We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property-inside and out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedarwood B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedarwood B&B
Save
You added Cedarwood B&B to your Saves list
140 School House Road, North River, NY 12856   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 North River B&B and Inns
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful property-inside and out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Great spot to launch an outdoor adventure. We really enjoyed our one night stay here and would happily return when back in beautiful North River. We had a blast exploring the property, sampling the owner's home grown goodness and kicking back. Great dining options nearby. Look forward a return visit in the future. Cheers!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Simply lovely - gracious hosts, yummy breakfast, and good nights sleep! Charming retreat from Manhattan's digital mayhem.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Cedarwood is only slightly off the beaten path—easy to find and get to, yet with amazing peace and quiet. Hiking, cross-country skiing and snow-showing are literally out the back door, as well as a variety of other activities close by.

Driving up the lane, guests will find themselves surrounded by the beauty of the Adirondacks, and a New England farmhouse peaking through the trees. Inside, guests will find more layers of loveliness.

The inn is done with superb taste, warmth, and hospitality in mind. The dining room, living room, and bedrooms display a keen sense for both comfort and aesthetics—this is not a place where you feel like you have to sit a certain way as to not harm the furniture—rather, the living room is the perfect place to cozy up to the fire, read a book, or just visit and relax. The original molding and wood floors are refurnished with historical accuracy—the floors are an amazing labor-of-love, although I’ll keep it as a subtle and beautiful surprise. Avoiding kitsch that befalls some B&B’s, the rooms are charming but not stuffy, not heavy or cliché. The bed and room were very great-- cozy and practical. Simply: ambiance is top-notch.

For those more practically-minded, Cedarwood provides modern amenities while maintaining the home’s character (think claw-foot tubs, good plumbing/water pressure, and shower-heads). A microwave and small refrigerator are available for guest use, along with other useful items in a back-room kitchenette.

As mentioned in other posts, the food is spectacular. A fruit dish is followed by the main course, then the most amazing pasties and breakfast sweets. Even the coffee is good! The breakfast is enough to last through dinner, with only a little afternoon snack. The afternoon snacks provided were perfect—a little sweet, some fruit and nuts, and loose or bagged tea, also of highest quality.

Louis and Sharalee, the host and hostess, add to the experience— they are attentive without the slightest trace of intrusiveness. They relayed all information requested: everything from the house itself, the area, trails, restaurants, and points of interest. They also have area history and travel publications, and as well as various fiction and non-fiction books available in the sitting room.

If you’re looking for an amazing getaway, this is the place. I recommend Cedarwood— five-stars.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

Location:
We spent a long weekend xc skiing and snowshoeing at the Garnet Hill Cross Country Ski Center and wanted nearby accommodations (opting not to stay at Garnet Hill). Cedarwood is located on a very pretty (and quiet) residential road just a few miles from Garnet Hill, Gore Mtn, and the charming North Creek Main Street (try Bar Vino for dinner, it's great!). In additional to being so close to Garnet Hill by car, guests who have their own skis can catch Garnet Hill trails right outside the Cedarwood front door (just be sure to pick up trail passes before doing this). Cedarwood is also located minutes away from several whitewater rafting companies and endless Adirondack hiking and biking trails making it a great spot for summer fun too.

Food:
Sharalee's savory breakfasts (crepes, eggs, veggies, sausage, popovers, wonderful fruit salads) were the perfect way to start the day and gave us lots of energy on the trails. Afternoon tea was equally enjoyable and provided sustenance as well as camaraderie (what a great way to get to know fellow guests!). Tea included a different baked treat (brownies, cream puffs, a delicious coconut pie of sorts) each day, fresh fruit, nuts, and several loose and bagged tea options.

Rooms:
Our room (the Artist's Retreat) was very private and had it's own thermostat (as do all the guest rooms). The queen bed was very comfortable as were the chairs located in the room's small sitting area. The bathroom was outfitted with a lovely pedestal sink and huge clawfoot tub that also has a rain shower head. I had never seen a clawfoot tub like this and thoroughly enjoyed using both the tub and shower.

The Inn itself:
The inn is warm and cozy and has a couple sitting areas where guests can warm up in front of wood fires. We opted to get take out one evening and had so much fun just relaxing in front of the fire as we ate and talked. Sharalee and Louis also provide a small refrigerator and microwave for guests as well as glasses and other odds and ends. *The wireless internet connection also worked great*

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

Our three-day stay was perfect. The service, breakfast, and hospitality of Cedarwood B&B exceeded our expectations. The room -- Artist's Retreat -- was creatively decorated yet uncluttered, spacious (had a seating area), and the bed was so comfortable. The well-stocked private bath was amazing with a tub and shower like no other. Sharalee and Louis were friendly and welcoming and had great suggestions for things to do and places to visit nearby. Breakfasts were culinary marvels, served with care and flare. We loved our stay and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

We have stayed at Cedarwood twice and it is one of our favorite B&B's. Sharalee and Louis are perfect hosts - friendly and helpful, but not obtrusive. The rooms are nicely decorated, with comfortable beds. Breakfast is delicious, and afternoon tea is provided, with wonderful baked goods, such as the best apple pie I have ever had. Evenings by the fire in the sitting room are so peaceful and relaxing after a day of skiing. Cedarwood is 1/2 mile down a little dirt road, so it is very private and quiet. The stars at night are amazing. We love this place, and we'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Bristol, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Cedarwood for the second time and agreed that it truly represents what a B & B should be. It has cozy, authentic atmosphere, it is off the beaten path with nature available just out the door, there is plenty of reading material (especially resources for the local area), the rooms have the comforts of home with none of the interruptions and the owners are accessible, friendly and serving thoughtfully prepared, generous breakfast and afternoon snacks. All of this make the price an exceptional value.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedarwood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarwood B&B

Address: 140 School House Road, North River, NY 12856
Location: United States > New York > North River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in North River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Adirondack Mountains on a country road you'll find Cedarwood. 6 miles to Gore Ski Mountain & 1 mile to Hudson River makes this a perfect getaway for the nature and sports enthusiast. X-country ski out the backdoor onto 55km of groomed trails. For breakfast enjoy locally roasted coffee, grilled buffalo steaks & piping hot popovers etc. After your day, sit by the fire and enjoy a glass of sherry and homemade goodies. Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedarwood B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.