We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enigma Apartments & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Enigma Apartments & Suites to your Saves list
Enigma Apartments & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fira 84700, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Fira
Stevenage
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

We visited Santorini in June 07 without elaborate plans or advanced arrangements. After we arrived at Fira we spent the afternoon looking for accommodation on the Caldera area. This is the very lip of the former crater overlooking the remnants of the volcano. When we visited Enigma we knew that was it. Our search was over. We instantly warmed to the modern room which also has a traditional villa like character to it. There is a special quality in the construction architecture and decor and has all the facilities you expect. By far one of the best rooms we ever stayed in but the actual jewel in the crown was the balcony in the front . Not only it offered the privacy we coveted but has a private jacuzzi and the view is spectacular. We spent a lot of time sitting there taking in the breathtaking view of a Grand Canyon like scenery immersed in the deepest of blue. The staff and the people at Santorini are the best we have come across. Always friendly and pleasant they made us feel like distant relatives visiting. All the services and information provided were of the highest standards. The bar upstairs is very piecefull and discreet and the chill out music only adds to the tranquility offered by Enigma. We were simply overwhelmed by the experience of Santorini and Enigma played the most important role in this.
We thank all at Enigma for making this holiday most memorable . It really exceeded all expectations. We could not have hoped or asked for more.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    28
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
105
385
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2007

Cris, Eva, and the rest of the staff: Thank you so much for making our honeymoon unforgettable. You paid attention to every detail. You booked every activity for us, allowing us to simply bill the room. We were completely relaxed in the amazing surroundings. The direct viewsof the Caldera and the volcano from our private patio were perfect. A soak in our private outdoor hot tub was a great way to end the day. We enjoyed the quiet and privacy that our room and patio provided. Breakfast in bed delivered at our requested time every day was an added bonus. The breakfasts were very filling (meats, cheeses, breads, coffee, OJ, cereal, lots of fresh fruits, poached eggs, etc). Great restaurants and nightlife were a short walk away.
All in all, you gave us the perfect honeymoon. We appreciate it and hope to see you again soon.

Eva, stay Irish...

R and M

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

My wife and i stayed in jacuzzi suite #3 and it was just amazing! We had the best reccommendations for Enigma from friends who stopped by there last year looking for a room in middle of August and a lady at the reception was really helpful, trying to find accommodation for them and calling different hotels nearby but even if she did not find anything, our friends were so amazed by that and so returned there in end of September! That lady was Chris the receptionist who was very helpful and friendly every day by giving us reccommendations for restaurants and by the way try the ones next door like Archipelagos, Sphinx and Celene-very fancy but the best in Fira-and also go to Oia for the sunset time especially in Ammudi bay! Our room was fantastic and even if we saw pictures on their web site, that was more than we expected..the view from there is amazing and when we arrived there, we just wanted to enjoy the sunset having a glass of santorian wine that was complimentary ( i imagine this is not only for the suites) and watch the sunset at our patio! We had a loft bedroom and a very spacious living room with flat screen tv, very well air conditioned and a really enjoyable hot spa in our private balcony, where we had our breakfast every morning at the time we liked. The only thing that did not like at first was the steps to our room but then we got used to that and of course the best was the porter who carried our luggage there!!!! After all Santorini is for excersise:) We drove all around the island with a very cosi crazy car which Chris helped us rent it and we visited all the beaches-the Red beach is the best-and many wineries! The last day we took a tour aroung the Caldera with the Thalassa boat-Zoe, the guide was excellent and also Beni is a very good saxophonist! He was playing the best music at the sunset time!
We were very sad to leave Enigma the next morning...Chris gave us her personal email address and we are now planning to go back next year for our first anniversary!


Thank you all for this wonderful days!
See you next year:)

  • Liked — staff and friendliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

The hotel is beautiful. I was in room 5 that is long and narrow like the previous review said. The view was spectacular and the breakfast was great. The last day I had asked for a wake up call (very early to get to the airport) I was crunched for time and the call came 15 minutes late, the porter never showed up to get my bags so I carried them up the 95 steps to the top and had to leave the reception door unlocked because no one was there to take the keys or to lock it behind myself. The bathroom steps were a bit scary also, they are 17 uneven steps to the bottom. The view is great and I would stay here again but I would get a different room next time.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the 95 steps to the top and the 17 steps to the bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

We spent 7 nights at Enigma and couldn't find a single thing to complain about.

Our positive experience with Enigma all started many many months ago when I started our trip research. From the very first email, the Enigma staff were warm, friendly and very helpful. Once we booked our stay, they continued to follow through with helpful hints in numerous email exchanges.

