We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent get-away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel Fire Island

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Palms Hotel Fire Island
Save
You added The Palms Hotel Fire Island to your Saves list
168 Cottage Walk, Ocean Beach, Fire Island, NY 11770-0431   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ocean Beach
Northport, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent get-away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My girlfriends and I have an annual get-away weekend at The Palms Hotel. Our suite was beautifully decorated and spacious. The beds were amazingly comfortable. The hotel staff were so accommodating and friendly. They couldn't do enough for us. My favorite area of the hotel is the courtyard patio. A very relaxing place to read, have a cocktail or catch some sun. So looking forward to returning next year!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    48
    23
    19
    21
See reviews for
66
106
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I had weekend getaway to Fire Island and was very impressed with the Palms. It was our weekend away as working Mom's and we were treated with class! The hotel rooms are so beautiful! The decor is beautiful! The rooms are kept so clean and very modern. Check in was quick and everyone was so polite and kind! The service was excellent. I would certainly recommend this place. Perfect for any occasion with your spouse, family or friends!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

What an amazing atmosphere, decadent in class and luxury, can't wait to stay again. The hotel features clean amenities and a helpful staff, every year this place seems to become more enhanced and glamorous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I am totally disappointed with my recent stay at the Palms... Right from the start the experience was poor and it just went downhill... Check in was long and the staff at the front desk was immature and lacking total common sense and customer service skills. Several people ahead of us were complaining. The phone was ringing off the hook with other guests complaining ( why can we hear messages being left on an answering machine ?) When we got to our room we found an extremely small room without closets and phone. A total misrepresentation of what was described on the web site.

The room was dirty with floors full of sand and the bed linens were full of hair.... The TV was not working and eventually when someone came to "help" us they had an attitude. No apology was given instead we were looked at like we were crazy for expecting a clean bed and were told it was just hair!!!

This was typical of the 3 days we were there. We found the staff to be immature and completely clueless about what customer service is.

Needless to say I will never recommend nor will I ever stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west babylon
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Took a weekend getaway to Fire Island and was very pleased with the Palms. Check in was quick and easy. The service was excellent. Everyone working was friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Their restaurant, CJ's was the same. Top service and delicious food. The only negative-and it doesn't really impact much- was the lack of a space to hang your clothes. I would certainly recommend this place

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Palm hotel fire island is an upscale hotel and bungalow suite in an area that has lacked many upscale amenities. It is still small and a bit claustrophobic but most hotels and accommodations on this island are on the small side. But you are a 2-3 minute walk to the beach and the ocean beach main area is replete with shops and restaurants that are basically in the mid range in terms of food quality. The prices are about 20 to 30% higher than the mainland but everything needs to be carted in so that makes sense.

The residents and owners are all very friendly and open to talking about the island and their love for the community there. Hurricane sandy really took a toll on this island but everybody is rebuilding and the island looks really good now.

The vibe is very different from the Hamptons. Much more laid back and very diverse.

The palm hotel has 3 distinct properties. The main hotel is right in the center and the bungalows are on one end and the bay view property is on the other end. It sounds far but they are all a few minutes from each other. The bay-view property has a very nice beach area with sofas and grills where you can relax and watch amazing sunsets. They also have a restaurant called CJs where they had an unbelievable lobster special for $ 12.95!

The staff is very friendly and ready to do whatever it takes to make your stay a memorable one. This was our first time to fire island but we would most certainly consider coming back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York CIty
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Terrible night. The outdoor light shines in the room and they don't have black out drapes. The room was so small you had to walk sideways. When we mentioned how terrible it was to the check-out clerk, she said, "Yeah, we get a lot of complaints."

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms Hotel Fire Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel Fire Island

Address: 168 Cottage Walk, Ocean Beach, Fire Island, NY 11770-0431
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Fire Island > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ocean Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms is a boutique hotel in Ocean Beach on Fire Island which offers luxurious accommodations in a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. Unlike typical hotels on Fire Island, the Palms distinguishes itself as having the finest amenities with the highest standard of customer service. Designed by renowned artist, David Byer-Tyre, the Palms prides itself as going a step beyond the expected. Every room is equipped with a flat screen TV, satellite access, Wi-Fi, iPod Docking Stations, a refrigerator, and luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets for your comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Ocean Beach
The Palms Hotel Fire Island Ocean Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel Fire Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.