We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in the Palms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel Fire Island

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Palms Hotel Fire Island
Save
You added The Palms Hotel Fire Island to your Saves list
168 Cottage Walk, Ocean Beach, Fire Island, NY 11770-0431   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ocean Beach
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed in the Palms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We've been going to Fire Island for years, and were excited about the possibility of a more upscale hotel. The Palms is NOT that place. The service was very poor - accented by people who didn't want to help with bicycles, carry luggage, or provide towels. We stayed in the Chelsea Cottage. There was a speaker attached to the outside wall that played dance/techno/hip-hop all day (from 8 am!) preventing anyone from sleeping in. All of the rooms on one side of the building had no privacy because they faced the courtyard. There was no wireless internet in our room, though it was promised. At $800/night, we ought to have internet. A broken coffee table, chair with a ripped bottom, and air conditioners that sounded like cement mixers topped it off. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the courtyard if you don't want people looking in your room day and night. Sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    48
    23
    19
    21
See reviews for
66
106
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Good location, but much too expensive for inferior property and cramped room. No phone in the room, no closet, bedside table or reading lamp; there was no hot water in the shower;. One of the beds made an extremely loud creaking sound whenever we sat or lay down; the windows faced other buildings and windows that were about 3 feet away; The young staff members were very solicitous and courteous, but they couldn’t improve the poor quality of the facilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I love the beach and the whole Fire Island experience. However, The Palms Hotel is overpriced and not worth the stay there. At $440 per night the bungalow room couldn't be smaller with neither a closet or places to hang any clothes properly. At night the lights from the building made you feel like you were sleeping on a broadway stage. There should be shade on the windows that keep the light out. The bathroom has nowhere to keep toiletries. I don't think my toothbrush should go on the toilet tank as this was the only spot to put anything. No glasses, no tissues no shelves for anything. Also, how about a beach print on the wall instead of a female in a corset. I hated looking at that all day. Not impressed at all with this hotel.
So I may love Fire Island but next time I'll stay in a rental home which I'm sure may be more but ill have a place to hang my clothes!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Islip, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had a fantastic time at the Palm. I had a wedding at the beach at Maguire's food was amazing !!!
let me tell you about the staff at the Palm Karley made all my reservation got me one of the most beautiful rooms. I hosted a little happy hour before wedding in the courtyard Bobby ken mike Ashley Kerry Daniela Ali Kandell all helped me get it together. I had awesome time I cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Fire Island is a great place to go... no cars, great beach and the Palms is the place to go... Fairly new...the place is very clean, A/C works great and the service here is very accomodating.... On the day you leave, they will store your stuff and you can spend the rest of the day there, and they provide showers and all the chairs, etc for the beach... This is a good one.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I was so looking forward to spending Labor Day weekend at The Palms. We knew the check in time was 4 so we planned on arriving early and having our bags held while we got a bite to eat. We came back to the lobby at 4 and a very rude employee old is our room was not ready because towels were not available. I told her I don't care about towels in would like to go to my room to freshen up. She then started on a rant about how they are having a bad day and they would phone me when my room is ready. No offer of a free cocktail or apology. I felt like telling her I didn't give a crap about the hotel having a bad day when I'm spending $460 a night but I refrained. 15 minutes later we were told our room assignment. Holy sh_t I couldn't believe there's no closet. I wanted to hang a few things and there are no closets in the bungalows first floor. I've stayed in hostels before that were more luxurious. And the cake topper was the blood and hair on my pillow. Thanks palms for a very unhygienic and disappointing stay. I'm so grossed out!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My girlfriends and I only stayed one night here this year. It certainly isn't inexpensive but if you're willing or able this would be the best place to stay.

The rooms are great! It's comfortable, the kitchen is really nice. The bedrooms themselves are the best. Beds and pillows are so comfy. I had an awesome night's sleep.

The bicycles come with your stay here and we definitely enjoyed that a lot. They don't have a pool but its close to the beach. It's in the heart of Ocean Beach so you won't need to take a bike anywhere or walk far. The boys that help out with your baggage are so helpful. Front desk could use a little more happy juice.

I'm probably never staying anywhere else ever again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms Hotel Fire Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel Fire Island

Address: 168 Cottage Walk, Ocean Beach, Fire Island, NY 11770-0431
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Fire Island > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ocean Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms is a boutique hotel in Ocean Beach on Fire Island which offers luxurious accommodations in a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. Unlike typical hotels on Fire Island, the Palms distinguishes itself as having the finest amenities with the highest standard of customer service. Designed by renowned artist, David Byer-Tyre, the Palms prides itself as going a step beyond the expected. Every room is equipped with a flat screen TV, satellite access, Wi-Fi, iPod Docking Stations, a refrigerator, and luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets for your comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Ocean Beach
The Palms Hotel Fire Island Ocean Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel Fire Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.