We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We hated it and will never return!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Adirondack Lodge Old Forge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Adirondack Lodge Old Forge to your Saves list
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420-0261   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We hated it and will never return!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We made reservations for this motel and requested and was told and confirmed that we would get the two queen bed/non smoking room. My husband is recovering from strokes and it's even a miracle that we can travel this summer. We specifically told the reservation desk that we needed a room where we could pull up as opposed to the main lodge where you have to go inside to the rooms and made this very clear that it was essential for my husband for unloading suitcases. We were told, yes, it was no problem and we were given a room where we could park the car right outside the door of the room and not inside the main lodge. That was until we arrived today and were told the rooms were inside the main building and the only other option was a king size bed/non-smoking room or nothing. We were tired and needed a place for him to rest so we took the room. The room is horrible. It's small, blinds are broken or missing, before we have had a nice bathroom with a bathtub and this room has a shower the size of a small closet. We travel with grandsons and a bathtub is essential. When we tried to ask the receptionist desk questions we got the "I'm new here and have only been here for a month", we should have stopped right there and asked for a manager to complete the reservations. (But now my husband tells me she was there when he checked in and made no apologies for giving up our room that was confirmed.

To conclude, find another motel......this one is no longer the place it use to be and management doesn't care about their clientle at all, just their credit cards. The rooms look like they are decorated in early 1940's Adirondack style that looks like it's been here that long. Rooms we have had before have been much better but this one is the worst in the motel since we have been coming here. Try the motels across the street, the 19th Hole Motel, or the Country Club Motel, both look very nice and have read great reviews on them. The offer to move us to a smoking room doesn't solve the problem but makes it worse since I'm allergic to cigarette smoke and all the frebreeze in the world won't take that smell out of the room.

Buyer beware..........confirm your reservations several times......but then here it doesn't matter because they will just put you where they want you anyway....and we wonder why
America is in the trouble it is when businesses no longer care about their customers...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyParrothead, Owner at Adirondack Lodge Old Forge, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
You made your reservation through a third party web site and chose the least expensive room which was a room in the hotel section with 2 double beds. You knew what you booked and wanted to upgrade when you arrived at the property. No non smoking upgrade was available except our deluxe King rooms ........ I'm also sorry that you did not like our new furnishings in these rooms. It is all hand crafted Hickory....very expensive and we constantly get compliments on how well this decor fits in with the Adirondack Mountains.

I am sorry you encountered this problem and hope you will return as you have been satisfied in the past. I only suggest that you make the reservation directly with the hotel and not rely on the internet. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you once again in the future.

Sincerely, Arthur Kott, Owner Adirondack Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    30
    14
    15
    17
See reviews for
51
38
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
syracuse
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011 via mobile

All in all ok place. This motel used to be a best western. Indoor pool is alright. The place is a little worn for $150 a night.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed in a different motel last year, but payed $20 more to stay here because it looked nicer from the outside, but it was not worth it! The beds were terrible, the shower walls had mold and mildew in the grout, the lamp had a bulb out, the front desk was understaffed, the bedskirts on the beds were completely ripped to shreds at the seam where it attaches under the mattress (so odd) the room smelled musty, the lawn was being mowed right out our window at 8 am (so much for sleeping in) and our toilet kept clogging and was leaking. We will never stay here again. We stay in hotels 10-15 times per year in a variety of places at a variety of mid range price points and this place is the worst place we have stayed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyParrothead, Owner at Adirondack Lodge Old Forge, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
It seems rather odd that you had so many problems with your stay, yet never contacted the front desk and voiced any of your concerns. I too, often travel and stay in hotels apprx. 30 nights a year. Sometimes I encounter problems, even with 4 star hotels, and I always give the hotel a chance to " make things right ". Unfortunately you never gave us that chance.
We sincerely hope you will come back as your experience is far from the norm..... give us the opportunity to make things right.

Arthur Kott
Owner, Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 via mobile

It Was nice, staff was friendly. The breakfast wasn't anything great, I would plan on eating out in the morning very limited on the choices. My only problem was they advertise Internet but they don't actually have it, since everything closes so early I planed on using my computer to watch movies but was unable because there is no conection.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyParrothead, Owner at Adirondack Lodge Old Forge, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
"It Was nice, staff was friendly." Those words start your review........ Thank you. We strive to make every guest feel " at home ". However, you mention the breakfast was limited. We serve a FREE Continental Breakfast every morning.
Items include ; Bagels with butter, cream cheese, peanut butter and jelly
Donuts
Two types of juice
Three choices of cereal
Milk
Oatmeal
Fresh fruit
Coffee ( reg. and decaf. )
Tea ( reg. and flavored/herbal )
Hot chocolate
If you wish to have a hot breakfast there are several restaurants in town. We only serve a CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST and are very proud of what we offer.
Internet issues - Our reservation system relies on a good internet connection. We have free internet for ALL guests..... hard wired and Wi Fi. I'm sorry you could not connect. Had you called the front desk, someone could have helped you connect ... it's usually a simple firewall setting.
I truely hope you will give us another chance.....we look forward to helping you in the future.

Arthur Kott
Owner, Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee center n.y
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

clean, beautiful, extremely comfortable, friendly, cant say enough great things about adirondack lodge...we'll never stay anywhere else....and going back every chance we get....and the owners are actually around town...amazing people....everyone there goes out of their way to make your stay the very best....thanks for a great relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

My friend and I just spent two nights at your lodge and really loved the look as well as the staff. I hope that next year I can be able to come up to Old Forge and stay at the lodge. Wishing each and everyone on the staff a good summer { hope it gets a bit cooler!}

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

THIS stay was not as nice as we had in the past,we've been staying there for the 8or 9 yrs.....
Housekeeping was very poor.FYI if U bring your family dog be prepared to stay in the Smoking section...Really not a good policy..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyParrothead, Owner at Adirondack Lodge Old Forge, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Sorry you were not happy with your stay.... We strive to make every guest feel at home and have won numerous housekeeping awards throughout the years. We certainly would have corrected anything that was not satisfactory had you let us known. Our policy on letting dogs in only certain rooms ( smoking rooms only ) has been in place for years and you were notified of this at the time of your reservation. This is hardly grounds for a poor review as you stated that you have been very satisfied over the last 8 or 9 years. I truely am sorry you were not happy and hope you will return to our hotel in the future.

Arthur Kott
Owner - Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adirondack Lodge Old Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adirondack Lodge Old Forge

Address: Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420-0261
Location: United States > New York > Old Forge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Adirondack Lodge Old Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge Hotel Old Forge
Adirondack Hotel Old Forge
Adirondack Motel Old Forge
Best Western Old Forge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adirondack Lodge Old Forge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.