We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton inn Oneonta ny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Oneonta

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Oneonta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Oneonta
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 River St, Oneonta, NY 13820   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cider Mill Package
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Oneonta
Merrick, New York
1 review
“Hampton inn Oneonta ny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

the hamton inn in oneonta New York was one of the cleanest hotel i have stayed in .The staff was very nice, the rooms and the sheets and quilts were very clean. The breakfast nook was clean and had plenty of seating even when lots of people were there.They had enough to choose from durning breakfast I will definitely stay there again with family Thanks MM

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear MM2188,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. I do appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel and will share it with my staff. We are happy to hear that we could exceed your expectations in being the cleanest hotel you have ever stayed in! We are glad to hear that you will be staying again and look forward to your visit!

Regards,

Ashley Camarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    107
    13
    5
    8
See reviews for
163
59
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Nice and clean, with comfortable beds. Swimming pool small, but satisfactory. Excellent complimentary breakfast with a wide variety of choices: fruit, waffles, omelets, oatmeal, pastries, yogurt, cold cereal. Friendly reception staffer pointed out an available discount I hadn't realized I was eligible for, which I appreciated. Slept well. Fitness center consists of two treadmills. Appreciated the quiet. Positive experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear MuddyShoesMedford,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. I do appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel and will share it with my staff. Our hotel prides itself on being clean, nice and friendly. I am glad you were able to enjoy the complimentary amenities such as breakfast and the swimming pool. We hope to see you again!

Regards,

Ashley Camarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had no power after hurricane Sandy. We stuck it out for several days but needed a shower, lights, and comfort. We chose Oneonta so we could also take our daughter to SUNY for a tour. The people at the Hampton Inn were amazing. When the front desk person (I think it was Kate?) found out we were escaping the storm, she offered a large discount on our room - so helpful. Then, she upgraded our room to a suite, free of charge.

Of course you can't expect this under normal circumstances, but the fact that she offered us a great room at maybe half-price was really appreciated and I would like to thank her and the hotel again for their kind help.

Breakfast was pretty good, standard buffet fare, but a lot better than cereal in the dark at home!
The heaters were a little noisy and weak, but acceptable.

We will definitely stay there again if our daughter decides to enroll at SUNY!

Room Tip: The king suite on the 4th floor is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear MitchellNY,

I'm Ashley Camarata the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. Thanks for your feedback- I will share it with my staff! I am glad you found our front desk agent Kerry, to be extremely helpful and assertive at check in! I am happy to hear that she offered you a complimentary upgrade. We look forward to seeing you in the future if your daughter enrolls at SUNY!

Regards,

Ashley Camarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here a week while our son played in the All Star Village Cooperstown baseball tournament. Considering we were there for 7 days, we did not grow tired or restless. The staff was unbelievable, so kind and gracious. Always making sure we were comfortable, attending to our every need. The rooms were clean, staff was always around and the breakfast spread was plentiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello BaseballFamily34_30,

I'm Ashley Camarata the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. Thanks for your feedback- I will share it with my staff! I am glad you found our hotel staff to be friendly and helpful. At the Hampton Inn Oneonta, guest satisfaction is our number one goal! Our location to All-Star Village is perfect- just a short 2 minute drive down the road! We hope to see you again!

Regards,

Ashley Camarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel did an outstanding job accommodating a sorority gathering for Homecoming weekend. We were greeted with an array of mums and harvest decorations and at check-in, I was happy to be allowed to use my credit card for my half of the weekend charges. Next a table layout of cider, coffee and donuts plus coffee cakes welcomed us and took the edge off our travel deprived stomachs. A table had been set up for our sorority committee to give information out about the weekend schedule and directions to the college for weekend activity registration. The room was clean with a note that, not only the sheets, but the coverlets on the beds had been cleaned for each new arrival. We did have trouble adjusting the room temperature and after a phone consultation, we still had to call someone. My main complaint was the bed - it was hard as a board and the pillows were so big and fluffy that I had a stiff neck the next day. So, I would recommend the hotel for its service and friendly accommodations but check out the bed before you unpack.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Judy G,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. Thank you very much for your feedback- I will be sharing it with my staff. I am glad that your sorority had such a wonderful experience at our hotel. I do apologize about the issue with your bed, but glad that hotel staff could help resolve the issue. We hope you will visit us again!

Regards,

Ashley Camarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Second visit at Hampton Inn to visit our daughter at school. Very clean and neat hotel. Comfy bed but horrible pillows!!! Mushy, mushy, mushy! It is also extremely loud. You can hear everything from the privacy of your bedroom.

Room Tip: Just be prepared for noise and maybe asked for other pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Steph444,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests and use your feedback to improve our guest experience. I understand that noise was an issue during your time with us and I apologize for this inconvenience. We know how important a good night’s rest is while traveling and will look into solutions to better soundproof our rooms. I do hope the next time you return to area to visit your daughter you will consider staying with us again.

Regards,

Ashley Camarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here when I went back to visit my former college, SUNY Delhi. The Hampton Inn was adequate. Room was clean, with an up to date, clean bathroom (most important in my book.) When we first got into the room the heat was not working properly (blowing cold air, or no air at all.) Called the front desk and they came up to the room in a timely manner to check it out (although the problem resolved itself by the time they arrived.)

The walls were very thin, especially in the bathroom, where we could clearly hear our neighbors and their children talking.

Staff was very pleasant and helpful.

All in all, a good place to lay your head if visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerONHNJ, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear JDV1927,

I'm Ashley Camarata, the Sales Manager at the Hampton Inn Oneonta. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad the HVAC unit issue was able to be resolved. I do apologize that you felt the walls were thin. However, we are glad you were happy with the clean rooms. If you have any other concerns or comments, please feel free to contact me directly at 607-433-9000 ext 542 or by emailing me at ashley.camarata@hilton.com.

Regards,

Ashley Camarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Oneonta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Oneonta

Address: 225 River St, Oneonta, NY 13820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Oneonta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Oneonta 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the award winning Hampton Inn Oneonta, we are passionate about guest satisfaction. Our Hampton Inn Oneonta hotel is located one mile from the historic district of downtown in the "City of the Hills." Full of small galleries, boutique shopping, performing arts venues and dining options- Main Street Oneonta meets the needs of any traveler, whether visiting on business or pleasure. Oneonta is also know as a "college town"- home to SUNY Oneonta and Hartwick College, a private liberal art school. Just a short drive to Cooperstown to explore the heart of baseball- America's favorite pastime at the National Baseball Hall of Fame. Take a stroll by the lake or explore the Fenimore Art Musuem- there is something for everyone of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Oneonta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Oneonta Hotel Oneonta
Oneonta Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Oneonta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.