We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new type of cuisine for upstateNY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zabroso Restaurant - CLOSED

Zabroso Restaurant
3960 Sconondoa Road, Oneida, NY 13421
315-363-3360
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Tapas, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great new type of cuisine for upstateNY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasure Zabroso is. Fabulous Spanish food (Jose Andres quality) and a great alternative to the overpriced casino food.
The dining rooms are throughout an old restored home and there is a great bar area upon entering. Wine list very interesting and the available tapas/small plate format let you sample so many things. Give this a try!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    9
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, New York, United States
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Change of Pace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stooped for dinner with the wife. Not our usual Italian or Burger Joint. Started with a beet and goat cheese appetizer. I thought it was ok, my wife loved it. She had a veal dish and I had hanger steak with fried yuca. entrees were delish. We ordered desserts even though we did not need it with the quantity of food we had. The flan was good but nothing great. The carrot pecan cake was very good. Prices were reasonable. We will go back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayuta Lake
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Go with an open mind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We walked in and were greeted with the question from the owner and his girlfriend "What is your favorite soup?" They were just working on their seasonal menu.
Three of us tonight for a birthday dinner. We ordered Tapas: Moroccan Lamb sausages, Sauteed Wild (?) mushrooms, Baked goat cheese. All very good. Then the Paella. The menu says it serves 2-4 It was just a little more than enough for the three of us. We ate it all and it was soooo good. Flan for dessert.
There was so much more on the menu that we wanted to try, so we will have to go back.
It seemed a bit pricey for this area but with all of the above a round of drinks and a bottle of wine it was under $150 so I guess not too bad for three people.

Chris was our waiter. Attentive but not intrusive, friendly but not cloying., assisted with the menu.

All three of us were happy with our choices. (and each other's as we are sharers)

This is NOT a taco joint., Also for those non adventurous eaters: The only thing on the menu for you Papas Bravas for a Tapas and Sirloin Steak with potatoes for an entree. I heard someone at anothertable rave about the Papas bravas... Couldn't possibly be better than the mushrooms.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, N
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Spanish food and flamenco dancing right in Central New York!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Last night we went to Zabroso's new location off RT 365 and had a wonderful experience! We ordered some "tapas" first, then went in the bar portion to enjoy the singing and dancing of a talented, very congenial group called "Puente Flamenco". We had also ordered paella to be ready following the performance and our waiter (Chris) made sure it was at our table at the right time, piping hot and ready to be enjoyed. If you like sangria to accompany your meal, they make their own and it's delicious!! If you're looking for something different than the usual chain restaurants---this place is terrific. Check their website to see when they offer the flamenco dance group....I believe they perform at that location once a month or so.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Beach, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Be sure to bring your ear plugs. It was so loud that my husband and I were not able to carry a conversation until the party of six that was sitting in the middle of room left. We arrived at 6:50 and were there until 9:30 as it was very slow. The waiter continued to apologize for us having to wait, but I don't know why as it was not very busy. It was a little pricey for the portion of food. I was disappointed in the chicken and rice casserole as the chicken was a drumstick and thigh and not a breast. My husband said his steak was very good. Dessert was delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zabroso Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zabroso Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.