We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Menu and Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountainside Smokehouse & Grill

Mountainside Smokehouse & Grill
5074 Route 28, Old Forge, NY
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 26 Restaurants in Old Forge
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Acton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Menu and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We arrived early for dinner so the restaurant was fairly empty but by the time we were ready to leave, it started filling up. My husband ordered the ribs and I had the catfish. The ribs melted off the bone and the catfish was blackened perfectly. We both had the smoked vegetables as a side dish which were absolutely the most delicious vegetables we've ever had. Everything was fresh and cooked meticulously. This restaurant is a real find and we will definitely go back!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had heard so much about the Mountainside BBQ, that we just had to try it for ourselves. We arrived to be the only people in the restaurant, and figured it was just due to the early dinner hour we chose. Eventually people began to arrive for dinner.

Our waitress was very friendly and informative about the menu and special offerings for the evening. My husband had the ribs and chicken and I chose the ribs and brisket. Food was good, but not outstanding like others thought it was. The ribs seemed a little tough to pull from the bones (we are used to ribs that fall off the bones). My brisket lacked in flavor and seemed like it was reheated after an initial cooking -- did not appear fresh at all and it had a lot of fat. The baked beans were very good. The cole slaw was dry and lacked flavor. The garlic bread was nothing more than thick toast with very little garlic flavor.

After our dinner we retired to the bar to finish our beers, but the bartender (or owner) did not appear to be very socialable and was more worried about IPod music than customer interface.

We might give it another try in 2015, but it will not be at the top of our list.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacona, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“suberb bbq in the Adirondacks! Above and beyond service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were lucky enough to once again find ourselves in this neck of the woods again for a day trip around the Fourth of July holiday. It was a Sat early afternoon and one of the first times that they were open for lunch! We were thrilled we had the place to ourselves no one knew the secret yet they are serving lunch!
We were pleasantly surprised to find out what beer was on tap and they had Guiness. We ordered some food to eat and some to go. My hubby got the big bbq wings! I choose a pulled pork dinner entree with the fabulous mac n cheese, which has to be some of the best I have had out, different types of cheeses expertly blended so creamy in a crock dish and their garlic mashed potatoes which are very very good and homemade. The sauces all made in house still as good as ever! I had leftovers to take and we ordered the St Louis Rib/ wing dinner combo to go. Service spot on and attentive. Bartender went out of his way to pack our food in containers and ice for the 1 1/2ride home.... We love the homemade on premis bbq! Highly recommended! Thank you again until our next trip up!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rancho mirage ca
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great patio dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

An enjoyable meal on a new deck with friendly help! The nachos are great and loved the pulled pork. Several draft beers on tap. Macaroni and cheese unforgettable!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Barbecue in the mountains!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was a recommendation from the owners at The Big Moose inn. It was pretty incredible and a great surprise to find that everything was smoked on the premises and all the sauces were homemade as well. The host was very friendly and talked us into much more food than we probably should have ordered but it was delicious. I had the wings and my wife had the pulled pork dinner. The mac and cheese although very good was something we should have passed on. Simple atmosphere but very good food and we thought that the service that we got was great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountainside Smokehouse & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mountainside Smokehouse & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountainside Smokehouse & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.