We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nevada City Hotel & Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nevada City Hotel & Cabins
Montana Heritage Foundation, PO Box 205, Nevada City, MT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Nevada City
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

My family of 5 (2 adults, 3 daughters ages 7, 10, 13) stayed in a cabin for 2 nights. The cabins are refurbished miners' cabins and, from the outside, are very rustic looking. We were a little nervous to see the inside, but were pleasantly surprised. The cabin was huge, with 2 queen beds, a fold up cot, and a single bed in a separate room next to the bathroom. My girls were thrilled to have their own beds, a rarity when traveling with 3 children. The cabin was larger than any hotel room we stayed in, with lots of open space. The shower was prefab and small, but worked fine. The entire cabin, including the bathroom, was immaculately clean. There were 4 windows, a window fan, and a ceiling fan, which kept us comfortable. It was fun staying within a living history museum. We saw actors in period costumes in the restaurant and walking around the town, and they interacted with the kids, really drawing them into the history of the mining town and what life was like for the pioneers, especially for kids their ages. Check the dates--the living history museum is not open every day. We were lucky to have booked a Friday night stay because the actors were only there on the weekend. I would recommend a Friday night stay, with all day Saturday in Nevada City. You can pan for gold at the mining museum, and take the Alder Gulch railroad into Virginia City. It was fun!

  • Liked — It was unique.
  • Disliked — The website did not mention that the museum is only open on weekends.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Bend, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

After our stay in Jackson, Wyoming, we wanted to get out on the motorcycle and see some of the Montana countryside. So, we loaded up and headed to Virginia City and it's sister, Nevada City (1 mile west).

The rain chased us to town. We rolled through Virginia City so we could check in in Nevada City. We were met at the inn by a woman dressed in 1860's mining-town wear. (Later, we had a conversation with her on the porch of the inn, for perhaps an hour or so - she really knew her local history, and had interesting insight!). Check-in was a breeze, so we went to unpack.

(Note: this next paragraph is a 'side trip' about Nevada and Virginia City - you can skip to the next paragraph for the Cabin review, if you like). Both Virginia City and Nevada City are interesting, in different ways. The gold rush hit this area in 1863/64, and Virginia City sprung up from nothing when gold was discovered. Virginia City is an authentic 'ghost' mining town, if you can call it a ghost town - there certainly is a lot of rather sordid history associated with it, and it is good to talk with George at the Bale of Hay Saloon (Town Historical Restoration Officer and part-time bartender) about the efforts to maintain the town's buildings and history. Nevada City is not so much for purists, but also is of interest, as a local couple began to buy up buildings in other locations from that period to save them from destruction, and had them transported to Nevada City. Thus, only some of the buildings in Nevada City are from the area, although most are from the period. Therefore, while Virginia City is much as it was back in the 1860s, much of Nevada City is a recreation of what might have been (but still pretty cool - you can tour Nevada City for a small fee; alas, we arrived shortly after they closed for the evening, and we had to get on the road early the next morning).

The cabin was interesting (#7, also known as the honeymoon cabin?) - small, cute on the outside, cozy on the inside. The inside decor was not so much authentic (i.e., vinyl flooring). The bed was covered with a quilt (cute). The bathroom was utilitarian, and no TV or radio (which we knew). Also, please note: we could not get cell phone service in either Virginia City or Nevada City, but could do so in Ennis. Still, we weren't looking for electronic comforts, so it was fine. The shower worked well (we had hot water unlike another reviewer), and the bed was a double, but comfortable. We were the only residents of cabins, so it was very quiet. However, I can see that during the height of tourist season, one might have to keep the door locked so that people don't come stumbling in thinking your cabin is a part of the tour... The day was cold, and the heat worked well, we were very comfortable at night when the temperatures dropped to the upper 30s.

The only restaurant in Nevada City (the Star) was not open for dinner, so we unpacked, and shot back up the road to Virginia City. Thre are several restaurants there, not open super late. Frankly, we stopped at the Bale of Hay Saloon, and enjoyed our conversations and the atmosphere so much that dinner ended up being bar peanuts, beer, and nachos (don't tell my 11 year old, she thinks we always eat nutritiously). Virginia City is very interesting, both historically and visually - you get the feeling you are in an old Western movie. I did note that there is an inn (Fairweather) in Virginia City - I think next time, although the accommodations in Nevada City were okay, we would try staying in Virginia City. However, the price for our cabin was very reasonable, so no complaints here.

The next morning, we had a great breakfast at the Star, and got on the road. We had a nice time in the area, but are also comfortable with silences and knew what we were going to get from our stay - I can see where a family travelling with kids or teens dependent on electronics might have a hard time here.

Looking on the website for these accommodations, we pretty much knew what we were getting. Although not luxurious, everything was clean, and the area quite interesting. The Hotel and Cabins are across the street from the old train that runs back and forth between Nevada City and Virginia City - had we had time to take that trip, we think that would have been fun.

  • Liked — Atmosphere - very cool.
  • Disliked — A bit dated inside
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2007

We stayed in one of the front suites in the hotel and loved it. The furnishings and decor were authentic and warm. The people, including the gentleman at the front desk, were friendly and helpful. This is not a modern hotel and you have to expect some quirks.The only issue we had was that our room was at a balcony that was accessible to all guests, and some folks who were partying were out on the balcony late, but very nicely moved to the back of the hotel when we called the noise to their attention. The property is centrally located for exploring both Nevada City and Virginia City.

  • Liked — Its historic aspects
  • Disliked — Right on the road
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2007

As friends traveling together we booked 3 cabins. They look cute & rustic from the outside, but not so cute on the inside. Beds were horribly uncomfortable and how about cold showers? Freezing cold! We tracked down the manager to ask him to check on the cold only water, but he basically told us"tough luck" and no they wouldn't be looking into it & we would NOT be compensated. And No we will not stay here again, will not recommend it to anyone. We do recommend that you try a place up the road in Virginia City or Ennis instead.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roojake, Owner at Nevada City Hotel & Cabins, responded to this review, March 9, 2007
We offered a full refund which was declined. We were offered a room in the hotel for showers at no charge. Repairs were made in the morning. Customer service is very important to us, and problems are resolved as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
Sportsman's Lodge 3.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
View all 1 hotels in Nevada City, ranked by popularity

Been to Nevada City Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevada City Hotel & Cabins

Address: Montana Heritage Foundation, PO Box 205, Nevada City, MT
Location: United States > Montana > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Nevada City Hotel And Cabins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nevada City Hotel & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nevada City Hotel & Cabins to your Saves list