We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest place to stay in the area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fred's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fred's Inn to your Saves list
Fred's Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Route 12 South, Norwich, NY   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Norwich B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nicest place to stay in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

What a nice place to stay! It was clean, there is a fridge and mircrowave in the room!. The room was spotless, parking was extremely convient, even the buffet was great.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
11
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We were visiting an old friend of my husband's. The Super 8 was full and the other area motels either got bad reviews or there were no reviews so we took a chance on Fred's Inn which had several good reviews. I'm sorry that we didn't have time to sample the restaurant but my husband's friend cooked for us and we were leaving to visit him again before the Sunday buffet started. The room was clean. There were several extra pillows in the drawers. There was a small fridge and a microwave and coffee maker. The room was big enough to have a separate couch so I didn't feel claustrophobic. Iron and ironing board were provided. Free Wifi was nice even though I just brought my Ipod. I could pick up my email. Hairdryer was a little wimpy so I'm glad I brought my own. Our only complaint was some kind of dripping sound that woke us up several times. It seemed like the air conditioner from the floor above was dripping on the one in our room.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

My husband (who was born in Norwich) and I visit his family as often as we can during the summer months and always stay at Fred's. The rooms are large, beautifully decorated, CLEAN, big bathroom, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Food at the restaurant is fantastic. We've had the best marinated steak we've ever eaten. The staff.....well, we can't say enough good things about them. Very personable, will go out of their way to make it the best stay you've ever had. We have stayed at almost every other hotel in Norwich (years ago) and once we can to Fred's, there is no other place for us to stay. They're like family now. We love it!!!!! Doug & Kath from Delaware State

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Nice staff. Food was good. Wait staff was so-so. Bathroom was clean. Beds were a little on the campy side....not very good.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

While on business this weekend in Norwich & Binghamton, NY area we stayed at Fred's Restaurant & INN in Norwich, for one night. Our first notion was to choose a higher priced "name brand" hotel in that area. But Fred's location was right, so we booked the room. Because the deal was a "no cancellation allowed at this hotel" --for the summer weekends they told us-- we were very skeptical of what we would find upon our arrival. To our surprise, the room was immaculate, clean as a whistle. No odors, no bugs, no complaints . . . except that the lighting in the bedroom room could use some improvement. There was a microwave and refrigerator in the room, an unexpected ammenity, and last but not least . . . a very, very clean well-lighted, large bathroom. We would return to this hotel. I must add that the Howard Johnson's hotel in Norwich also had a "no cancel policy" for this weekend.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2004

Not much for the business traveler in the Norwich NY area. We stayed at Fred's Inn for 4 nights. Clean, large rooms, excellent service and the food is the best in town. We met others staying in nearby hotels who came to Fred's to eat.
If I must reurn, I'll stay at Fred's Inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fred's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fred's Inn

Address: Route 12 South, Norwich, NY
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fred's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Fred's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fred`s Hotel Norwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fred's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.