We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Library Bed & Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olean
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Library Bed & Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Old Library Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
120 S. Union St, Olean, NY 14760   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Olean B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We were very pleased with the facility, the staff and the food. Lois and Lisa go the extra mile. The house is beautiful and the location is ideal. Great made to order breakfasts. We will return!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
13
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
canada
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Only a quick overnight stay at the Old Library Bed & Breakfast Inn. The staff are lovely and hospitable. The inn itself is very clean, very charming but does feel a bit dated. The suite we used was a nice size, had a large comfortable bed for us and a rather unconformable pullout sofa for the kids. We have used quite a number of pullout beds for the kids on our travels and this one was definitely amongst the least comfortable. The air conditioners in the suite (there were two ACs) were apparently recent additions to the room. Unfortunately they vibrated the windows, were incredibly noisy and impacted negatively on our sleep.

Our morning was improved by a breakfast that was made to order and was delicious.

Overall I have mixed feelings about our stay. The people were pleasant, the Inn is interesting , breakfast was lovely, but we did not sleep well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I love the hotel-- there's also a nice restaurant connected, and best of all a CANDY SHOP RIGHT IN THE B & B! It would be a nice touch if they'd put a chocolate or two under your bed, but otherwise the place is perfect. Some other fine restaurants right nearby, a grat library and an awesome reading series. Olean has more going on than you might think-- it is a very old-fashioned and charming town.

Room Tip: personally I prefer the large lower level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

From the moment I arrived the staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. House was very clean, beautifully restored, has a great, well-preserved antique charm to it. Room was comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was wonderful. There were many options, all cooked to order. It was a quiet and relaxing place to stay, in Olean you can't beat the deal of this comfortable home away from home!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

just stayed at the inn and was definitely pleasantly surprised. the photos of the rooms don't do them justice. The building is beautfully preserved and the rooms are mostly furnished with antiques. We stayed in three of the rooms and were able to look in a few others. Didn't see the suite in the basement. The breakfast was cook to order and delicious. Everyone was very friendly and I would definitely stay there again as opposed to the hotels in Olean. The restaurant (just next door) is owned by the same people and the food and service we had there was also above and beyond.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We visited my old home town on a family visit, but this is the first time we ever stayed at this house next door to the old Carnegie library that I frequented as a child, now a co-owned locally well known restaurant. I must say the breakfast was excellent, with the exception of being accosted with a long prayer, which we were told saved some large number of souls. Well, okay. Yes, the staff was pleasant, and I like people in Olean! I hate to see the bombed out downtown nearby, from which I have many memories - thank you to Walmart et al and the politicians and bureaucrats of Mr. Greenspan's ilk who have done their best to drive manufacturing out of the U.S. Our gripe is with the poor state of the room, for which we were asked payment in advance. I travel quite a bit internationally, and have often paid less for four-star hotel rooms than for the Durkin Suite, room #7, in the basement. Yes, it was large, with two TVs. Not that we watched much TV, but it's a good thing I know how to adjust the tint/color/contrast, if you get my drift. No windows, which we had been told when we reserved, but there were two little ancient A/C's in the middle of this summer's heat wave, one of which frequently dropped out. After the first occurrence, which took roughly an hour for someone to come "fix", I learned where the utility room that held the circuit breakers was, and dealt with it myself (just glad my family only stayed there one night, judging from the electrical connections). The furnishings in the room weren't particularly "charming", just old. Not sure why we needed an old dining room table that would seat ten, as I recall, except to take up space. The place was dark, the convertible sofa was very uncomfortable, so I was told, and our teenagers had to go through our bedroom to get to the bathroom. The bathroom...broken toilet seat, broken and useless toilet paper holder, and a shower control that I seemed to be the only one of our party of four who could properly balance the water temperature; with some effort the shower was fine. The room has not gotten a thorough cleaning in quite some time - spider webs and thick dust in some unobvious places. And the smell in the air continually reminded you that you were in a basement. Other than that, the room was fine...and I cannot speak for any other room. Oh, and it does have wireless internet, but it is deathly slow.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

Old, wooden building kept in good condition. Recently replaced the bedding: no more feathers. Bedroom had tall ceiling, but bathroom was no more than 6'6" in our room. No ceiling light in room, lamps had to suffice. Good collection of wooden furniture in room and building in general. No refrigerator in room, so taking delicious leftovers from Old Library restaurant next door was not a possibility. (We did not ask about using the refrigerator in the kitchen.) Wooden floors had some squeaky spots, so sneaking around without detection could pose a problem. Breakfast options were delicious and abundant, well made, and served by friendly staff. Bathroom sink light hidden in old medicine cabinet; hard to access.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Library Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Library Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 120 S. Union St, Olean, NY 14760
Location: United States > New York > Olean
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Olean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Old Library Bed And Breakfast Inn
Old Library Hotel Olean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Library Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.