We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel close to Cooperstown.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Oneonta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Oneonta to your Saves list
Courtyard Oneonta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Courtyard Drive, Oneonta, NY 13820   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel close to Cooperstown.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stood picked this hotel because we are Marriott rewards members and were in search of one near the
Baseball hall of Fame in Cooperstown. This place is about a 15 minute drive to Coopers town and I believe is the closest Marriott.

The hotel has a great staff and the rooms are very clean. For a few more dollars we upgraded to the one bedroom suite with 1 and half bathrooms and it was so worth it being that we had the kids. The room was much larger than we expected. Happy hour at the bar area was very good. The food in the lobby was very good as well. The indoor pool was a little small but good enough for my kids to enjoy. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    29
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
32
13
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just 20 minutes from Cooperstown and the Baseball Hall of Fame, this hotel was immaculately clean and very comfortable. The drive from Cooperstown was thru scenic back roads, and the hotel was easy to find. Just minutes outside of Oneonta's downtown, this is a great place to stay if you are in the area. Small pool perfect for the kids to take a quick dip (not suitable for lap swimming, more a small square with deepest area around 4.5 feet) there was also a nice hot tub just adjacent. Quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Oneonta, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. Please be sure to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson Station, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend while visiting Cooperstown. Hotel is relatively new so lobby area and outside very clean and well kept. The room was as expected. Staff at front desk was helpful with local restaurant reservations and info needed to travel around the area. Very nice seating area out back with lounges and a fire pit, great for a relaxing cocktail after a long day. Convenient location right off the highway. Our travel time to Cooperstown was roughly 20 minutes. Only negative was the hot tub was out of order for our stay. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Oneonta, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We do strive to ensure our guests do receive the excellent customer service expected with a Courtyard by Marriott. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel exceeded expectations. I have stayed in the area a few times to visit the Baseball Hall of Fame and was disappointed in a few of the area hotels. This one was excellent. Easy to find, right off the exit next to McDonald's and Wendy's. Not much else within walking distance, though a bit further away is a little strip mall with a few shops.
Room we were in was big, king bed with a nice view out the front of the hotel. Room was very clean and we never had problems with towels or toiletries.
Customer service was excellent, we had an issue with the tv in our room and it was fixed immediately. They were also very helpful with restaurant recommendations.
Didn't eat breakfast in the hotel, though the lounge area was always busy and people seemed to be enjoying themselves. Nice place for a late night snack or an early coffee.
I thought the price was a bit high for Oneonta, but I can't complain about the value. Overall, I recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Oneonta, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! Hope to see you in Oneonta very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Having been to Cooperstown a few times now, I have to say, this is the best hotel we've stayed at. The rooms are clean and nice. The service is excellent (we checked in late and they were as helpful as if it was the middle of the day). There is little shop with snacks and drinks (beer!) and a bistro with food and Starbucks.

The drive to Cooperstown is a quick 20 min (maybe longer if induction weekend) but it's a great place to unwind after walking and touring.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Oneonta, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We do strive to make sure every guest is made to feel special. Please be sure to stop and say hello during your next trip to Oneonta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night around Thanksgiving to visit family. Pleasant staff. Liked that it was close to town and restaurants. The kids enjoyed the pool. The room was a nice size. The only thing to make it better would be a continental breakfast. But it's not a deal breaker. We would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Checked into an empty hotel, 4th consecutive Marriott stay as a Silver member. I asked about possibility of a free upgrade (no) but willingly paid the difference for a king. It went downhill from there... Up charge was fifteen bucks, no big deal. Front desk booked me in the room sharing a wall with the elevator (in an empty facility?). I went down to change rooms, arrived at new locale where? Opposite end of the corridor facing an open, carpeted and seemingly high traffic staircase. Arrived in room and realized no mention of wifi password at checking. Down to the front desk for the second time in five minutes to which the agent replied, "oh yeah..." and provided password. I loomed up and saw what loomed like lunch bags and catching my eye she said, "oh yeah..." And gave me some cookies. Then I asked for milk and upon giving me an 8 oz container, we agreed she could bill my room. She also mentioned I could "buy" coffee in the morning (thanks). Last, we checked into a tiny room only to find it inhabited by bugs. Ladybugs are cute but not in one's hotel room. Neither are flies.

I wish I'd skipped this place. Very disappointing because as a frequent traveller I rely on Marriott consistency but not here. Also with mentioning is the second I arrived, clerk answered the phone, kept me waiting while 3 other people milled around the front desk staring at me. Bug pictures posted.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Oneonta, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you love3men for your candid review. Our staff strives to ensure all guests have an enjoyable stay while visiting our area. I apologize this was not what you experienced. It is thoughtful comments like yours that will help us to make every guests' experience a pleasant one.
I do hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Oneonta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Oneonta

Address: 116 Courtyard Drive, Oneonta, NY 13820
Location: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Oneonta 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Oneonta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Oneonta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.