We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1936 Log Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garnet Hill Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Garnet Hill Lodge to your Saves list
Garnet Hill Lodge
39 Garnet Hill Rd, North River, NY 12856   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 North River B&B and Inns
Rochester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“1936 Log Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a wonderful lodge that is about 4.7 miles up and around an Adirondack "mountain" off of NYS Rte 28 in North River,NY. It is near Gore Mtn and North Creek,NY. It is a bit on the pricey side, but it includes whatever you want for breakfast, which was very good. Their motto is "unplug and recharge" and thus there are no TVs or phones in the rooms. There is a TV and phone available for your use in the family room. They have a billiard room, table tennis room, canoes, kayaks, paddle boats all included for your use. We took a balcony room, which was worth the little extra, as it had a wonderful view of 13th lake, backed up by a mountain range where the sun set. The lack of area lights provides a wonderful night sky with the stars looking like shining diamonds. The room was plenty spacious and the bed very comfortable. There is also a Garnet mine just down the hill a bit that you can visit in the summer season, but in Sept it is only open to visitors on weekends. It is a x-country ski & snowshoe center with downhill skiing just a few miles away at Gore Mtn. There are also many mountain bike & hiking trails right there. Not the easiest to get to but well worth it.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have a GREAT view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Garnet Hill Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Donald,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and helpful tips about our lodge. We truly appreciate it and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Don Preuninger
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    27
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
63
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

So isolated! A blessing or a curse? For us it was a curse as we raced back down the dirt road to travel a good hour of back roads at dusk running the risk of deer collisions. The Lodge could appeal but didn't have chance for food- just wanted over $200 room refund! --As it was "last room available"; It was dumpy, dark, very outdated, run-down and certainly looked unclean-rather frighteningly so. Had been on travel over a week throughout New England without one complaint BUT THIS WAS A POOR EXCUSE FOR COMFORT AT LUXURY PRICE!
I'm not one to cast out opinions but in the name of "business", I'm speaking up.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Garnet Hill Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Mishacat,

Ouch! That hurts!
While we truly wish for every one of our guests to be as pleased and satisfied as 99.9% of them are, we have to acknowledge that our Adirondack Resort Lodge is not for everybody. We do hope that prospective guests will look over our web site or call and ask questions about us before booking a room.

But, when we took your frantic cell phone call to make a last minute reservation for our one remaining room, we were only trying to be helpful. Like many of our guests who happen upon us in one way or another, we thought that you might fall in love with the peace and quiet, the natural surroundings, the traditional Adirondack decor, the fresh, homemade meals and other amenities too numerous to list here.

So I apologize that our lodge was not your cup of tea and I'm glad that you were given a full refund for your troubles and that you were able to find lodging elsewhere. We are off the beaten path; there is wildlife of many kinds around us; we are not a modern hotel chain. Our lodge is a log building that is 76 years old and offers an experience that transcends the everyday hotel and motel chains that are so common and ordinary today. It is well staffed and well taken care of and we have continually made updates and improvements over the 20 months of our ownership and that will continue unabated.

So I would like clarify to all the wonderful readers of TripAdvisor that Garnet Hill Lodge is not a run-of-the-mill hotel. It has a great deal to offer and provides an experience that our guests truly treasure for a lifetime.

And we certainly hope that we can always provide a room at the last minute to any traveler in need.

Thank you,
Don Preuninger,
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilderland, New York
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The lodge is multiple buildings, spread out a bit. We stayed in the tea house, in a top floor room with a king sized bed and a single bed. Very quiet, peaceful, and comfortable. You can walk or drive uphill to the main lodge and restaurant. The main lodge overlooks the lake at a distance. To get to the lake, it would be a long walk so you'll probably drive down to the private dock area. The room rate is affordable considering it includes an incredible free breakfast and free use of the boats at the dock for as long as you want, including the day you check out. We used a two person kayak for a two-hour exploration of the entire length of the lake. Got up close to a loon and heron. Very beautiful and relaxing, plus great exercise. No competition from noisy motor boats. Colors should be spectacular in the fall. Lodge has special events that are worth finding out about. We used the lodge computer for internet because our cell phones were not getting a signal. Dinner in lodge also great, although separate charge. Ping pong tables, games, foosball table, TV room, all good for family/group relaxing in lodge. Far enough away from town to be a complete getaway, so plan on eating at the lodge dining room rather than driving into town.

