We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dining Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farmhouse Restaurant

Farmhouse Restaurant
5649 State Highway 7, Oneonta, NY 13820
(607) 432-7374
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 94 restaurants in Oneonta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Oneonta
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The food at the FARMHOUSE in Emmons, NY, outside Oneonta, is some of the best in the area. The menu will wet one's appetite with varied meals being offered. The chef is very talented and the staff makes you feel very welcomed. The price may be a bit more than some of the other area venues but the quality of the offerings is well worth it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    41
    24
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious and great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had heard some good things so 8 of us decided to go out to the Farmhouse for dinner one Friday night. The food was incredible and so was the wine. The steaks were perfectly made, the seafood was fresh and the appetizers were well flavored. We sat in our own private room surrounded by glass and views of the sky as the sun set. It was a great night and we will absolutely come back again and again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate new york
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“NICE AND TASTY.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Farmhouse Restaurant is a nice place, featuring a nice variety of entrees. It's a bit pricey, but the portions are large! The usual entrees (steak, poultry, pork, pasta, seafood) ensures that there is something for everyone (they even have a nice children's menu!). There are many appetizers to choose from, but because the portions are quite large, appetizers can sabatoge the meal!!! The presentation of the dishes is quite lovely. It is evident that the chef takes pride in his/her work.
For lunch, the salads are crisp and fresh, the sandwiches are hearty, the soups are very good.
The service is what speaks for this restaurant. What they may lack in exquisite taste, they make up for with a very pleasant and polite waitstaff. Our waitress was extremely in tune with our table (party of 4 adults).
I have enjoyed lunch and dinner here. Lunch and dinner specials are delicious and varied. My pick for the best: Cauliflower Soup - it was more than delicious...it was just plain Fabulous! This is a restaurant not to be overlooked, but bring your pocket book! It's not inexpensive in any sense of the word!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food and wine; try the cellar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Farmhouse is probably my favorite restaurant in Oneonta. The ambience is pleasant-- it really does feel like an old farmhouse, albeit one that has undergone some nice renovations. (It's especially nice to sit in the cellar, which is quite romantic.) The food is always well cooked-- the usual suspects of steaks, prime rib, chicken dishes and the like. The owner is pleasant and can always be counted on for good wine recommendations. Prices are modest. All in all, a good place to eat. Leave Route 88 at exit 16 and it's right there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I visited this place while on vacation over the 4th of July. We were pleasantly surprised after entering the restaurant. The outside appeared to be an old farmhouse that gave us the impression that they would have country style food. Instead, they served a variety of dishes and sandwiches. Everything we ordered was very fresh and delicious.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmhouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Farmhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.