We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jay's Place

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jay's Place
3200 Chestnut St., Oneonta, NY 13820
(607) 432-9584
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 96 Restaurants in Oneonta
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Needs some work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

The decor of this place is very outdated and needs a thorough cleaning and makeover. Carpeting is really skanky. The service was very good and the food was just ok. I got salmon and it was tasty but over-cooked and a bit dry. Overall the place is just average.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Oneonta, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Everyone is very friendly and eager to please. Food is out of this world!!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

The last time we went Brad was our server. He was very polite and attentive. I have eaten at this restaurant for several years and (we) always have had a good experience with both the quality of the food and the friendly service. You can sit in the bar or the main dining room. The only recommendation is to update the lighting it is too dim even for dinner dining. The Louisiana Nachos are the best!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport Center, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BEST PRIME RIB IN THE AREA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Took the wife for mothers day, we both left full and happy(with some prime rib for the next day as well. Appitizer we great, service was exceptional. Definitly will be back again and again and again.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurens, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“one of my favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Always great food. Jason does a great job and is always happy to accomadate menu changes for anyone. Atmosphere is always happy and comfortable. Price is reasonable for the quality of food. I would recomend Jay's Place

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jay's Place also viewed

 

Been to Jay's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jay's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.