could add nights and they could not accomodate but when I checked the next morning the said wish you called a few minutes ago and we could have helped you....problem-their phones were no wokring the few minutes prior and no wrote down my name or cell to let me know of avaialable room. Carpet edges kind of dusty and room had a funky smell. Fine but not great. Not a lot to choose from in this area so might still be the better of some other choices.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    44
    48
    24
    16
See reviews for
69
22
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Went up for a Cooperstown Allstar village baseball tournament. My boys were actually staying at baseball bunk houses but I stayed here along with a couple of families. This hotel was extremely busy with other families for the baseball tournaments and other hotel guests. First off, as busy as this hotel was, the rooms, hallways, front desk area, pool area, volleyball area and every other area of the hotel was immaculate. I commend the cleaning staff for their hard work. This is also a dog friendly hotel and you would never know it unless you seen a dog, because it was so clean. Next, every person from the general manager to the front desk people were so accomodating to your every need, that I felt I was staying at a resort. I stay in many holiday inn hotels and by far the staff in this hotel was the best so far. Lastly, every morning for free you went into their resturant for a full breakfast, so good. Many of the parents from the baseball teams rented houses for the week and had numerous problems, and I have to say a Big Thank You to the Oneonta Holiday Inn for my stay it was an Excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

This hotel was very clean and rooms were well appointed. The staff was very hospitable and accommodated our last minute request to use a conference room for pizza for our softball team. Our manager had just received stitches in his foot and they quickly relocated his room to the first floor. They were also very tolerant of our 12 thirteen year old players staying with us.
Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The Holiday Inn in Oneonta is very overpriced, especially for what you get. We stayed in July (peak season).

Pros:
Breakfast included
Internet (wireless) included
Coffee machine, microwave, fridge included but we didn't try them out
Outdoor pool

Negatives:
Hotel is old with narrow hallways
Room smelled dirty but as if covered by air freshener
Rooms were small and dark
Access to second floor was by a narrow staircase - we never found an elevator.
The bathroom was dated and small and do not smell clean
Small workout facilities with no weights and the rest was old equipment

I would not stay at this Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIOneonta, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
We sincerely apologize for the troubles you encountered with your room while staying with us. We pride ourselves in providing quality guest rooms at competitive rates. Unfortunately, during you stay we fell short of our typical high standards. However, we are extremely happy that noticed the positive amenities of our hotel. We include items such as a complimentary breakfast buffet and free wireless because it is important to our guest. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed for the Hall of Fame Induction weekend and since we could not find any hotel in Cooperstown we had to stay at this hotel. The hotel was overpriced, my elderly mother was traveling with us and since the hotel has NO elevator she had to take the stairs. Same way with carrying suitcases...
I left an item in the room by mistake and still waiting for a response from the hotel. Breakfast was included but the quality was not that good. If you are going to Cooperstown try to stay somewhere else, it takes over 30 minutes to get there, this hotel it is located at Oneonta's outskirts.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We booked a stay at the Holiday Inn anticipating better than average accommodations. What we got was a typical economy motel setup. Billed as all nonsmoking the room definitely had the smell of a previous smoker. The air conditioning was extremely noisy and made it hard for everyone to get to sleep. The bathroom area left no space to place dopp kits. I will say that everywhere the staff is extremely gracious and courteous, from the front desk to housekeeping. It's clear that they have all been trained in customer service. The breakfast is also better than the standard fare, served in a dining area with self-help buffet and wait staff combined. The game area that we hoped the kids would enjoy had equipment that wasn't working and was too small to handle the number of interested parties.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magnolia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I got this hotel through Priceline for one night because we decided to head up to Cooperstown a day early. I did not like it at all. The only thing I can say that was good was their free breakfast. Their breakfast is better then Hampton Inns. The room was NOT upgraded as it stated on their brochure...at least not what I would consider upgraded. The beds are NO COMPARISION to The Hampton.

When we went to shower the tub was so clogged up we had 8 inches of water in the tub while we were cleaning up. The sink in the bathroom was CLOGGED TOO and they took out the stopper thingy and had it laying on the counter.

The room was musty and just didnt seem CLEAN. I am sorry, but I didnt enjoy my stay here at all. For the price I paid I expected more.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIOneonta, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
We are sorry your recent stay was only average. We strive to exceed our guests expectations and our leisure and business customers normally feel that we do. If visiting the Oneonta/Cooperstown area again we hope that you will try us again. Our maintenance staff is on property daily to assist you if needed. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oneonta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oneonta

Address: 5206 State Highway 23, PO Box 634, Oneonta, NY 13820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oneonta 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Oneonta/Cooperstown Area, You like baseball, the kids like soccer, your spouse likes folk art & antiques. Well, you've come to the right place! Situated in picturesque Otsego County New York is the answer to your planning dilemma and is the area's only full service chain affiliated hotel. Visit all the attractions Oneonta has to offer - travel to historic Cooperstown, where much more than baseball waits! Complimentary wireless Internet in all guest rooms & public areas! Our Town Cafe & Pub gives you the Best for Breakfast featuring new low carb options because Morning Matters! Dinner in Our Town Cafe & Pub is the perfect way to end your day! The Pub offers a cozy atmosphere & our menu features a variety of signature specials. The bar is stocked with premium liquors, interesting wines, & local beer. The Holiday Inn Oneonta/Cooperstown Area is Oneonta's premiere banquet & meeting facility! Our 6,200 square feet of space can accommodate groups up to 300 people. Receive friendly & professional service at your next corporate meeting. Don't forget to ask about the Miles for Meetings program. Our wedding packages can't be beat! We also specialize in retirement and anniversary parties - ask about our specials! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Oneonta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oneonta Hotel Oneonta
Oneonta Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oneonta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.