We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended for honeymooner!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aroma Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aroma Suites to your Saves list
Aroma Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parodos Agiou Mina, Fira 847 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 76 Hotels in Fira
Bangkok
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Recommended for honeymooner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

The hotel is very romantic, only 6 rooms total. It's a cave-style hotel with stairs to go up and down to the rooms. Only 5-10 minutes walk to Fira downtown. The staff is incredibly friendly (period!) Strongly recommend for honeymooner, try Jacuzzi room! Another best thing is a free Wi-Fi! However, do not expect luxurious amenities or super clean, nice smell in-room fabrics like 4-5 star hotels. The bedsheet, blanket or towels might look a bit dull. Also hope they would have double-bed or twin room (2 beds).

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    60
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
36
181
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

This hotel has beautiful views and is in a good location with short walking distance to main attractions of Fira. However, that is about it. The bed was extremely hard and had a spider in it when we pulled back the covers. The bathroom and hvac unit was moldy and you were not supposed to put toilet paper in the toilet, you had to put it in the trash can. The room was dusty, the bedding and cushions were stained and the satelite tv had over 1000 channels, but very few in English.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

Aroma Suites is an ideal place to stay for a holiday. Fanes, was a fantastic host, warm, friendly, very inviting and always ensured we were looked after. We were spoilt with his home made wine, his mother's pickled octopus and many other tasty nibblies. We also were very thankful for the tips he gave us regarding festivals being held on the island. Two occured whilst we were there and we wouldn't have known about them if Fanes hadn't told us.

We stayed at Aroma Suites in November 2008 for a week, after spending time in Crete. (This review is long overdue)...Fanes greeted us at the airport with a warm smile and happily helped us with our luggage. Upon arrival at Aroma Suites, we were delighted to see our beautiful cave room with stunning views over the caldera. Our one and only disappointment was sharing the balcony with the two other rooms on that level, but that quickly turned positive when we met some lovely people staying in the room next door and another couple upstairs. The atmosphere at Aroma was very social and Fanes assisted this with his wine and tasty morsels.

Our room and bathroom was clean upon arrival and cleaned daily by the wonderful Irma. Irma makes sensational coffee as well (Illy brand). The bed was comortable and the kitchenette (sink, fridge, kettle etc) provided all we needed in order to make up a feast if we didn't feel like sharing the town with people of fcruise ships.

Our time at Aroma Suites has provided us with a lifetime of very happy memories.

What a great place! Thankyou so much Fanes. Your friends from Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

This is long overdue...
My best friend and I met up in Santorini the first week of December 2008. We are both from southern California, but I've been living in Ireland. We were looking to just relax... chat, hike, read, indulge, etc. Aroma Suites and Fanes' hospitality ended up being exactly what we were looking for. As prices were low in the off-season, we opted for the "honeymoon suite". We quickly de-honeymooned it upon arrival and did not take advantage of all the honeymoon features, such as the whirlpool bath. :)
We did, however, love the cave room. There was space to relax, a small kitchenette to prep snacks and store leftovers we weren't ready to part with, and even a few Greek music CDs to play. The patio right outside the room was shared, but we had no problem enjoying our morning or afternoons there. The views were just lovely. We also spent some time in the evenings in hotel reception with Fanes. He shared with us his homemade wine, and introduced us to his friends that stopped by. I enjoyed getting the local perspective on the political and economic scenes. He ensured we had our days planned, and gave us good restaurant recommendations. He was very personal, friendly, and not at all intrusive. The rides to and fro the airport were much appreciated.
The location of the hotel was actually really good. It is in town, just a few minutes to the main square and bus station. It is on the best side of Fira, with the views over the caldera. A grocery store and lovely baklava shop are down and to the right (main square is down and to the left). All and all, I would highly recommend Aroma Suites. Thank you, Fanes!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

Perfect! We arrived at the airport at 6:30am and Fanes was there with a smile to pick us up. Our room was not ready when we arrived at hotel, so we left our luggage in the reception room and took off on foot to find breakfast and to explore.

We stayed in the Menta (mint) suite. Our balcony is where we spent most of our time. We were able to get online wireless right on the balcony. Fanes always made sure that we had fresh coffee available to us in the morning also.

We were very comfortable with the room, there was a large walk in shower also. The room was equipped with a CD player and we were very pleased with the selection of music available. Imagine sitting on balcony at night, relaxing, taking it all in and having Chris Botti tunes playing while having an excellent glass of Santorini wine.

We especially loved the location of the hotel. It was tucked into a quiet area on the cliff, but still close to everything.

Fanes and his wife were helpful with information on the island. He suggested a restaurant and it was so good we ate there twice, and one of the times we found our new friend Fanes dining there also! He also helped us with renting an ATV.

I am attaching a few pics. We cant wait to plan another trip to Aroma Suites!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

Thanks to Fanes for being a great host to your fantastic villas. You made us feel welcome and special. The honeymoon suite was perfect and aptly named after your beautiful daughter.
The views are spectacular from the villas and from all over the island.I cannot think of anywhere better to go for a romantic holiday than Aroma Villas on Santorini.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

Aroma Suites has to be one of the best places I have ever stayed. Not only are the rooms beautiful and the views spectacular, but Fanes and his family make the experience of staying at Aroma wonderful. Fanes goes out of the way to ensure that his guests are well looked after, we were picked up by Fanes from the ferry and driven to the hotel, we were given advice on where to eat and anything else we needs during our stay. Booking ahead is definately a must as the Suites are fully booked the majority of the year. Would love to return to Aroma again and again.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aroma Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aroma Suites

Address: Parodos Agiou Mina, Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#27 Family Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aroma Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Aroma Suites, on the tip of the Santorini Caldera opposite the Volcano - a charming Cycladic settlement ... graceful, serene, a quiet haven for relaxation on the magnificent island of Santorini. Six rooms & apartments & the Honeymoon Suite, each room named after a herb or spice, and each decorated in vibrant joyful colours ... " Lemongrass, spearmint, lavender, mint & basil born to this island " ... Aroma Suites Hotel in Santorini is without a doubt an excellent choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aroma Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aroma Hotel Fira
Aroma Suites Santorini/Fira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aroma Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.