We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoke smell ruined it for me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Oneonta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Oneonta to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Oneonta
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 River St, Oneonta, NY 13820   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Smoke smell ruined it for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I had a room on the third floor --a non-smoking floor. I complained about the constant smell of smoke in the hallway and in my room. The front desk informed me that the fourth floor--where smoking is allowed--was to blame. The clerk reluctantly offered me the option to change rooms, but re-packing all my clothes and toiletries would have been inconvenient, so I just stayed in the room. Non-smoking rooms and floors shouldn't smell like smoke. Otherwise, the rooms were clean. The breakfast was good. The hotel is right near the interstate and within a few miles of downtown eateries. The lobby was being renovated while I was there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear BrettWheeler,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. I do appreciate your feedback about our hotel and will share it with my staff. I am sorry to hear about the smoking smell on a non-smoking floor. I will make sure to forward this concern to our Housekeeping department to address, as it is an important concern. I am glad that you had enjoyed your room. As you had mentioned, we are currently undergoing some enhancements. We hope you will return to our hotel again.

Regards,

Ashley Camarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    139
    18
    7
    10
See reviews for
229
85
21
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is standard Hampton Inn. It's 20 miles from Cooperstown is you want to go to the Baseball Hall of Fame and the indoor pool is convenient year round. There are many families. The only comment I have is it seemed that noise from halls came into rooms louder than any other hotel of that same category. May be the doors or something. However, overall good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear jrankw,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. I do appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel and will share it with my staff. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. As you mentioned, our indoor heated pool and hot tub is great for year round use. I am sorry that the halls were noisy during your stay. We hope you will stay with us again if you travel to the area.

Regards,

Ashley Camarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

After driving 3.5 hr, we checked into the Hampton inn. The woman we met at reception could n't have been nicer. She made up very welcome. The room was a suite that was very nice. We had a room with two queen beds and another room with a king bed. The room was clean, beds comfortable. They were renovating the lobby so breakfast was a little difficult, the food was also cold. We had an issue with hot water but the staff were so apologetic it was hard to be upset. The problem was due to the renovations, They are doing nice improvements and that says a lot. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear AMERICANS,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. I do appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel and will share it with my staff. We are currently undergoing some enhancements as you mentioned. I am glad that you enjoyed your two-room suite. I am sorry to hear that your breakfast was cold. I am glad to hear that you will stay with us again soon; you will love our new Perfect Mix Lobby!

Regards,

Ashley Camarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Royalton, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I almost always stay at Hampton Inns when we travel.
The Hampton Inn in Oneonta was terrific!
Kerry, who checked us in, was very personable and made sure we felt right at home.
Our room was great. Very comfortable bed, jacuzzi tub, and as always, good coffee in the morning and breakfast included! Plus delicious Chinese takeout delivered to the room.
We'd stay there again!!

Room Tip: If you're a Hilton Honors member...you might be lucky to get an upgrade. We did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear ruthpmorgan,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. I do appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel and will share it with my staff. I am happy to hear that Kerry was so assertive in making you feel right at home! We are glad you enjoyed your room and all of the additional amenities like the Jacuzzi and On-The-House Breakfast. We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Regards,

Ashley Camarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The size of the room was generous (desk, table, couch, king bed, 32" HDTV) and the breakfast had a variety greater than most continental breakfasts that I have had. I did not have an opportunity to use the pool or the exercise center, but they looked nice. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: I always advise staying on the top floor so that you don't hear people walking above you. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear BrentonE_13,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. I do appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel and will share it with my staff. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the size and amenities of your room. Our On-The-House Breakfast is great when traveling; offering many options. We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Ashley Camarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The place to stay for Cooperstown baseball. Very close to all star village. 20 minutes from dreams park. Oneonta is a plus. Nice shops and restaurants. There is a golf course nearby. Right off the highway. Laid back and accomodating staff.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear pgm888,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. I do appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel and will share it with my staff. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our close location to the Cooperstown All Star Village. We take pride in having a helpful and accommodating staff. We hope you choose to stay with us again!

Regards,

Ashley Camarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Great staff and the rooms were nice. If you don't mind a 25 minute drive to the baseball hall of fame, it is the place to stay for convenience of shopping and restaurants. Don't get me wrong, Cooperstown restaurants are great but when you travel with a family and need a few things from wal mart and a happy hour at Applebee's this is a good place. The only downside is the walls a little thin. Could hear another family conversations in next room.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Rick E,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. I do appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel and will share it with my staff. As you stated our location in Oneonta is conveniently right off I-88 and minutes away from Downtown Oneonta or Southside Oneonta- with shopping and dining at each. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Ashley Camarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Oneonta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Oneonta

Address: 225 River St, Oneonta, NY 13820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Oneonta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the award winning Hampton Inn Oneonta, we are passionate about guest satisfaction. Our Hampton Inn Oneonta hotel is located one mile from the historic district of downtown in the "City of the Hills." Full of small galleries, boutique shopping, performing arts venues and dining options- Main Street Oneonta meets the needs of any traveler, whether visiting on business or pleasure. Oneonta is also know as a "college town"- home to SUNY Oneonta and Hartwick College, a private liberal art school. Just a short drive to Cooperstown to explore the heart of baseball- America's favorite pastime at the National Baseball Hall of Fame. Take a stroll by the lake or explore the Fenimore Art Musuem- there is something for everyone of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Inn Oneonta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Oneonta Hotel Oneonta
Oneonta Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Oneonta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.