We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying their Best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Olean

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Olean
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Main St, Olean, NY 14760   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Olean
Lima, OH
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Trying their Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed in the whirlpool king room and it was relaxing and functional. This Hampton is trying to maintain the high standards set by Hilton but appears to be struggling a bit. They are in the midst of an ordeal with a local contractor whose poor quality in the lobby remodel is now forcing a tear-out/rework exercise to replace the newly laid lobby floor. The deluxe continental breakfast has been relocated to an adjacent conference room and the front desk is still accessible. There appear to be lots of maintenance items but the handy man tries to stay on top of them. What does come across here, that is a little disappointing is an emphasis on low expenses at a tradeoff for quality. But that may be a function of supply choice in this remote area as well. And I have noticed that Hilton ownership of the whole chain has taken away some of the value emphasis that was there in the earlier independent days.

But I would still recommend staying here if you can negotiate a reasonable rate. Hotel rates are somewhat high in Olean for what is received. But the staff were friendly, the bed comfortable, and the room clean. Good water pressure and hot temperature. We did not have any maintenance items that needed attention except that the HVAC integral thermostat seemed to need calibration. The third floor gets too warm, even in winter but you can open the outside window. The hotel is on the corner of a busy intersection so noise is somewhat noticeable on the front side. Minor irritations: cheap toilet paper & kleenex and a "sliding duvet" cover that was a battle to keep over your torso at night.

I wish the hotel management well in their battle to maintain quality.

Room Tip: Back side rooms are quieter, lower floor rooms are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Hampton Inn Olean, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments about staff. We understand about the renovations but hope you will return to enjoy the completed project!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    52
    29
    10
    5
See reviews for
47
32
7
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We love the beds at Hampton. They are very cozy and comfortable. No exception here.

The only downside to our stay at the Olean Hampton was that the lobby was in the middle of being remodeled and was not as nice as one would expect. We were greeted immediately as we entered, however, and were offered warm cookies. Our check-in was speedy and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trayc92, General Manager at Hampton Inn Olean, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We hope you will return when the lobby is complete! It will be beautiful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Sometimes it really is the little things that's make the difference. The broken lock, lack of soap, breakfast bar hostess in jeans and tee shirt, mediocre breakfast choices - just didn't add up to a great stay. They were renovating, but everything was clean. Beds very comfy.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We are Marriott reward members but there is no Marriotts in the Olean area so we chose the Hampton. The room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable, and the breakfast was high quality. We will stay there again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Room was comfortable, smelled clean. They were laying new carpet in the hallways. Tile in the hallway near the 1st floor elevator was popping up. Everytime you stepped on it you could feel it move. Staff was hit or miss. Female that checked me in was great, friendly. Had contact with another male later - wasn't impressed. Weather was really nice during my stay. Would have been nice to have a bench to sit on outside. I walked around the building....saw lots and lots of cigarette butts.....but nowhere to place my butt.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for a funeral. Had to set up a number of rooms. They were quite accomodating and helpful as I had to call and change the reservations many times over the week and into the weekend. Kate was extremely pleasant over the phone and in person. RIck worked with us on so much during our stay - everything from a couple of things that housekeeping missed in our room, to managing all the room reservations, to following up with us on our HHonors points for the stay. Rick went above and beyond the call of duty when he actually called me back the same day after he said he would follow up with his General Manager. The service is very good at this Hampton Inn.

The accomodations are relatively average. They do have a little renovation work happening and you can see it around the hotel. Overall very good!

Looking forward to staying here again in 3 weeks for a wedding!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

A middle of the road Hampton with rooms as you'd expect though our Kleenex dispenser was empty. A ver unpleasant door permeated the corridor on the second floor. Great location though. I give it 6/10 but would give it 8/10 if the rate was 20% lower.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Olean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Olean

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Olean Hotel
Hampton Inn Olean Hotel Olean
Olean Hampton Inn
Address: 101 Main St, Olean, NY 14760
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Olean
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Olean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Olean 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Olean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Olean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Olean to your Saves list