We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let the Child in You Ride a Real Carousel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Herschell Carrousel Factory Museum

Herschell Carrousel Factory Museum
180 Thompson Street, North Tonawanda, NY 14120
716 693 1885
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Special-interest museum that features the historical and elaborate Herschell carousels.
VA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Let the Child in You Ride a Real Carousel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stopped into the Carrousel museum to ride the old carrousel with a Wurlitzer organ - both of us grew up with visits to beach towns on the east coast with old fashioned carrousels. The 6 dollar entry fee includes 1 free ride on the carrousel, with each additional ride 50 cents. The fee also includes a self guided tour of the workshops where the horses and animals were carved, and a display of unique carrousel animals. On certain days, there are several other rides available at the museum from old amusement parks, but we did not visit on one of those days.

The carrousel was beautiful and the horses were beautifully maintained. We both enjoyed our ride so much, that we opted to pay for a second round. you can see the organ as you go around, and it is unlike anything I have ever seen - little organ pipes, some sort of brass instrument on the side and a drum on top. The operator of the ride may have been as old as the carrousel and added to the ambiance.
We enjoyed the display of older kiddie rides, old bumper cars from the 50s and fighter pilot rides like the one I grew up on. The display of carrousel animals had very unusual animals that I have never seen on any ride. The workshop had great videos that showed the craftsmen at work on the horses at each stage of the carving and painting. They even have a workshop for folks who have some carving experience, and you can see their ongoing projects.

This was a fun walk down memory lane, and for that purpose, well worth the entry fee. If you are just looking for a carrousel ride for the kids, it may not be worth it unless the kids are old enough to appreciate the craftsmanship that went into making these works of art and entertainment.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Tonawanda, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Terrible customer relations:”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Went here on 7/16/14 because of a newspaper ran add reflecting free admission for kids. Not only were we denied the free admittence, the employees were very quick to treat us as if we were free loaders for even suggesting that free admittence was advertised. We (I say "we" because there was another couple with child there for the same reason) then asked for a manager to contact us back & what we got was a very ignorant man who not only called us liars, but literally dared us to come down to show him proof! Pretty much furthering his accusation that we were liars! As we were highly affended by this so-called-manager we opted not to return, but we have posted the newspaper ad reflecting the TRUTH.

Bottom line is this....This landmark is operated by mostly volunteers who treat there customers just like any employee not being paid for there work would, without any care or accountability. To pay any patronage to such a shottedly ran business is doing everyone an injustice as I am sure I am not the 1st person to be treated so terribly without any worry of consequences from the people running this place.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting place to visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Nice place to when in Buffalo area. See old fashioned carrousel animals and how they're made. Ride on 100 yr. old carrousel included in admission. Several rides for younger kids. INTERESTING!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Ny Area
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
188 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“a nice quirky kind of place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

of course there is a true history here,of the manufacturing of wonderful carrousels...and surprisingly, within blocks of here, also were 5 music manufacturers(Wurlitzer, the biggest)...unreal nice 1916 carousel here to ride(included with admission price) and wonderful exhibits and photos...a small gift shop too,...within a neighborhood in North Tonawanda....don't miss it if in this area....

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooperstown, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Better for families with smaller kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This beautiful museum is better suited for families with younger kids. My 8 and 10 year olds lasted about 15 minutes.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herschell Carrousel Factory Museum also viewed

 

Been to Herschell Carrousel Factory Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herschell Carrousel Factory Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.