We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moving North” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Oneonta

Super 8 Oneonta
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Oneonta to your Saves list
Super 8 Oneonta
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4973 State Highway 23, Rt 23 Southside I-88 Ext 15, Oneonta, NY 13820   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    84
    89
    30
    26
See reviews for
130
52
22
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Good experience. Walls are alittle thin could hear the snoring next door.
They need to hang sign that shows where the lobby is located.41

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, General Manager at Super 8 Oneonta, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Congratulations on your child's recent college graduation! We hope that the ceremony was memorable and thank you for staying with us. If in the area please fell free to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have been going to Oneonta for over 30 years. Several years ago the house we stayed at was sold. Now we stay at the Super 8. Location is very good. We bring our dogs with us ...no problems. The rooms are adequate and clean. The breakfast is fine to get your day started. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This time I am going to try fishing in the Susquehanna behind the motel and see what happens.

Room Tip: If you have dogs get an upstairs room..they won't bark at people's footsteps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, General Manager at Super 8 Oneonta, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for staying with us. We enjoy having you stay with us and like to see the pets accompanying their people. Please know you will always be welcomed here and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, NY
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were here for two nights over the Memorial Day holiday mainly to see sights in the Cooperstown area, where all of the hotels near there were horribly overpriced. We scored a double room for about $65 a night. The Courtyard by Marriott, across the street, started at $159. The nearby Hampton Inn was $219.
I was happy to save the money. This was a typical no-frills Super 8. Everything was good enough. The Wi-Fi was free, as was the continental breakfast. There was a decent selection of TV channels and it's well-located right off I-88.
The room was initially musty when we entered, but that cleared up when we turned on the fan. We were also underwhelmed by the cleanliness of the carpet; there were crumbs and snack remnants throughout. But the bathroom was clean, as were the beds.
Bear in mind, if you need two beds in a room, there are only doubles. There are rooms with king beds, but no pull-out couches, so if you're traveling with kids, you'll need the two beds as you definitely don't want to sleep on the floor.
If you need nothing more than a place to sleep, you'll enjoy staying here, especially when it comes time to paying your credit card bill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, General Manager at Super 8 Oneonta, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our location. I apologize for the poor vacuuming in your room. There should NOT have been any crumbs on the floor of your room. Generally the housekeeping staff gets better reviews on the cleanliness of the rooms. You are correct about the price variation in Oneonta, but bear in mind, Super 8 is an economy line hotel whereas the Hampton, Marriott and Clarion all have heated in-door pools, jaccuzzis, restaraunts, etc. and are mid-range establishments. Hope this helps a little. Please feel free to the hotel directly and speak with me if I can be of any assistance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I think this would be a good motel - except I was disturbed by the management's calluousness.
There was a problem with the water supply and the front desk (apologetically) advised me to drink the water at my own risk. If I want to drink water, I can buy it from the vending machine !
Not providing drinking water to guests? Isn't that a board of health violation?
I sincerely hope that management sees this posting and reconsiders this ill-advised policy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, General Manager at Super 8 Oneonta, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. As the company that tests our water informed us that our water is safe to drink and is tested weekly there was not a safety concern. The Dept. of Health knows that we posted a "Boil water alert" per their directions as we had an interruption in service to replace pressure tanks and a well pump. The "Alert" is standard procedure any time there is an interruption in service. All repairs have been made, there is water in the office for guests at no charge, and the water was tested yet again this week as it is every week. If you would like to speak with the DOH employee handling our site please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Oneonta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Oneonta

Address: 4973 State Highway 23, Rt 23 Southside I-88 Ext 15, Oneonta, NY 13820
Location: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Oneonta 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that we are currently renovating this property-new windows, resurfacing the exterior, renovating interior guest rooms, lobby and breakfast room. We DO offer a Continental Breakfast. Apologies for any inconveniences experienced during our renovations but please do come as we are opened for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Oneonta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Oneonta Hotel Oneonta
Super Eight Oneonta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Oneonta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.