We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring- Fall always something in Bloom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Westbury Gardens

Old Westbury Gardens
71 Old Westbury Road, NY 11568, Old Westbury, NY 11568
516-333-0048
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The dazzlingly diverse gardens, designed in 1906, have Eastern and Western touches.
Plainview, New York
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Spring- Fall always something in Bloom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Beautifully cared for gardens, check their website for garden and house tours. There is a small cafe available near the parking area and a cafe in the house as well.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    23
    0
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I always enjoy visiting Old Westbury Gardens. The grounds are impeccible; the mansion on the property is beautifully maintained; and if you are lucky enough to visit during Christmas, you become part of a bygone era and are transported back in time to how people spent Christmas way back when. A must see!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The mansion is great but the grounds are amazing. I love the various gardens. Again, this is a great place to learn about Long Island's Gold Coast and what old money bought back in the early 1900's. Great place to have a picnic and just walk around and relax. Mansion tours are available as are various outdoor activities throughout the year. Great for couples and families.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Day at Old Westbury Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I would highly recommend visiting the Old Westbury Gardens! My friend and I enjoyed an amazing tour of the gardens at 11 am with a volunteer Master Gardener, Gene. He was so knowledgeable and well spoken it was a true pleasure. He made me think about gardening and landscape architecture in such a different way. I quickly came to appreciate not only the beauty of the grounds but the design and intent of each garden. I learned so much about the history and science behind it too. We also took a tour of the incredible house which allowed us to really see a fuller picture of the family that lived there and their lifestyle. We really enjoyed exploring the beautiful grounds. It was a very relaxing day. We bought lunch at the Cafe. There are also picnic tables available under the shade of the trees. I saw people of all ages enjoying Old Westbury Gardens. I was very impressed by my visit and would definitely recommend it to family and friends. I look forward to visiting again as the gardens are constantly changing with the seasons.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and Peaceful Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

One of my absolute favorite places on Long Island. When you drive up surrounded by those huge hemlock trees, and you catch your first glimpse of the mansion, you know you are somewhere very special. This estate has been in countless movies and tv shows b/c it is simply stunning! The gardens are gorgeous and meticulously maintained. I also love the path that goes around the large pond towards the back of the property. It is a beautiful place to visit fall, spring or summer!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Westbury Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Old Westbury Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Westbury Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.