We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, locals were amusing and nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keyes Pancake House & Restaurant

Keyes Pancake House & Restaurant
2967 New York 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
315-369-6752
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 26 Restaurants in Old Forge
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
saranac lake NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, locals were amusing and nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Was camping nearby and went here for breakfast one morning. Food was quite good. An older woman sitting nearby was absolutely hilarious. Great place overall. Should probably give it 5 stars, but something prevents me from doing so.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    40
    20
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rome, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pancake Overload!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The wait was a little on the long side (when isn't it at Keyes?) but worth it. The food is always good there & the staff always have a smile for us even though the place is always really busy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It might be best to think twice about this one.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Keyes Pancake House always looks so quaint and inviting but, unfortunately we picked a day in early October when everyone from the cook and kitchen help to the waitresses and the table cleaners were in a argumentative mood. Needless to say it was the customers who had to suffer the most. There was a lot of yelling and not much serving going on. The food was OK when it did come but, the wait was way too long. A few customers just got up and left. There are much better places to eat breakfast and lunch in Old Forge, NY and surrounding area. Judging from the other reviews, I guess that this one is off our list for good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good home fries, slow and unfriendly service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We waited 15 minutes to be sat once we sat the waitress said it would be 45 minutes to when food would come out. Usually breakfast is served pretty quickly so I think they were shot staffed in the kitchen. Our server was not friendly, I had to flag her down to get more coffee. The bathroom was disgusting. However the home fries were really good. Next time I visit Old Forge I will try a different place for breakfast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Pa.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great place to start the day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed in Old Forge for a wedding and went past this place on the way to our hotel. Located on the main drag, the red and white building and sign are hard to miss. We had breakfast there two days and found the food really good. My wife had chocolate chip pancakes that were huge and loaded with chocolate chips. I had the stuffed belgian waffle that turned heads when it came to the table. Both were good. There is something special about their batter that made the pancakes and waffles taste special. Coffee was freshly brewed and tasty. All they offer is whole milk, no skim or 2%. The next day we had omelets that hit the spot. The service was a little slow with a full house (Sunday morning), but the waitresses did hustle when they were busy. Get a booth along the front windows and watch the world go by while you eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keyes Pancake House & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Keyes Pancake House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keyes Pancake House & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.