Upon arrival at the Santorini airport, we were met by the driver that Enigma arranged for us. He took us to the hotel, carried our bags etc. Once at the hotel, the porter carried our bags to our room, a very nice touch since there are a few steps. Chris greeted us at reception as though we were long lost friends. She got us all settled into our room. Because it was still low season, we were able to upgrade our studio to a jacuzzi room for the first 6 nights...something that you can't do if you come during high season! Our jacuzzi suite (room 4) was very nice. We had 2 queen beds, one on the lower level and one in the loft. Plenty of space, a kitchenette, a patio, outdoor jacuzzi overlooking the caldera.....oh just perfect. And clean! oh my! All week they kept our room just perfectly spotless. For our last night we moved into studio room number 5. It is for just 2 people and is small in comparison to room 4. But we had all the amenities we needed, including a balcony to eat our last breakfast on. For us, being in our 30s, this room works great. But I would warn anyone who might get this studio number 5, it is an original cave apartment so it is long and narrow. The bathroom is actually down one level, down 17 steps that curve around the back of the cave...very neat, but for someone with poor balance, a little older or a young child even, not ideal. But the room is lovely in every way and of course perfectly clean. The bed was right at the front of the room so I could sit on the bed and look at the sea....just beautiful.

We enjoyed the in room internet service and the breakfast each day. The breakfast is just wonderful with a nice variety and a choice of what time it arrives. There is more than enough food too! The coffee was good, the food was fresh and it was delivered with a smile.

The location of Enigma is perfect in my opinion. After a long day of sight seeing, it was so nice to not have to climb up hill to get home. My husband had a conference at the Nomikos center and it is a 10 minute walk uphill to reach it. The walk was easy enough, just uphill. But, after a long day in conference sessions, the walk home was easy and relaxing. Enigma was so close to the bus and taxi stands and also to all the main shopping. The view can't be beat either! Unobstructed caldera view....breathtaking!

The only thing I can see that Enigma doesn't have that some travelers might desire is a pool. We didn't care since we were here the first week of May.

Our departure was sad. We hated to leave. The staff was so charming....every one of them. And being such a small hotel, they know who you are and care about your stay and your vacation. We really valued coming home each evening to a smiling face.

I highly recommend Enigma, the hotel, the staff, the cafe.....it is perfect in every way!

  • Liked — Friendliness and helpfulness of staff. Cleanliness of the rooms.
  • Disliked — Our departure from it.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2007

Stayed at the Enigma for 12 nights with my cousin. Fantastic and amzingly beuthiful views from the Enigma Apartments. You will be spoilt rotten with the fabulous views and service. Breakfast is delivered to your door at your own choice of time in the morning. Clean environment and situated at a very good location in the heart of Fira's shops, restaurants and bars. Everything was just a stone through away. Walking around was an absolute pleasure. Try taking a walk through the footpaths and see the many views and beauty spots you find yourself in.....Amazing !!

People are very firendly, Christine was exceptionally professional and effiecient in ensuring customers were catered for and happy with their stay. Would recommend the Enigma to anyone travelling to Santorini.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2007

My wife and I spent four wonderful days in a jacuzzi suite at the Enigma. The location alone makes it worth considering, with stunning views of the Aegean and the caldera while you eat breakfast on your balcony, and very close access to the restaurants and shops in Fira's center. But it was the staff we were most impressed with. From immediate attention to our numerable requests to great advice on where to go(especially from Kris, thanks so much!), this group made our honeymoon everything we had hoped for.

  • Liked — Personal outdoor jacuzzi
  • Disliked — Santorini's fragile infrastructure(plumbing, electricity)
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Enigma Apartments & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enigma Apartments & Suites

Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#2 Family Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Enigma Apartments & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Enigma Hotel in Santorini (Apartments & Suites) is perched on the cliff side of western Santorini, in the heart of Fira, the capital of Santorini island. Its wonderful location provides its guests with a spectacular view of the famous Santorini volcano and Caldera complex, the Aegean Sea, the island’s traditional old port and, best of all, the celebrated Santorini sunset. This view, along with the hotel’s excellent service and facilities, places it as a fine Santorini hotel in Fira.The Enigma Fira Santorini luxury hotel provides an amazing atmosphere for your holidays in Santorini. Enigma’s luxury Santorini suites, apartments and studios are elegantly-designed and feature a plethora of modern amenities that fuse harmoniously with the charming island-style architecture, creating one of the most picturesque hotels in Santorini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Enigma Apartments & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enigma Apartments Hotel Fira
Enigma Apartments And Suites
Enigma Hotel Fira
Enigma Apartments & Suites Santorini/Fira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enigma Apartments & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.