We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect, Friendly, Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elkaza Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Elkaza Villas to your Saves list
Elkaza Villas
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Kontoxwri Fira, Thira 84700, Fira 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Fira
Glen Walter Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Perfect, Friendly, Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

I stayed at Villa Elkaza for four nights in July with my teenage daughter. It was a little hard to find, but luckily we found someone along the way to give us instructions. The room was like a small apartment with a coffeemaker and fridge. It was very clean. A small breakfast was left each morning which was enough to get you going in the morning. You do have to go up a steep hill to get to town, this was not a problem for us. Liberty (the owner) was helpful and kind. She arranged a taxi to take us to the airport at 5:00a.m. and it showed up right on time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    13
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Nice place. Clean room. The owner was really kind and helpful with us.We appreciate all and the place is really cozy and friendly. Bravo fili.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

This is a very simple hotel located between the cities of Fira and Firostefani. You'll be about a 10-15 minute walk from the center of either city. Our room was spacious, had a small kitchen and tiny bathroom. The hotel manager/owner was extremely nice, giving us directions and tips on how to move around the island. For the price we paid, I was very happy with the overall stay, and would recommend it to any traveller.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

Santorini is an amazing, an extremely beautiful island and Hotel Villa Elkaza made our holidays on this island even more romantic, nice and unforgettable. Before arriving I was not absolutely sure that photos they put on their Internet page are showing the real situation, because the price was not so high and - because I do not really believe that dreams come true. But I must say - this was the case – they have made everything like in fairy-tail - design of rooms, furniture, curtains, views, balcony – you can not whish more! I really recommend this place. The service was very, I would say, private but unobtrusive at the same time. The only thing - location was a bit tricky. If you are not familiar with the area and use the main roads, it may seem that hotel is far from the centre and hard to find. But when you study all the lovely, small paths in-between all those white Greek, close to each other built houses, you find the centre as well as bus station very fast and convenient.
Thank you for the perfect accommodation!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

the place was fantastic with great hospitality and nice view to the aegean sea.Me and my wife enjoyed the fact that we were staying just a few minutes on foot from the center of Fira but we had a quiet romantic and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

I booked this accomodation through bedbreakfastreservations.com as a single traveller for the price stated, only to be informed when i had booked that i would almost definately have to share the room with 2 other people ie. strangers.
This is not clear & should be advertised as Dorms if this the case.
Please be aware of this - even if you book a 3 person family room for 2 you may end up sharing your room with 1 other person.
Nice looking property but very dodgy booking pracise - i would never have known this was the case if i hadn't asked the property about transfers.
I have now lost my deposit - BEWARE.....!!!!!

Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
libertySantorini, Manager at Elkaza Villas, responded to this review, January 20, 2009
this is more like statement than a response!!!!

according to this review: 1) the guest has booked one bed in a Family room?
2)he paid for a deposit that when he cacelled never took back
3) he choose to book his accommodation through a booking system.

1)First of All the hotel does not sell dorms, we clearly sell STudios and Appartments.

2)The hotel's policy is that of the free booking never takes a deposit or prepayment for a booking. The payment occurs only on the check out Day.

3)The guest never experience the service of the hotel Villa Elkaza, not even when he made his reservation.

We are always welcome to accept our guests comments on real happenings and we are also open to resolve all of their issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

Villa Elkaza was the first stop on our Greek island hopping holiday. Luckily the taxi knew where we were going because it is a little hard to find! We arrived to find no-one in reception, but that was fine because our room was unlocked, and all ready for us.

The room itself was lovely - spacious, and spotlessly clean, with lovely little touches to make it a bit more contemporary than many other Greek island hotels of the same standard. The shower room was also immaculate and definitely above average. We had a big balcony and a fab sea view - but note that Villa Elkaza is on the other side of Fira to the caldera, so you don't get a caldera view.

Having said that, it's only around a 10 minute walk to the caldera side of town, and only around 7 minutes' walk to the busy main square and so offers great value for money - the Caldera is easily accessible but you don't pay the inflated prices for the view.

I would definitely recommend this place as excellent value for money - clean, modern (or at least as modern as we found in this class of hotel!) and with a very friendly and helpful owner. A great find.

  • Liked — The sea view and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — Just a little hard to find
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elkaza Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkaza Villas

Address: Kontoxwri Fira, Thira 84700, Fira 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elkaza Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Elkaza Villas, if you are looking for a home away from home you have found it. Our fully furnished home Villas are created accordingly to cover the needs and excite the mood of our valued guests. The smart location of the complex and the attractive surroundings makes this place ideal for exploring the island, villa Elkaza is just a few minute walk from the main square of Fira in a quiet position, in Kontochori area, on the lower road leading to Firostefani-Imerovigli-Oia, far enough from the noisy and crowdy streets of downtown, but with restaurants, cafes and lounge bars nightclubs a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Elkaza Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elkaza Villas Santorini/Fira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elkaza Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.