We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected nothing, got a lot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joseph L. Popp, Jr. Butterfly Conservatory

Joseph L. Popp, Jr. Butterfly Conservatory
5802 Hwy 7, Oneonta, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Oneonta
Attraction details
Oneonta, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I expected nothing, got a lot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I drove past this place a gazillion times. I never expected anything of this place. in fact, for some reason, I expected this place to be a disappointment. Perhaps it is me, perhaps it is just the fact that this is Oneonta...

anyway, I was delighted with the magical butterflies flying all over the place. I believe this sanctuary was once a built in swimming pool for a mansion. It was filled in, some ponds and trees and beautiful plants added, and VOILA!

besides the ethereal butterfly experience, little secrets emerge from the place... quite accidently, you come across an occasional box turtle walking down one of the paths.... or a chameleon on a branch over head. Exotic birds fly around the canopy of trees, and some small ground birds run about, clearly happy to be alive. the ponds are stocked as you might guess, frogs, turtles, critters galore. It is a jungle experience....

they have a small area of reptiles and other exotica in tanks.... they even have a SLOTH in a cage that is more of a tree puppy. ha!

Outdoors they have an area with other large exotic birds and turtles and such.

yes, I'd go again, and would bring someone special to introduce them to this little piece of paradise. Give yourself an hour and a half, then take your time. if you are in a hurry, you will miss the experience.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    11
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I have been twice in the last two years, and I will probably go again someday. This is a marvelous place.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A complete change of pace in a magical place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I've been to several butterfly conservatories so when I found out about this one I made sure to put it high on my list of places to visit. It's very relaxing to watch beautiful butterflies and moths flitting about. However, as great as the butterflies were, I was equally drawn to the wide array of other animals (birds, reptiles, fish, amphibians, even a sloth) that shared the conservatory with the butterflies. Even though it's one big room, it takes time to wander through and discover as much as you can. For me, the highlights were the newly emerged humongous moths with the design of snake heads in their wings, petting a sloth, and watching the large tortise wander about and finding snacks. The place could do a better job in having informational displays about what I was seeing, but that's a minor complaint in an otherwise fabulous experience.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice, quaint place to visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

I took my three-year-old son to the Conservatory while in Oneonta on business. I have never been to a butterfly conservatory, so I lack anything to compare it to. That being said, I will share my experience.

There were plenty of plants and animals to enjoy, ranging from exotic birds, reptiles, fish, a sloth, and of course many butterflies. I can remember seeing at least 10 different species of butterflies and the longer I stayed the more I saw (so there were probably more that I didn't see). It was great to enjoy the animals "up colse." The only cages contained the large cranes, the sloth, and some frogs were in an aquarium.

The conservatory was indoors which was nice and there was a bench where you could sit to watch the aminals if you wanted. While we were there a large group of seniors came through and the staff became very engaged in pointing out animals, feeding them for show, moving the tree frogs in the aquarium (since they are naturally noctournal) and petting the sloth so we could see her face (also noctournal).

It was a hot day when we went. We were there in the morning and it was pleasant, but was getting warmer as they day went on. By afternoon I think it may have been almost uncomfortably warm in the Conservatory. Outside there was a garden area with picnic tables that would have been nice for bringing a picnic lunch.

Again, never having been to a butterfly conservatory, I lack a comparison, but I thought the admission price was rather high. I paid $21 for my three-year-old and myself. Looking online this looks higher than the price for the conservatory in Niagara Falls (which is an area where everything is normally twice as expensive as it is elsewhere).

Overall, though, it was worth the price since my son is very into brids and butterflys right now so he really enjoyed the visit.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous! Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

What a treat to discover this wonderful treasure in a little town! It's impossible not to forget your troubles when you visit this tropical paradise. Besides the butterflys, check out the cool reptiles (gecko, iguana, turtles, and more), sloth, peacocks, and even some exotic insects! The staff is very helpful & will answer all your questions--or leave you alone if you prefer. Gift shop is small but very well stocked. A must!

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph L. Popp, Jr. Butterfly Conservatory also viewed

 

Been to Joseph L. Popp, Jr. Butterfly Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joseph L. Popp, Jr. Butterfly Conservatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.