We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dream Island Hotel to your Saves list
Dream Island Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25th March, Fira 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 77 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Riverside, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Vacation to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Thanks to the lovely family-run Dream Island Hotel, I have the most amazing memories from my visit to Santorini in August 2008. Aside from all the other wonderful things that I could say (and have already been said) about the island itself, the Dream Island Hotel never ceased to amaze me with its degree of hospitality. I will never forget that when my friend and I missed the ferry from Santorini to Athens (due to our own negligence), the owners not only let us come back to the hotel and kill time by the swimming pool, they actually drove us to and from the airport. They went way above and beyond, and it's that kind of hospitality that will inspire me to return to Santorini--and this hotel specifically--at some point in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    57
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
60
142
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel is in a great location, 2 minute walk down the hill into the main shopping/eating area of Fira, which is very lively and entertaining in the evenings. The hotel itself is really nice with all rooms facing to the sea- the pool area is lovely, as are the rooms. The suites are obviously much nicer than the standard rooms, but the standard rooms are more than adequate, with really nice bathrooms and a small outside seating area.

The only thing that lets this hotel down is the breakfast. There were very little options and those options that were available weren't the best. We went elsewhere for breakfast everyday after the 1st day!

The hotel does not offer lunch or dinner, but being so close to so many restaurants means this is not a problem. There is a takeaway 'gyro' cafe in Fira called 'Obelix', which will deliver take away great greek kebabs and salads up to the hotel, and the hotel staff are happy for you to eat around the pool!!

We opted to hire a quad bike for 25 euro's a day, which meant we were able to get around the island at our leisure. You can get around the entire island and back in a few hours, it really is quite small, but travelling around is very enjoyable as there is so much to see on the way. we found some great Taverna's on our travels that we would have missed otherwise! The Dream Island hotel have a car park by the entrance, where we parked our quad bike.

Our favorite places were Fira, Oia and the Harbour, where there are some of the most fantastic fish restaurants I've ever seen- the sunset here is amazing. We LOVED Santorini !

Room Tip: All of the rooms are sea facing, there are arranged like small maisonettes (one up, one down) arrang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We changed our plans at the last minute due to the protests in Athens in July and decided to travel direct to Santorini instead of staying a night in Athens. The hotel we booked in Santorini could not accommodate us for the extra night and so we came across Dream Island on trip advisor.

The hotel is family run and we were picked up from the airport late at night by the owner and his and son for no extra charge. The owners were lovely and very helpful with directions and giving us free bottles of water on arrival because the water is not safe to drink on Santorini.

The hotel is built around a beautiful pool area with deck chairs overlooking the sea. The rooms and hotel are well decorated and clean. There was a large choice of foods available for breakfast which was included in the room rate.

The hotel is conveniently located about a 10 minute walk from the centre of the main town of Fira which is very busy with tourists from the cruise ships. The only negative for this lovely hotel is that it does not have views of the amazing Santorini caldera, however to compensate the price is a lot less than other hotels that do have those views. The views of the ocean from Dream Island are beautiful, they just aren't amazing like the caldera views. Despite this I would still recommend this hotel to family and friends because I could have easily spent a relaxing week there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Firstly, everything you have read by other reviewers is mostly all true. Dream Island Hotel is an oasis with in an oasis. The hotel is about less than 10 mins walk north of the main hub of Fira. This is ideal as it is away from the clubs and hussle and bussle of the main town on Santorini.

The pool and deck chairs around the magnificent pool is my favorite spot for sun rise.

The free airport/hotel transfers is a god send. The family atmosphere and attention to service should be the envy of the 5* hotel chains.

This place has made my "must return to" list. Enough said.

Positives: Inclusive transfers, swimming pool and deck chair area, free wifi, great service, renovated rooms and excellent communications prior and during visit with management.

Challenges: I really wanted to give this place a 5* rating BUT to be fair to my other reviews i had to note things like; the beds are a touch harder than what some people may be use to AND the breakfast offering could be improved.

Would I come back? ABSOLUTELY. Make no mistake. this is the place for you on Satorini.

Room Tip: Best views of the town can be found going to the cable car and then continuing up the hill behind t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My boyfriend and I happened upon Dream Island the day we arrived in Greece. We walked into a travel agency and booked the first ferry out along with the hotel special they had that day. We felt SO lucky to have ended up at Dream Island. The hotel is newly built and beautifully decorated by the wife/mother of the family. The father and daughter were waiting for us at the ferry terminal to take us there and even offered a ride to take us back the day we left. We ended up reserving an extra night we were so pleased. Breakfast is available each morning and it is quite the buffet spread. We got to have our scrambled eggs and sausage we missed from the US. There are not very many rooms so there is not too much noise and sometimes you feel that you have the place to yourself. I would visit this place again in a heartbeat. It is a little on the spendy side, but if you are looking for comfort, peaceful, clean and safe and don't mind spending this much I would absolutely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: They consider all their guests equally important and do not pick and choose certain rooms for certai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have just come back from Dream Island Hotel and I want to share this great experience. The hotel has a fantastic location (very near to the centre town but in a quiet street), the services at the hotel are very good (swimming pool, free transfer to the airport, breakfast..), but the best thing it's the exceptional attention from the family who lead the hotel. They are lovely and the make you feel like at home.Thank you for everything and I hope you like the wine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

What can one say when the owners personally pick you up and deliver you to the port or airport? It certainly was appreciated given that the port of Santorini is not that welcoming nor does the steep and winding roads look particularly appealing on a bus either.

The Dream Hotel is certainly unique. Given that it is a family run hotel, it has that extra special feel to it whereby personal attention is taken for granted. However, it did at times feel surreal with the family dog running around the place with a bucket around its head and the little boy playing with battery operated toy airplane in the pool area...

Still, one cannot fault the place. The rooms are clean, modern and attention to detail has been given to all aspects of the room, although the painted window took a little getting used to. Time on the balconies were nice to spend the end of the day after a day of leisure out and about. The breakfast was delightful and Fira town is only a 5 minute stroll away, including the bus station too. The pool area has a very relaxing feel to it with a lovely view of the Aegean sea, and is blessed with sunshine all afternoon, even till around 6PM, when the focus then becomes the sunset overlooking the caldera...The family are lovely and are always there for you.. even checking out and paying for the room did not seem an issue.. it seems to flow with the relaxed feel of living on a beautiful island.

All in all, we had a very pleasant stay at the Dream Hotel and would have no hesitation recommending it to anyone, especially for those who do not wish to pay exorbitant prices to stay somewhere overlooking the caldera, yet looking for something stylish and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Island Hotel

Address: 25th March, Fira 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Fira
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dream Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This "dreamy" hotel was built in 2006 according to the best requirements and specifications for you, since our aim is your best stay on our island all year long. We provide transport to and from the harbour and the airport. Our services include daily room cleaning, laundry, internet, safe box, mini bar, hair dryers, television, telephone, air-conditioning and best of all dreamy holidays and exceptional experiences for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Dream Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Island Fira
Hotel Dream Island
Dream Island Hotel Santorini/Fira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Island Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.