Room Tip: top room of tea house (I think it was #32) was good, and didn't have any of the problems mention...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Garnet Hill Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear LMomNY,

Thank you very much for your informative and complimentary review of Garnet Hill Lodge. Your observations are helpful and give a very good idea of what the lodge is like for just about everybody who stays with us.

Thank you again,
Don Preuninger
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The availability of mountain bikes, kayaks, canoeing, trails, beach, hiking trails, indoor ping pong, pool table etc were all great. The views from the lodge were awesome. Definitely hike to the Hooper garnet mine on the property- collect real pieces of garnet! Nice bonfires at night with smores available from the lodge. Food was good at the lodge restaurant. My two kids, ages 8 and 6 had a blast.

The negatives all involved the room. Although very spacious, it needs significant improvements. There was mold all along the bottom of the shower curtain and in the grout. The room ceiling tiles were sagging in areas but looked clean. Not as nice as I expected. We are frequent travelers and use trip advisor to help guide us. Hope this was helpful to you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Garnet Hill Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear LoveParis,

Thank you so much for your nice review of Garnet Hill Lodge. I'm glad you had such a great time with all the activities and extras that we provide. As for the improvements that are needed, we are totally with you on that as well. As owners for the last 20 months, we have worked very hard to improve the interior and exterior features of the Log House, Birches, Tea House and even the Ski Shop. Clearly we have not accomplished all that we need to as of yet. But it is a process that will continue as long as we are owners to make the lodge better and better each season. By next summer I'm confident that you will notice many significant improvements and renovations.

Thanks again,
Don Preuninger
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Garnet Hill is a rustic Adirondack lodge overlooking Thirteenth Lake. Our friends, my husband and I stayed in the Tea House, a 4 room cabin just a short walk or drive from the main Lodge. The setting was perfect- surrounded by trees, and afforded us great privacy. The room itself was sparsely furnished in rustic Adirondack style, which was fine. However, there was only 1 mirror in the room, mounted high over the bathroom sink. Being a petite woman, I couldn't see beyond my forehead, ( not exactly conducive to good grooming). Also, during our several night stay, housekeeping changed the bedding only once, and did not replenish soap, tissues or other toiletries throughout our stay. A little more attention to the rooms would definately bring the resort to an overall rating of five for me .
The Lodge itself is really cozy with a magnificent view of Thirteenth Lake. Lovely music is piped in and on Saturday night, Don, one of the owners , provides nice piano music . The staff is friendly and helpful . Breakfasts ,( included in your stay) are full and varied, served on the enclosed porch overlooking the Lake. Dinner is served in the dining room and a limited menu is available in the Pub nightly.
The trails surrounding the property are great for hiking, ' must be amazing for x-country in the winter. Some chairs and plenty of canoes, kayaks, & rowboats are available down at the Lake. Overall, this is a relaxing and comfortable place for the outdoor lover, providing easy access for adventure, or just doing not much of anything.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My family was assigned to Room 33 in the Teahouse. Upon entering, we were met with the smell of a musty basement. A dehumidifier was humming in the corner. The bedspread on the king bed felt unclean. The "jacuzzi" sits in a windowless, uninviting room (unfinished wood trim) which contains a door marked "employees only". That door happened to be open, and, indeed revealed a dusty old basement. A tiny adjoining bathroom is also windowless. It was difficult to locate our room number, because it is barely visible above the door. Also of note, a large beam is holding up one of the porches on one side of the building.

