We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beef 'n' Barrel

Beef 'n' Barrel
146 North Union Street, Olean, NY 14760
(716) 372-2985
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 58 Restaurants in Olean
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Rye, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a VERY popular spot for local folks and university families, so get there early. Although the place was packed, we waited 10 minutes or less, It is a very large room and can accommodate many diners, so don't be scared off by the line. The service was very good and fast, the kitchen never seemed to back up and the carving station was fabulous. The best part was that it was also very reasonably price-go there!
Closed on Sunday nights

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    49
    14
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Suprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were in the Olean area from about 1 hr. and 50 Min. away on our 24th wedding anniversary. We saw the very beautiful restaurant and thought wow that will be expensive and we are probably under dressed. We stopped in out back in the private and very well maintained parking area. We walked up and looked in the windows. We saw an awesomely dressed staff and again thought we must be under dressed. We walked in to quickly take a peak and saw a huge, beautiful restaurant with person in casual to business dress. We stayed. We were very pleasantly suprised by the quick wait staff and the affordable menu. We both chose the 6 oz. Sirloin lunch. The salads were very nice and the dressing was awesome. I had celery seed and my wife had ranch. The smell of the restaurant was mouth watering. Our food came quickly but not rushed and we were attended to quickly but again not rushed. I have eaten in many restaurants from diners to 5 star. I was very impressed with the cleanliness and waitstaff appearance. I went out of my way to tell the management I was very impressed. The corners of mirrors, tops of woodwork and tops of light bulbs in the lamps were all very clean with no dust. The restrooms were extremely clean and well attended to. We will definitely stop here again when we come to Olean.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you like beef, you'll like Beef and Barrel. They do beef right. Try the Beef on Weck, it is non-traditional in the thickness of the slices. The beef is much thicker than the traditional Western New York favorite, but it works and you order it by doneness which they got spot on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklinville, NY
1 review
“One of our favorite lunch and dinner locations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We visit this restaurant frequently and have never had a negative experience--always good food, nice atmosphere, efficient and pleasant servers, wonderful desserts--love the owners--nothing negative to say.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Drive the 20 minutes to Beefeaters...it's much better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

After eating at Beefeater's, in nearby Bradford, PA, I'd rather drive the 20 minutes to go there, than I would to stay at Beef n' Barrel. Our meal was served cold, and when we complained, it took about 30 minutes to get it back from the kitchen, again. The service was sub-par, to say the least; the floor and table were dirty and I just really expected a lot better. Especially, given that they used to have a great reputation.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beef 'n' Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Beef 'n' Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beef 'n' Barrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.