We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Market Street, Oneonta, NY 13820-2546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Poughkeepsie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very clean hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

The hotel room was very nice and very clean. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Even when I called to make the reservation, I was impressed with how nice and accomodating they were. We enjoyed our stay there very much. We will choose that hotel whenever we go back to Oneonta. It's a great location, you can walk to many little shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    31
    25
    14
    9
See reviews for
40
16
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Room was horrible with peeling wallpaper, loose bathroom tile, torn carpet and raggedy furniture. Unbelievable. Overpriced for such a dump and the front desk was not properly attended. The one person on duty sat at a desk and talked on his phone the entire time I ever passed through the lobby. When asked for help with my Choice Privileges account, I was told I could do it online. He said he would try to find it later, but never did. This was a poor excuse for a hotel!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

We arrived at the hotel after a delicious dinner at the restaurant across the street. From the outside the hotel looks fine. The friendly desk clerk gave us keys to a room on the second floor. They mentioned a smoking floor which floored me as I did not think that was allowed in NY state. We went to the room, dropped our bags and returned from a walk at about 9:15 pm. There was so much noise outside our room it sounded like a party. There were two college reunions booked into that floor. Why they put two folks with gray hair there I have no idea. I thought ear plugs would solve that problem. What I found next had me calling the desk for a new room. The first pillow I touched had blood on it. I then looked down and saw someone's dirty socks on the floor next to the bed. The thought that the maids would make up a bed with used sheets grossed me out. As we enter the elevator to change rooms a man on it asked us where we were going. I told him our issues and hubby quips it was like "hotel impossible " the man (with no name tag on )said he was the hotel manager and was disappointed in the REMARK. I told him I was disappointed to be touching strangers body. I called Clarion the next day to share my experience. The second room had issues as well. Wait until they get a new manager and fix mold issues and update before booking here!

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Theresa at the front desk deserves commendation for all her help to me and my wife during our stay October 11 through October 13. I also think Luke at the hotel grill was exceptional in his assistance.

Room Tip: I suggest a non-smoking room for comfort and cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Just wanted to commend the staff - Alysia, Luke, Jenn and Theresa. They were courteous, friendly and went out of their way to be helpful in providing information about the area and getting around in the area. While nothing "luxurious" the hotel itself was definitely a very good buy for the price.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

This place is way too expensive to be this ewwie. My friends found spaghetti in their sheets. Spaghetti. As in someone nom nom nomed in their bed and left bits for the next. It was from probably the last person in this room because it was still limp and well seasoned. There was also some dried blood on our sheets. The ceiling is moldy, the carpets are dusty, and it smells like a cross between old people and nair.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

We recently stayed at the Oneonta Clarion. Most friendly staff. Clean and most comfortable.
We had breakfast at the clarion's restaurant because it was convenient. Did not expect much.

Well, kudos to chef Vincent! Probably the best omlet (the Tuscan) I've had in my life. And fine service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 55 Market Street, Oneonta, NY 13820-2546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Oneonta
Clarion Oneonta
Oneonta Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.