We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very expsensive for what you get” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Seasons Bed and Breakfast

Seasons Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seasons Bed and Breakfast
468 Denhoff Walk, Ocean Beach, Fire Island, NY 11770   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Ocean Beach B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very expsensive for what you get”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Right up front, the options for lodging in Ocean Beach on Fire Island are limited, and they are all very expensive. None of the rooms at The Seasons have a private bath. We had to walk through the living room and kitchen, to get to the bathroom. Our bedroom was right on the street, around the corner from the most popular bar in town. I slept with ear pliugs every night. There's no internet connectivity. There's a big screen TV but the DVD player wasn't working and no one could fix it.

Breakfast is delicious, home made by Jane every morning. The service staff are very nice, but the amenities are disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

I'm writing in defense of the Season's and its staff. We've stayed there for several years now, and the staff has ALWAYS been especially polite and accomodating, including Harvey, the owner. The rooms have ALWAYS been clean, the food is fantastic, and I have NO IDEA what is wrong with these people who panned the place.

This is a BEACH HOUSE, in a BEACH community, so there is some mild inebriation from time to time, but I've NEVER witnessed ANY drug abuse or anything other than MILD drinkers, ANYWHERE in town, including Season's. This is a family-oriented COMMUNITY.

I think that the only bugs involved are up somebody's caboose.

Room Tip: What, and risk not getting it myself? :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

This place is great! Pretty affordable for FI, very clean, staff was excellant - very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were really good and the B & B is conveniently located near the beach and the bars and restaurants. However, it isn't late at night. The only issue is that they advertise as having satelite TV which they do not and they should state on their website that their Sunday BBQ does not start until July.

  • Liked — very clean and great location.
  • Disliked — small, a bit cramped
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Seasons two years ago on July 4th and went back this year. The staff is so nice, the breakfasts every morning are great (especially the egg cassaroles and homemade granola!) and the vibe overall is warm, laid back, and relaxing. They give you beach towels, bikes, and great beach chairs. Plus the location is great, its right of the main street. The B&B itself isn't fancy but the vibe makes up for it. We'll definitely be back again!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

Should have seen the red flag when we were forced to pay cash! Unclean linens, ants in the bed, no window shades, leaky ceilings...the list of "ammenities" goes on and on. This place pretty much caters to pot smoking, sloppy, drunken 22 year olds. The owner is rude and beware of the $5 per person cleaning fee...its a scam, although they are happy to charge you, we were told they "do not provide this service on the weekends". Save your money for the Palms instead, I hear its fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean Beach hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2006

Please do not give this establishment your business.
Our "cottage" was a smelly, glorified tool shed outfitted with a broken A/C, a moldy, crumbling bathroom, cobwebs and windows that were painted shut.
All that for the obscene price of $150 a night (off season, weekday)! I can't even imagine what they charge for a weekend during peak season.
Do yourself a favor and rent a room at the Palms, which is around the corner. (we are in NO WAY affiliated with either place). We did. It was clean, air-conditioned and had plenty of beach chairs and bicycles. The room was tiny but clean and pretty (ikea!) with four spotless bathrooms down the hall. They even had flat-screen TVs mounted on the wall. While staying there we overheard a conversation from another family that defected from The Bay House - apartment/condos owned by the same people. They left after a shower head fell on one of them while attempting to use the facilities. Who needs that kind of BS when you are spending your hard-earned $ to go on a much-needed vacation?
Once again, avoid The Seasons/Bay House at all costs. I've stayed in econo-lodges that were homier.
And cleaner.
Yuck.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york new york
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2004

This is the little gem of Fire Island. It is located in Ocean Beach, near plenty of restaurants, shops, and near the ferry. The staff will gladly meet you at the boat to help with your bags. Weekends include a delicious bruch and and afternoon tea which is actually a barbeque and included in weekend rates. The staff is super. Rooms have air conditioning and it is just a short walk to the beach. They will let you borrow beach chairs and have bikes on hand should you want to get a little exerecise.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seasons Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seasons Bed and Breakfast

Address: 468 Denhoff Walk, Ocean Beach, Fire Island, NY 11770
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Fire Island > Ocean Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Beach
Also Known As:
Seasons Bed And Breakfast Fire Island/Ocean Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seasons Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Seasons Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list