We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B with wonderful inn keepers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alpine Homestead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Alpine Homestead to your Saves list
The Alpine Homestead
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1314 County Route 29, Olmstedville, NY 12857   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Olmstedville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B with wonderful inn keepers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend while my wife ran the Adirondack Marathon in Schroon Lake. Our room was very lovely and the king bed was very comfortable. The private bathrooms are not en-suite though so you had to walk down the hall. Not an issue for me personally but some might not like that. Rooms are spotless and comfortable. They are a bit small, but this is normal for a B&B and to be expected. If you want a big room, stay at a big chain hotel. If you want a great room with character and a homely feel, stay at the Alpine Homestead.

The house was extremely clean and properly kept. There are plenty of chairs inside and outside on the porch to sit and read or just enjoy the country air. The inn keepers are very friendly and attentive to their guests. They love their home and it shows. Breakfast is fresh, delicious and hearty. They were very accommodating for the marathon runners who required some special foods for the race and even had some bananas and home made granola bars for the runners to take with them for the race.

The B&B is about 30 minutes from Schroon Lake and 15 minutes from Gore Mountain so it is a drive to food and entertainment, but worth every minute. We would go back there in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Each room has a specific purpose, call the inn keepers and tell them what you are looking for and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
31
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lynbrook
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I almost don't want to gush too much about the great time I had at The Alpine Homestead because you need to have this experience for yourself. I can tell you that you will sleep soundly, eat extremely well and feel profoundly content.
Peggy and Barry are attentive and caring hosts who will make you feel special...as if they were waiting just for YOU to come to their home. That type of natural hospitality is rare and memorable.
Enjoy a pre-breakfast cup of coffee on the wrap-around front porch and watch the hummingbirds, breathe in the fresh mountain air and delight in the beautiful flowers in the surrounding garden. In the evenings get settled in the Great Room for an evening of television or reading....the leather couch was my favorite comfy place!
I also booked a half day kayak trip with the Adirondack Mountain and Stream Guide Service that Peggy and Barry suggest and had a wonderful experience.
As a solo traveler, I couldn't have asked for a more satisfying 3 day stay. I only wish my time at The Alpine Homestead didn't have to end. Thankfully, the memories will carry me through until my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Peggy and Barry were incredibly nice hosts, greeting us, making recommendations, offering tea or coffee or drinks. The Bed and Breakfast itself is filled with antiques which Peggy graciously showed us, explaining the history of several of the pieces. Breakfasts were both healthy and filing (granola and yogurt and eggs and muffins and fruit!). The rooms were comfortable, beds supportive and every detail attended to (robes and soap etc.). We were picking up our daughter at a camp about 45 minutes away and our hosts left the light on for our very late return. We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts and this was definitely one of the best places we have ever stayed!! Peggy and Barry could not have been more gracious hosts and the prices are very reasonable. Stay here! You won't regret it!!

Room Tip: The king size room was very spacious and comfortable. Full size room a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed with Peggy and Barry when we went to pick up our new puppy. Barry welcomed us warmly and showed us around the house. Peggy joined him and made us feel at home. Our early breakfast request was graciously accommodated. And, if you want a full breakfast, this is it! Many local ingredients were used and the breakfast was prepared fresh that morning. The smells throughout the house were wonderful! The bed (king size) was very comfortable and the house is lovely. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Spent the better part of a week here with my three kids and had a wonderful stay. The hosts are very hospitable, helpful, and kid-friendly. Breakfast is outstanding. While Olmsteadville is a tiny town, it is well-located for a wide variety of outdoor activities. Some thoughts on the one 'poor' review from January: It is true that the rooms are small and somewhat rustic, but the common areas are spacious and comfortable. The comment about restaurants is not really fair. There are dozens of restaurants within 8 to 30 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunmorePA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I travel by motorcycle so for us the location of this lovely B & B was conveniently located among some really beautiful riding roads! Barry and Peggy were such welcoming people and their place was so warm and cozy. The breakfasts each morning were not only abundant but delicious and a great way to start our day! After riding all day it was so nice to sit out on their beautiful wrap around porch...this B & B couldn't be more inviting!! We so enjoyed our stay...great people...the cutest dogs...great riding ...hope to go back for a fall trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairstown, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My family and I enjoyed the extensive and carefully prepared breakfast. Our hosts were warm, friendly, and created a welcoming, family-like atmosphere. This B&B has a very comfortable and home-like feel. IT was very clean and well kept. As one reviewer noted, the rooms are small, but this is an older house (1850's I think) with lots of charm and character and I didn't expect the rooms to be larger--there is a large common area with plenty of room. Furthermore, I felt it was a great value for the money. I would recommend Alpine Homestead, and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alpine Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alpine Homestead

Address: 1314 County Route 29, Olmstedville, NY 12857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Olmstedville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Olmstedville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Alpine Homestead 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpine Homestead Bed & Breakfast sits in the quaint little Irish village of Olmstedville, in the town of Minerva, New York. Our location in the Adirondack Park is ideal for Fall and Winter sports and activities as well as Spring and Summer outdoor fun. Hiking, skiing, boating, fishing can all happen just minutes from our back door. Looking for relaxation and peacefulness, we will be able to direct you to many areas that will offer you just that.Our 1850's home was renovated by us in 2006. Antique furnishings are throughout our home, yet it is warm and welcoming and very relaxing. All our four guest rooms have private baths that are located off the upstairs hallway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Alpine Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alpine Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.