We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Honeymooner's Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel Fire Island

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Palms Hotel Fire Island
Save Saved
You added The Palms Hotel Fire Island to your Saves list
168 Cottage Walk, Ocean Beach, Fire Island, NY 11770-0431   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Ocean Beach
West Islip, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Honeymooner's Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was the best weekend that we have spent in a long time. Our stay at The Palms was low key and relaxing but still offered all the exciting activities in Ocean Beach. We went for one of our honeymoons and were quite delighted of the ambiance. The rooms were very stylish and clean which is something that is important to us. We were also always accommodated by the staff and they always let us know where the best places to go on the island . In all, it was a very fun weekend and it was money well spent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    47
    21
    19
    21
See reviews for
66
105
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wantagh, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the palms hotel and cant wait to return next year. From the time you step off the ferry and you are immediately greated by the staff to help you with your luggage, we knew we were in good hands. The roms are bright and clean, and the staff is the best. Thanks for everything palms!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Islip, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

After hearing about the joys of fire island for many years, it was time to stop ignoring the paradise in our own backyard! Having only traveled there for the day via the fire island ferry (fireislandferries.com) we spent a day scouting ocean beach for our ideal property. Though there are a few options at ocean beach, there was only one with multiple suites (perfect for a big family), free bicycle wagon and umbrella rentals (a necessity for the beach), and its own private beach (to enjoy a nice relaxing sunset on luxury daybeds and beach couches!)

The suites were all b-e-autiful, and we eventually decided the Tribeca suite was the place to be (a private bayside beach literally outside your back door!) All hotel guests have access to this beach allowing for a fun care-free atmosphere.

The staff was courteous and catered to our every need, supplying us with extra towels and beach supplies! Young and full of energy, a perfect complement to this upbeat vacation destination!

Hoping to make it an annual tradition!

Room Tip: Looking for some good food? Ask any of the front desk staff, as locals they know where to find the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Palms transcends the Fire Island vacationing experience. Its crisp, well-furnished rooms, suites, and cottages can accommodate any guest or group seeking to indulge in everything Ocean Beach has to offer. The young, inviting staff provides optimal service, whether it be making a reservation with the hotel's private masseuse, delivering a complimentary chilled bottle of champagne to lovebird guests, or hosting a candlelit dinner on the hotel's bay-front beach. Anyone familiar with the casual atmosphere of Fire Island and commercial nightlife of bustling Ocean Beach is sure to be impressed by The Palms' charm. The hotel captures the juxtaposed essence of Ocean Beach with a nuanced approach: the perfect balance of luxury and relaxation. Recommended to all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Everything from the wagon picking us up at the ferry, the top notch service from their staff, to the amazing rooms.. I couldn't have asked for a better weekend away. I was recommended from a friend who also had a fantastic stay and took their advice. I checked out some other hotels and read some pretty horrific things. In my opinion the prices are in accordance to their service and amenities (bikes, wagons, beach towels..) and it would be strange of they were any lower. They made me feel like I was a part of their family and I couldn't be more grateful. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

They sold us an apartment suite for more than 900 dollars for one night, and it's not even large, or luxury, just a plain old dinky one-bedroom apartment, away from their main facilities. It was crazy expensive. Not much service...
Can you believe that price? It was full on the island that night that's why we had no choice and we decided to share it among 4 people (by the way the space was too tight for 4).
Never going back there. If I go back on the island, I'll make sure to reserve a cheaper room at a different hotel well in advance.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main hotel area might be ok, but if you can afford to stay at a place like this go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I paid $700 for two nights for a room with no closet, no hangers, no hooks in bathroom for wet towels, no drinking glass in bathroom, no room phone and no wi-fi which even though advertised apparently rarely works. And never with Apple or Mac products. I was charged $200 more than another wedding guest though we both requested the pre-arranged wedding rate.

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palms Hotel Fire Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel Fire Island

Address: 168 Cottage Walk, Ocean Beach, Fire Island, NY 11770-0431
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Fire Island > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Ocean Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms is a boutique hotel in Ocean Beach on Fire Island which offers luxurious accommodations in a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. Unlike typical hotels on Fire Island, the Palms distinguishes itself as having the finest amenities with the highest standard of customer service. Designed by renowned artist, David Byer-Tyre, the Palms prides itself as going a step beyond the expected. Every room is equipped with a flat screen TV, satellite access, Wi-Fi, iPod Docking Stations, a refrigerator, and luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets for your comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Ocean Beach
The Palms Hotel Fire Island Ocean Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel Fire Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.