I chose Garnet HIll because of the fabulous words written by the many reviewers. Not only was this lodge disappointing, but the fact that people obviously write misleading reviews is a huge disservice to other people and to the credibility of Trip Advisor.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Garnet Hill Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear artmec61,

Thank you for your forthright criticism of Garnet Hill Lodge. I apologize that your choice of a pet friendly room did not meet your expectations for our rustic Adirondack style lodge. We have made great effort to factually represent all of our rooms with current photos on our website and most guests feel we undersell the features. While the items you mention don't seem critical enough to warrant such a low opinion of your overall stay, we certainly take them very seriously. Although we're unable to relocate the Mechanical Room, we will label it as such for clarity. The popularity of the Tea House pet friendly rooms may be a reason why you sensed a bit of a mustiness in the room and is why we installed the high-efficiency dehumidifier/air cleaners in these rooms. The pet fee charged is in part for the additional time involved in changing out and fully laundering all bedding between guests (which includes the comforters) and a thorough cleaning & freshening of all surfaces. Even with this effort, we recognize that at times it may not be possible to get 100% of a dog's odor out of a room in a 4 hour time window from check-out to check-in...perhaps something other dog owners are able to over-look for the ability to have their "best friend" accompany them on vacation.

We have owned the lodge for 20 months and are continually working to refurbish and renovate the rooms, buildings and grounds. As for the railings outside, you probably noticed the new twig-work we are replacing the old railing with to create a comfortable deck space for our Tea House guests, that work will continue to completion before winter. As for your criticism of TripAdvisor and the reviews of our other guests, I can only leave it to the reader to draw their own conclusions.

Thank you again for your feedback,
Don Preuninger
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was a really lovely place. There was an air of generosity throughout. We really enjoyed taking the mountain bikes on the well kept trails. The beach on 13th lake was immaculate, beautiful and very child friendly, though a bit crowded at times. Mondays, apparently, are the quietest days at the beach. Don't miss taking a quiet canoe ride on that gorgeous lake. The hike to the old garnet mine was also great. The breakfasts, included in the room price, were generous and delicious (one day we got wild blueberry pancakes). The restaurant was good overall. The town of North River, close by, was charming and also had some nice restaurants. The Owners were friendly, available and seemed very invested in our enjoyable stay. We will definitely be returning here. There is no fitness center persay, but we all got so much exercise here using the bikes, swimming and hiking.

Room Tip: The Tea House was less charming than the lodge, but perhaps better for families. The balcony rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Garnet Hill Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Jules648,

We appreciate your glowing review of Garnet Hill Lodge and the amenities included in your stay. Your observations and tips are very helpful and give a good sense of what things are like here. We will continue to refurbish and improve the "charm" of the Tea House rooms and hope to host you again soon!

Thanks again,
Don Preuninger,
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garnet Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnet Hill Lodge

Address: 39 Garnet Hill Rd, North River, NY 12856
Location: United States > New York > North River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in North River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garnet Hill Lodge is a 4 season lodge and resort in the central Adirondacks. Situated on a gentle hill overlooking pristine Thirteenth Lake, Garnet Hill Lodge offers a storybook Adirondack setting for individuals, couples, and families to escape from the hectic pace of everyday life and surround themselves with the serenity of nature. Our guests can choose to actively engage in hiking, mountain biking, swimming, paddling a kayak/canoe... Or just settle into an Adirondack chair on the expansive front lawn with a good book if preferred. Winter opens up 50k of beautifully groomed cross-country ski trails, countless miles of back-country and snowshoe trails. As well as 15 minutes to downhill skiing at Gore Mountain. Our main Log House Lodge is reminiscent of an Adirondack Great Camp. The original structure was built in 1936 and offers a casual, friendly atmosphere with Bed and Breakfast guest service. Our location provides convenient access to many vacation activities, but best of all, it is a unique opportunity for couples and families to reconnect over wholesome outdoor activities. Our full service restaurant is open to the public and nourishes all our guests with freshly prepared, hearty lodge meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Garnet Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnet Hill Hotel North River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garnet Hill Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.