We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming back?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seasons Bed and Breakfast

Seasons Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seasons Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Seasons Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
468 Denhoff Walk, Ocean Beach, Fire Island, NY 11770   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Ocean Beach B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Coming back?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

....Sure am! This was my second stay at Seasons with my boyfriend. We found it online last summer and enjoyed our stay immensely. We returned again and were happy to see that the first time was not "luck". Remember this is a quaint B&B. Small room but clean and you are only there to sleep. Breakfast is awesome! Fresh blueberry pancakes, frittata, fresh and ripe fruit salad, crossiants, bagels, cream cheese, granola, other cereals, coffee, tea etc...if you can't find something to eat then YOU have a problem not the B&B. Shared bathrooms but its kept clean and I've never had to wait to use it. The location is very close to the ferry, shops, restaurants and offers a lovely scenic walk to the beach. And I really liked that Seasons provides complimentary use of beach chairs and beach towels. Plus they allow use of their fridge (which we use to store our wine and some snacks we brought with us).Is it overpriced for 2-person weekend getaway? Some might say yes. But I guess it's "supply and demand". It's not too high that I wouldn't go back next summer (as I plan to). My only tiny issue was they collect a cash gratuity for the maid service when you check in. But they never serviced our room (we were there for 3 nights). Soooo maybe it was for cleaning the shared bathrooms (?)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Anyone that bashes Harvey's hotels are delusional. If you want the real fire island experience, you should stay at the seasons bed and breakfast or the blue waters hotel. Although you do not have a private bathroom in the Seasons, the staff make you feel like you're staying in their very own home. Their Sat and Sun breakfasts are homemade, delicious and make me feel like i'm waking up in my own bed at home. If you compare the prices of the Seasons to any other hotel in Ocean Beach, The Seasons is actually cheaper. If you want fancy/upscale stay at the Palms or go to the Hamptons. If you want comfort, a smile and a wonderful staff that looks out for you, stay at The Seasons or Blue Waters hotel. Additionally, the location cant be beat. It's right in town, a hop skip and jump from the ferry and just a 10 min walk to the beach. They provide all the right amenities, clean rooms, beach and bath towels, bikes, beach chairs and beach umbrellas. It's the only hotel I will stay at when I'm in Fire Island, and i've been going for about seven years now. I'm a native new yorker and although I like the finer things in life, I know that when I go to fire island, i'm going for a laid back, relaxed, carefree weekend. If you want something fancy, go to the Hamptons and leave the rest of us alone.

Room Tip: If you want a private bathroom stay at the blue waters. If you don't mind sharing a bathroom, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Right up front, the options for lodging in Ocean Beach on Fire Island are limited, and they are all very expensive. None of the rooms at The Seasons have a private bath. We had to walk through the living room and kitchen, to get to the bathroom. Our bedroom was right on the street, around the corner from the most popular bar in town. I slept with ear pliugs every night. There's no internet connectivity. There's a big screen TV but the DVD player wasn't working and no one could fix it.

Breakfast is delicious, home made by Jane every morning. The service staff are very nice, but the amenities are disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

I'm writing in defense of the Season's and its staff. We've stayed there for several years now, and the staff has ALWAYS been especially polite and accomodating, including Harvey, the owner. The rooms have ALWAYS been clean, the food is fantastic, and I have NO IDEA what is wrong with these people who panned the place.

This is a BEACH HOUSE, in a BEACH community, so there is some mild inebriation from time to time, but I've NEVER witnessed ANY drug abuse or anything other than MILD drinkers, ANYWHERE in town, including Season's. This is a family-oriented COMMUNITY.

I think that the only bugs involved are up somebody's caboose.

Room Tip: What, and risk not getting it myself? :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

This place is great! Pretty affordable for FI, very clean, staff was excellant - very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were really good and the B & B is conveniently located near the beach and the bars and restaurants. However, it isn't late at night. The only issue is that they advertise as having satelite TV which they do not and they should state on their website that their Sunday BBQ does not start until July.

  • Liked — very clean and great location.
  • Disliked — small, a bit cramped
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Seasons two years ago on July 4th and went back this year. The staff is so nice, the breakfasts every morning are great (especially the egg cassaroles and homemade granola!) and the vibe overall is warm, laid back, and relaxing. They give you beach towels, bikes, and great beach chairs. Plus the location is great, its right of the main street. The B&B itself isn't fancy but the vibe makes up for it. We'll definitely be back again!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

Should have seen the red flag when we were forced to pay cash! Unclean linens, ants in the bed, no window shades, leaky ceilings...the list of "ammenities" goes on and on. This place pretty much caters to pot smoking, sloppy, drunken 22 year olds. The owner is rude and beware of the $5 per person cleaning fee...its a scam, although they are happy to charge you, we were told they "do not provide this service on the weekends". Save your money for the Palms instead, I hear its fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Beach
0.1 mi away
The Palms Hotel Fire Island
The Palms Hotel Fire Island
#1 of 5 in Ocean Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clegg's Hotel
Clegg's Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ocean Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
9.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Islip MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Residence Inn Long Island Islip/Courthouse Complex
11.2 mi away
Marriott Islandia Long Island
9.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Islip MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seasons Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seasons Bed and Breakfast

Address: 468 Denhoff Walk, Ocean Beach, Fire Island, NY 11770
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Fire Island > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Beach
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Seasons Bed And Breakfast Fire Island/Ocean Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seasons Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.