We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Gate Inn

White Gate Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogdensburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Gate Inn
Save
You added White Gate Inn to your Saves list
503 Caroline Street, Ogdensburg, NY 13669   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Ogdensburg B&B and Inns
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
“Cozy and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Had a two evening stay here and it was just lovely. The rooms are spacious and quiet, the beds are large and comfortable.Off street parking is available. Kathy and Brian are the perfect hosts. Breakfast wholesome hearty and delicious. Would stay here again and look forward to it in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
24
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Reasonable price, awesome breakfast, very welcoming, and an impressive old Victorian home.
Really enjoyed our overnight stay. Katie and Bill are wonderful hosts, with extensive knowledge of local dining options and attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My friend and I needed to get away and chose this B&B because of the reviews. A lovely experience with the hosts who were warm, helpful and informative. We chose the suite and it was perfect - great bed, free WiFi and peace and quiet. Off street parking. The breakfasts were great - imaginative - different every day and your never left the table hungry. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Chose the suite - for $25 extra it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We spent a weekend here and I didn't want to leave! The hosts are so friendly and welcoming, you feel right at home instantly. The breakfast is delicious! The beds were comfortable, the rooms clean, everything was great. We loved sitting in the living room with the working fireplace! The house is gorgeous. We will definitely return.

Also, we ate at Little Italy. It's quirky, but the food is excellent. You will not be disappointed!

PS: The hot water takes a couple of minutes to get up to the shower. Just turn it on and return in 2 minutes. It's not a big deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I had to travel to Ogdensburg for business and couldn't find a large hotel in the area. I decided on this B&B and I am sure glad I did! The hosts, Brian and Kathie, were wonderful and so attentive to my needs. They also had free wi-fi, so I was able to catch up on all my work while sitting in the gorgeous Master suite. I highly recommend the White Gate Inn for those traveling here or through the area. It is a lovely town and the people are so friendly. I wish I could come back more often!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Felt like home. Kathleen and Brian are the sweetest hosts. Breakfast was delicious and fresh. Room was huge, loved the windows, great lighting and original architecture.
The bathroom, mattress and the rugs need to be upgraded or changed( rusty faucets and drains, shower curtain dirty, shower mat gross, rugs smelt). Needs more of a regular thorough cleaning. Overall average compared to other B&B. The hosts were too nice to let them know. At least they try.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Late writing this review but this place is a must to stay at if you are staying in area.the host made us feel like it was our home. Spent 5 nights there and really enjoyed it, in fact hated to leave. The rooms were comfortable and the beds were great. The breakfast were great, all different and delicious. I'm an early riser and I really enjoyed the morning coffee and discussions with Kathie and Brian while they fixed the morning meal. Very gracious hosts. Quiet, clean convient, you can't ask for more and beats the heck out of any hotel room. Will definately stay here the next time we visit my mother.

Room Tip: At Brian's suggestion we took the room with the walk in shower (we both had minor medical proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Gate Inn

Address: 503 Caroline Street, Ogdensburg, NY 13669
Location: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Ogdensburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ogdensburg
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Gate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.