We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the seafood” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lobster House

Lobster House
Main Street, Norwood, NY 13668
(315) 353-2366
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Norwood
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Pasta
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Skip the seafood”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Ate here with 4 generations of family. The service was rather good and the portions are large (too large in my opinion). I had a seafood Alfredo. It was fine but nothing special. One of my son's had a mixed seafood platter and the scallops tasted like they had been rinsed with bleach. The shrimp scampi was not particularly taste. I love good fresh seafood and this was definitely not what I was looking for. It's also why we rarely come to this restraunt... I think you're better off going to another local place that offers a more limited, but better tasting seafood option.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    18
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“All things considered, Good Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Went to the Lobster House while on a recruiting trip to near by Clarkson University. Given the area (pretty remote) and the local population base this restaurant was pretty good. The food was decent, the service was good, the menu was pretty large, and overall the place was nice. Was it the best mean ever? NO. Was it an good meal at a decent price. YES

I would go again if in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had heard good things so took a trip out there to check it out. We were VERY disappointed! The waiter was so soft spoken we could hardly understand him. We could overlooked that but the food was just not very good! Some was cold, some burnt, some just not good tasting. One person ordered a steak and he was pretty happy but those of us with seafood and/or pasta were really not satisfied. We really wanted to enjoy this place but we won't go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“See (Sea)Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

You can feel right at home with Seafood at the Lobster House... miles from the ocean. We have eaten there a number of times over the years and the quality and service remains very fine. The place is always crowded, so we like to come in fairly late in the evening. The service has always been prompt and spot on. I think that shows good training by management. I think that it might not be as great as a place along the coast, but if you are looking for good food in this area, you won't miss out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

surprisely good cooking. I like it more then Red Lobster. Good choice for casual dinner. Not sure if they do delivery.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster House also viewed

Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Norwood, St. Lawrence County
 

Been to Lobster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.