We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Mexican food cooked by real Mexican people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Canelo Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Canelo Restaurant
2188 Glenwood Shopping Plz, Oneida, NY 13421-2718
315-366-3660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 50 Restaurants in Oneida
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
norwich,ny
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Real Mexican food cooked by real Mexican people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Real Mexican food, cooked by real Mexican people, made me and Picky Pat real happy. This was our second visit and it did not disappoint. We both had the deep fried chimmie-chongas filled with steak. It was topped with a yummy cheese sauce ,lettuce , sour cream and tomatoes. We had a side of refried beans, the real deal, not from a can like at home. Picky Pat won't eat the ones from a can, but he scarfed these down and cleaned his plate for once. We both agreed we could have ate multiple plates of this meal, even though we left pleasantly full. Complimentary salsa and chips were served right away. I got up to use the restroom and when I got back, the meal was already on the table. Not bad service for the peak of lunch hour. Two different hot sauces available at table, for spice lovers. I liked the happy, upbeat Mexican music that was played during our visit. The restaurant, including bathroom was clean. We'll definitely be back on our shopping trips to the Army and Navy store(Herb Phillipsons), which is in the same plaza.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    3
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not a good meal.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was possibly the worst Mexican food I have ever eaten. Very nice staff, waiter was great, but this food was TERRIBLE. Save yourself the money and just go to Taco Bell, the food will be better and cheaper. My boyfriend's meal was of the same quality as well, perhaps other menu items are better. We ordered burritos, enchiladas and tacos, all with ground beef. Not tasty, we were very disappointed especially because the other reviews are favorable albeit old. Will not be going here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Find in Upstate NY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Being from Minnesota where there are a surprising number of good Mexican restaurants, I want to compliment this place for having truly authentic Mexican fare. It is by far the best Mexican food I have had in NY state and will be making it a frequent stop. By no means is this place fancy or anything, but the service was good and the food tasty. My one small complaint, the salsa could have been just a little thicker. Tasted good, just ran right off the chips.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Yorker
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Its Great to eat Mexican in Oneida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Variety is the spice of life and eating out provides an opportunity to get a little variety. El Canelo offers a great menu and great food. Having this restaurant locally means you don't always have to travel long distances to get great Mexican food. On your way to or from the Casino or Vernon Downs....or coming back from a high school athletic event or little league..this is a great stop for you and your family.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcy, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sunday Buffet a Huge Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was my husband and my second trip to El Canelo in Oneida for the Sunday, all you-can-eat buffet. First time was pretty good-this time was a huge disappointment. Not only were the available items in the buffet line cold and unappetizing, but the majority of the food was long gone. We grabbed a few items, went back to our booth and ate, hoping they would replenish the trays in the meantime-no such luck. Went back a third time to check again-a few dishes had been replaced, but still the majority of the trays lay empty. With the exception of one small, single, empty tray of Mexican Milk cake (something I was looking forward to having), there were no deserts available-not even a piece of fruit. Also aggravating was the fact that none of the wait staff bothered to come by the table to check on us, and no offers of beverage refills were made-and when you are eating spicy Mexican, a cold drink is a must, at least for me.

If any kind of pleasant ambiance is needed for your dining experience-steer clear. This place is rather like any one of a million fast food type restaurants. The interior of the restaurant is rather dark, with a few dismal Mexican style decorations slapped on the walls. Indeed, the whole place looked like it could use a good scrubbing. We couldn't help notice multiple tables that were left with dirty dishes and uneaten food, and we saw no effort by the staff to remove and clean the tables the entire time we there.

I cannot rate El Canelo for it's regular menu offerings. Most reviews on here seem to be positive. (Note: their web page offers a buy-one-get-one free coupon for lunch and dinner that can be printed out) If you are looking for a quick eat-out at a so-so establishment specializing in Mexican food, and can overlook the shabbiness of the place, you may find this place to be ok.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Canelo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Canelo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Canelo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.