We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, very pleasant staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3051 West State Street, Olean, NY 14760-1832   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Olean
Moonachie, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service, very pleasant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very pleasant staff, clean rooms, good breakfast. Could use another dresser in rooms with 2 queen beds. There were 3 of us and not enough draw space. Other than that, everything else was good. We had a very nice stay. Close to a lot of antique places.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatin P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at our property. I will bring up the lack of drawer space during our next renovations as a possible option. I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed breakfast and thought our rooms were very clean. I will thank our housekeeping staff for their hard work. We hope you choose our property again.


Thank you,
Yatin Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    46
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
77
31
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Not clear on the Plus is supposed to mean, this was a basic 2-3 star hotel, nothing special. Overall clean and modern with a small pool. Room was nice, nothing fancy, just nice and functional. The kids and I were amused by the "Pancake Printer", at breakfast, a pancake machine that spit them out like a printer spitting out paper. Decent free breakfast. In general just fine for an overnight stop on the way to the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatin P, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your survey. We appreciate the time you have taken to give your feedback. We do have plans for renovations down the road that will ultimately improve our property. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope you choose to come stay with us again and hopefully by that time our property will be up to date. Again, thank you for your time and if there is anything else i can do for you please don't hesitate to contact me at 716-372-1300 ext. 303.

Yatin Patel
General Manager
Best Western Plus University Inn
Olean, NY 17460
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

There is nothing negative about this hotel. Breakfast-hot, fresh pancakes as well as egg on muffin. Fresh fruit,cereals,bagels.Something for everyone.The bed was very comfortable,clean,spacious bathroom. I will look for best westerns whenever I travel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatin P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. We are always expanding the varieties of food we have to offer. We hope to see you again so that we can provide you with the same excellent service. We thank you for your loyalty and if there is anything else that i can do for you please don't hesitate to contact me at 716-372-1300 ext. 303.

Yatin Patel
General Manager
Best Western Plus University Inn
Olean, NY 14760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I strongly urge the hotel to remodel the rooms so none of them smell like smoke. Having to sleep in a room that smells like smoke in this day and age is simply unacceptable. This means also changing the wall covering AND the carpets, not just a wash down of the walls.

Other than the rooms that smell like smoke, we enjoyed our experience at the hotel. A special thanks to Henry and Todd for their help at the front desk- I certainly know it's not their fault that the rooms are in the condition they are in.

Also, the location is good and the breakfast was passable.

Room Tip: Room 100 smells like smoke. Room 223 did not! This has never been a smoking room (as most have in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatin P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your time. We appreciate the feedback you have provided with us. I want to take the time to personally apologize that the room smelt strongly of smoke. We work with housekeeping and our ionizers to help eliminate this odor. We hope to see you again so that we can provide you with more of a satisfactory stay. Again, thank you for your time and if there is anything else you need please do not hesitate to contact me at 716-372-1300 ext. 303.

Yatin Patel
General Manager
Best Western Plus University Inn
Olean, NY 14760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling through Ny and needed an overnight stop. This hotel was a great deal. Free wifi, free movies, microwaves and fridge in the room, snacks at arrival and free cold breakfast buffet in the morning. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good restaurants within walking distance. All for less than $100 with a coupon...slightly more without.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatin P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We appreciate the time taken to provide us with your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. If there is anything else that i can do for you please do not hesitate to contact me at 716-372-1300 ext. 303.

Yatin Patel
General Manager
Best Western Plus University Inn
Olean, NY 14760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parish, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had to travel to Olean for our Granddaughter's high school graduation. We stayed one night. The service was great. Our desk clerks were very friendly and accommodating. I enjoyed the pool in an early am swim.
My husband & I thought the breakfast was excellent! There was a very nice variety of breakfast foods(both hot & cold). There was an attendant there to help make the pancakes for everyone.
Both the check-in and out were expedient!
The ice machine on our floor was out of order but no big deal to hopping on the elevator to the lobby and getting some ice!
There is an Applebee's right next door and Olean has many fine restaurants to choose from in about a 4 mile radius.
If we need to stay in Olean again we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatin P, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
I wanted to start off by saying thank you for staying with our family. Also, congratulations on your grand-daughter graduating from high school. That is one very important milestone one must reach in life. I will let Irene know that you appreciated her great service. Irene is one of our best employees and your feedback most certainly reflects that. I would recommend next time you come to town to try the Beef-n-Barrel, it is one of my favorite places to dine and i have yet to have a bad experience. About the ice machine on the second floor, i will personally make sure it is operational during your next stay. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.

Yatin Patel

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I just traveled from the west coast heading towards the east coast and this place was to be my 6th visit at Best Western Plus. All the Plus hotels were upstanding, new or renovated with a higher quality of service and cleanliness than the typical Best Western. This Best Western claims to be a Plus but I beg to differ, the desk clerk was bored, the carpets are worn and dirty, the elevator floor was dirty and the laundry area was unkept. The majority of the guests were construction workers, perhaps their muddy boots contributed to the flooring problem. The breakfast was cheap and ended at 9:00 am. Not all guests get up at the crack of dawn. The lobby area is small, the breakfast room is small and the parking lot is even smaller. If your expecting a higher quality room as a Best Western Plus claims...this is not it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn

Address: 3051 West State Street, Olean, NY 14760-1832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Olean
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Olean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olean
Olean Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.