We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but decent hotel for sure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Market Street, Oneonta, NY 13820-2546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Northvale, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Expensive but decent hotel for sure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Reserved a 2 double/no smoking/larger room. The room was sure enough really big with plenty of space. Rooms had microwave/fridge and a nice desk area to hook up a lap-top. TV was kind of old but had a good picture and plenty of channels. Very clean. Close to downtown Oneonta - just a short walk away from many of the town's shops and restaurants. Beds were extremely comfortable. No free breakfast is a con - but there's a Dunkin right down the street just outside of town. Overall, we enjoyed our two night stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    31
    25
    14
    9
See reviews for
40
16
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meriden CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

This hotel refused to substitute a one bedroom room for a two bedroom room, even though they had one vacant. They wanted a $50.00 surcharge. The staff is very inflexible and unaccomodating. Manager Chris Shields refused to help even though this is the fourth summer we have stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

We recently stayed here while our son was playing at All Star Village. The location is perfect, about 5 minutes from the fields. Its in the "downtown area" where you can find place to eat, and some stores. On Sunday and Monday it was absolutely dead downtown, and not alot was open. The hotel was clean, and was peaceful. I never heard any noise from other rooms. There is a business center with 2 computers that are free to use. There is also a washer and dryer, small indoor pool, and a small workout room. We had the breakfast buffet, it was $9.95 per person, and they give you a 15% off coupon to use when you check in. The buffet was very good. We also got dinner room service one night off their menu, very reasonable prices, and that was good also. The room we were in was on the 5th floor and it was big, with a small refrigerator and huge jetted bath tub. Housekeeping came every day. We had a nice stay here and would recommend.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Great location but I was planning on being able to use my laptop for important coms and internet access. When I informed the staff that thre was no signal in my room they told me that "internet access did not work in some parts of the hotel." It was a "too bad for you" reply, no offer to correct the situation. "Use the business center" is not an acceptable alternative to the guest rooms.

If you want an expensive bed in a hotel that does not live up to their advertisrments, go to the Clarion Oneonta.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Very nice hotel, basically what you expect from the brand. Good location, close to I-88 but right in downtown Oneonta, a short walk from main street. Main street has lots of restaurants but this being a college town, they tend toward the pizza and gyros. Across the street is Stella Luna, which I'll review separately, but it was wonderful. Hotel rate doesn't include breakfast, but you can buy it in their cafe, and it's really good. Croissant French toast - fabulous!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

upon check in I saw that the rugs were very worn. not a big deal in my book. upon closer inspection the hotel installed commercial carpeting and figured it will wear a long time. Otherwise I could not complain. The rear entrance is on main street which gives access to bars and restaurants. Easy to get to baseball hall of fame from here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

The lodging options in Oneonta are unreliable at best. There are large, clean, classy hotels like the Hampton and Holiday Inns which have wonderful accomodations but are each in equally remote areas far from downtown. Then you have smaller motels which are more centrally located but have uninspiring if not downright unhygenic conditions. The Clarion is the only hotel in Oneonta which combines the best of both worlds. It is immaculately clean, the rooms are spacious and quite aesthetically pleasing, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and best of all it is located directly in the heart of downtown within steps of all the town has to offer. The only real downside is that the rooms are relatively pricey for the area. Considering how pleasant my stay was, however, I consider the extra money spent well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 55 Market Street, Oneonta, NY 13820-2546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Oneonta
Clarion Oneonta
Oneonta Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.