We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to eat anytime” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mitchell's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mitchell's Restaurant
2756 Long Beach Rd, Oceanside, NY 11572-2228
516-255-9544
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 75 Restaurants in Oceanside
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
South Weymouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“good place to eat anytime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

we had both breakfast and supper here and the experience was very good on both occasions. Food was good, if a bit pricey, the place was clean and the service excellent. Unlike some of the other reviewers, we did not find the staff rude, but friendly and courteous. Will definitely go back there!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    7
    14
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Too pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

...for diner food, but the ice cream dishes are really good and need to be shared

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Not very good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I ate there twice and the last time they served me a cold meal. When I complained they just rewarmed the same dish and gave it back to me

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Stay away Far away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Bad Food rude staff does not make for a good dinning experience. I will never be in that place again. To go along with that while we were there the owners were being questioned by the police. Stay away far away

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistent--At least”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Service is uniformly terrible. One time three members of wait staff sat in a booth and made a concerted effort not to make eye contact with us, rather than wait on us. We left and that was out last visit. Food is slightly better than the service--slightly. "Homemade" ice cream has ice crystals in it. Go to Krisch's in Massapequa for real home made ice cream and a real family restaurant atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell's Restaurant also viewed

Oceanside, Long Island
Oceanside, Long Island
 
Oceanside, Long Island
Oceanside, Long Island
 

Been to Mitchell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitchell's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.