We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss It!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phillips Diner

Phillips Diner
415 Ford St, Ogdensburg, NY 13669-1619
315-393-9738
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 34 Restaurants in Ogdensburg
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Amherstburg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place has been around more than 50 years. That is all that you really need to know! It's small and noisy, the servers know the menu and it is usually packed this place is about eclectic as it comes.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Traditional diner fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

While staying in Ogdensburg, we visited the Phillips Diner several times as it was the childhood hangout of my husband.

Each time we visited, seating was cramped. If you sit at a table, it is extremely difficult for someone to sit behind you at the next table. Service was slow, but the server was always very friendly; and you have to pay for soda refills (you are served a small glass of soda to begin with.)

The food options were limited for vegetarians - virtually non-existent; and the food ordered was always greasy. My husband is not vegetarian and ordered the more traditional meals like the turkey plate, which came completely covered by a dome of dark brown gravy, which was reminiscent of chocolate pudding - in appearance of consistency.

If greasy comfort food is your cup of tea, then Phillips is a perfect diner for you. Alas, we found it fell short of expectations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafargeville NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Phillips diner...a MEAL for your money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I again visited Phillips diner in Ogdensburg. I was very pleased last time so I thought I'd stop in again. The best part of my dining experience is the food. Absolutely delicious! Very very fast service and the prices are comparable to McDonald's, but instead of fast food, you get a meal! I haven't had the pleasure of having dinner there as of yet, but I will! The dinner prices are fantastic as well. Example...steak, choice of potato, salad, dinner roll and I believe vegetable...$11.50! Overall, good food, good service and great prices...makes me a happy person! Good job Phillips!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent 50's Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

It may not be a re-make of a 50's style diner because it IS one. Been in the same location for over 50 years, this little gem is always crowded & busy. Great breakfasts at very reasonable prices. Excellent Fish Fry served everyday, not just Fridays is better than most of the area's pricier restaurants. Service & prices are enough to bring you back again & again. Great place for a diner of it's type. Family oriented as well...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“vomit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

great if you like greasy meat. Toilet overflowed into the dining room while eating. Local hangout. Cheap and Greasy. I'd rather eat the science experiments growing in the back of my fridge at home.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillips Diner also viewed

Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
 
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
 

Been to Phillips Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phillips Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.