We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to return to such a beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enigma Apartments & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Enigma Apartments & Suites to your Saves list
Enigma Apartments & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fira 84700, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Fira
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great to return to such a beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A flying 3 day visit to Santorini, and a wonderful stay at the Enigma apartments. Thanks so much Chris, for making our second visit so special. You can't do better than this! I highly recommend Enigma as the place to stay in Santorini.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    28
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
105
377
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Enigma apartments and suites are beautiful and the scenery is breath-taking - especially during sunset. The staff are very very friendly, helpful and sincere. It's like a home away from home, albeit, a very beautiful home-away-from-home!! Would highly recommend the Enigma with any hesitation whatsoever.

Room Tip: One of the larger rooms might be a bit more expensive, but will leave you with memories that money j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Santorini itself is the place that leaves a strong impression. It only remains to find a place where you can get this experience at the most. Enigma - just such a place. The hotel is conveniently situated, the rooms have absolutely fantastic stunning views of the Caldera. Within a radius of 100 meters you can find dozens of Tripadvisor rated restaurants and taverns.
In the room you feel very calm and secluded. Add to this the excellent service and very friendly staff and you will get the best hotel in Fira. We stayed at the hotel with two children (7 years and 1 year). Many of the hotels are not recommended to stay with children under 8 years, because due to the location on the mountain moving inside the hotel usually occurs in the vertical plane. We didn't have such problems in Enigma. We had only steps which were not difficult to overcome.
On the whole everything was excellent at this hotel. I would definetely recommend Enigma to my friends and we will certainly choose it for our next stay in Santorini.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Plains, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The service at Enigma made our Honeymoon far better than we could have dreamed. Chris was always so willing to help us decide what to do, and all her recommendations were excellent. She really knows the great spots on the island. Great breakfast every morning, great room service for cocktail hour, and we got a parting gift! We would recommend this place to anyone going to Santorini, especially for an extended stay.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suite is totally worth it :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Firstly, what a view this place has. So many people stand on the street above Enigma getting their photo taken and/or watch the sunset but nothing beats sitting on your own balcony or in your jacuzzi on the balcony watching the sunset. My wife and I stayed for 7 nights during our honeymoon and also a friends wedding and had such an amazing time. The staff are also amazing. Chris and Lisa in the reception are the best, They know everything about Santorini and really cared to find out what we had got up to during the day and what else we had planned while on Santorini. They were even kind enough to give us some tips for Paros which we visited after Santorini and also ferried some forgotten items to us. Amazing service. Breakfast was served daily on our balcony with everything you could want to start the day. We stayed in one of the Luxury Suites and it was great, big bathroom, comfortable bed, balcony with table & chairs, outdoor jacuzzi and the most amazing view. You get your exercise walking up from your room each time but the views you get doing it are worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at Enigma for 4 nights in August, during our honeymoon. It was the most amazing experience! We knew we wanted to stay in Fira, because there's so much more of a nightlife than Oia. But when I was researching, the thing that really sold me on this place was the private balcony hot tubs and the views! What a perfect decision. The hotel was in a perfect location, close to shops, restaurants, and nightlife, but quiet at night - with the most spectacular views. Our room was immaculate and romantic, whatever we wanted for breakfast was included daily and brought to our private balcony, we watched almost every sunset over the caldera right from our hot tub! The staff was pleasant, helped us book an ATV (which was essential), gave us directions around the entire island and recommended the absolute best restaurants. I cannot say enough positive things about Enigma, but the pictures really speak for themselves!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a room with a private hot tub/balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

After the glowing reviews on trip advisor I was expecting good things from this hotel. It absolutely exceeded my expectations. My husband and I spent 3 lovely nights here celebrating our anniversary and my birthday. It was magical. We had one of the studio rooms and it was lovely. Every room has a terrrace looking out over the caldera with a beautiful view of the sunset. We ordered breakfast the night before, and it was delivered on time at our terrace the next morning. In the evening, we would order cheese, fruit and wine to be delivered down to our terrace for the sunset and then we were off to dinner. Chrisoula and Lisa were wonderful hostesses. They gave us great restaurant suggestions, helped us with the bus schedule to Oia (which is very easy to get to by the way) helped us set up a tour of the island with a guide, and also set up for us a sunset cruise of the caldera which I highly recommend. During the cruise they had the boat surprise us with a lovely bottle of champage and a birthday cake compliments of the hotel. We were so surprised! I can't thank them enough!!!!!!!!!

If you are considering going to Greece, GO. The people are lovely, the food is terrific, and it is very easy to navigate. If you are considering going to Santorini, STAY AT ENIGMA. You will not be disappointed.

My only warning - if you do not climb stairs well, be sure to talk to the hotel before booking and get one of the higher rooms. If stairs are no problem, go for the lower levels. The lower you go, the more privacy you have. We had studio No. 5 on the 3rd level down and it was lovely. But the bathroom was down a flight of stairs from the bedroom, so if stairs are a problem for you, room number 5 would not be a good choice for you. Of course if your budget allows, go for the spa rooms. Whatever room you get, you will not be disappointed. All the rooms are well appointed with beautiful views and spotlessly clean. This hotel only has 8 studios, 2 per level - so book early.

Also, I really recommend the sunset cruise on the Thalassa. You leave port around 3:00 and return after the sunset around 9:00. It takes you to the volcano where you walk to the top with a guide for a great view of the caldera. Next there's a swim in the hot springs, then a sail to Thirassia for more swimming, wine and greek appetizers. Greek dancing on the boat followed by a cuise to Oia for the sunset. Then back to Fira. So much fun!!!

Also, next door to Enigma, there is a fine dining restaurant. Unfortunately, I can't remember the name but Chrisoula recommended it to us. It would be to the left of Enigma if you were standing facing the caldera. I had the stuffed chicken legs there one night for dinner. It was the best chicken I have ever eaten. The waiter told me that dish has been on the menu for 30 years. It's delicious.

THANK YOU, THANK YOU ENIGMA for a magical stay in Santorini. We are so happy to have stayed with you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enigma Apartments & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enigma Apartments & Suites

Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#2 Family Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Enigma Apartments & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Enigma Hotel in Santorini (Apartments & Suites) is perched on the cliff side of western Santorini, in the heart of Fira, the capital of Santorini island. Its wonderful location provides its guests with a spectacular view of the famous Santorini volcano and Caldera complex, the Aegean Sea, the island’s traditional old port and, best of all, the celebrated Santorini sunset. This view, along with the hotel’s excellent service and facilities, places it as a fine Santorini hotel in Fira.The Enigma Fira Santorini luxury hotel provides an amazing atmosphere for your holidays in Santorini. Enigma’s luxury Santorini suites, apartments and studios are elegantly-designed and feature a plethora of modern amenities that fuse harmoniously with the charming island-style architecture, creating one of the most picturesque hotels in Santorini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Enigma Apartments & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enigma Apartments Hotel Fira
Enigma Apartments And Suites
Enigma Hotel Fira
Enigma Apartments & Suites Santorini/Fira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enigma Apartments & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.