We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rena's Rooms & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rena's Rooms & Suites to your Saves list
Rena's Rooms & Suites
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rodies Area, Fira 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 42 Fira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Famagusta, Famagusta, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mixed Review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The location of the hotel was about a 10 minute walk from the city centre, which isn't far, but the hotel is located down a side street, hence the pool area of the hotel looks out onto a work site. In other words, the views from the hotel left a lot to be desired.

We were very disappointed with our room upon arrival as the professional photos shown on the site are extremely misleading. The photos of the rooms are only the photos of the junior and superior suites i.e. the best rooms of the hotel. We were given a standard twin, which was awful! Very dark, cramped, hardly any wardrobe space, no drawers and a bathroom that was simply a tiled hole in the floor with a shower curtain, no shower cabin as shown in the suite photos. In one room there wasn't even a wardrobe just a hanger space sectioned off with a curtain!

When we complained we were offered a junior suite as long as we paid the difference, which we did. However, the hotel manager did give two of our friends (a married couple) a superior suite for no extra charge.

Breakfast at the hotel was also quite poor and very simple, though we weren't too bothered as we usually ate light in the mornings. But if you are someone who likes a hearty breakfast then this is not the place for you.

Nonetheless, regardless of the misleading photos of the rooms, the staff at Rena's were very friendly and very helpful and made the stay worth it. We were especially pleased with Christina, the hotel manager. She was very approachable and extremely helpful. No matter what the question, no matter how many times we needed her help and advice she was always ready to explain things in great detail and with a smile on her face. She is a lovely personality and has immense knowledge about the island and provided us with daily tour plans of where to go and how to get there. Christina is definitely the best thing about Rena's.

If like us, you are planning to use the hotel simply as a place to sleep, shower and change then no problem but I would recommend one of the suites. However, if you are looking for something more scenic, and are planning to spend a lot of time at the hotel then you should probably try something else.

Room Tip: Go for a junior or superior suite as they are the only rooms with a proper shower cabin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panos K, Διευθυντής at Rena's Rooms & Suites, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guliz (and all your frineds),

thank you for the time you spend on a review for our hotel and we are grateful for your kind words. It is more than pleasure to help and assist our guest to spend their time on our beautiful island the best way possible!

As for the work site.. unfortunately our neighbors start so early to renovate they yard and i understand it was annoying but, the next time (that i wish we will see you again) you will have a beautiful vine view!

As for the pictures there are pictures of the standard rooms and actually there are plenty.
It wasn't so bad as a few of your friends stayed there. I had a possibility to upgrade a room with no charge so the couple it was the ideal as they enjoyed a double bed but a superior room with twins wasn't an option that is why when you asked for an upgrade you had a junior suite. We charged your card with the minimun possible net rate because we wanted you to have the best time ever. i hope we achieve it in a way!

My regards to all of you and i hope if you don't come over i will meet you to your beautiful Cyprus!

Christina Vazeou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    72
    20
    11
    16
See reviews for
43
134
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas City, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Such a gem Rena's! From the arrival and the charismatic leader Christina (who helped us by giving all the good tips, answering all of our questions again.. and again!) until the standard room we had! We booked a standard room and it was just fine! therefore Christina gave is a suite for our last night to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday.. Oh how grateful we are! I suggest if you are traveling for honeymoon - birthdays to take a superior suite instead! we definitely want to come back! Just 6 minutes away from the main square in Fira and maybe 8 minutes from the bus station? thats it! Christina helped us by getting a quad and we had the chance to explore the whole Island! Such a good suggestion! The breakfast was a tasty Greek buffet by the swimming pool.
Thank you Christina once again.

Room Tip: Superior suite, ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was our most expensive and highly anticipated hotel in our honeymoon and maybe hence we were let down when we arrived at the property. The location is not good. Though it says Fira, it is located on a bypass road of Fira with quite a steep walk to city center.The photos on the site and tripadvisor are professional shot and are misleading. If you notice carefully the shots of outdoor are shot from knee height and cover sky so they actually donot tell how far the hotel is from sea(which is very very far away). The rooms are really cramped, with nothing much to talk about. However the hospitality is exceptional. The manager knows the short coming of his place and hence tries to make up by being very polite, gentle and really helpful. Full marks to him for making a wonderful stay for us.

Room Tip: go only for junior suite and nothing below that
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panos K, Διευθυντής at Rena's Rooms & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Siddharth,

I am glad you enjoyed us and we enjoyed you too!!
I hope you have great time back home now.
We are sad that you though it is expensive to stay with us but sometimes through the channels and agencies the rates are various and different..

Hopefully we will see you again in the future for a "second honeymoon" around the Greek islands.

Once again congatulations and all the best.

Christina Vazeou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Location isn't the best. Not quite at the centre of Fira. It's some 10-15 mins casual walk uphill to Fira depends on your fitness, the road with busy cars, motor and donkeys can be challenging to manage. It isn't a scenic or pleasant walk.

I have to be honest to say the room isn't the most spacious and cosy, bed is not the most comfortable, it is adequate. No kettle and tea making facility in room. Air conditioning was functioning well. Certain rooms get pool view, some get sea view.

Breakfast served by the pool. Simple but delicious, local delights such as Sun dried tomato, olives and figs were served.

The highlight of my stay, by far, is the receptionist Christina. It's the most friendly and helpful hotel staff I ever met. Understanding, considerate, keen to ensure comfort, go beyond miles to ensure I had a wonderful and comfortable stay, provided valuable idea and travel arrangement for my trip at Santorini!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panos K, Διευθυντής at Rena's Rooms & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Jerry,

more than a pleasure to me to know that my guests having the most beautiful and relaxing holidays up to their expectations!
Our location is only 6 minutes away from the main square in Fira and as long as you get keen with our alleys you can use the shortcut through the traditional settlement of Fira.

Next time i will get you a quad bike :)

Jerry thank you personally for your beautiful words, it warms my heart!

with my best wishes,

Christina Vazeou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had a wonderful time at Rena's!
I would recommend anyone who is coming to visit Santorini to stay here. We experience wonderful hospitality from Christina and felt welcome and safe at the suite.

A must visit for all!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panos K, Διευθυντής at Rena's Rooms & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Kai,

makes me feel more than happy first that you had such a nice time with us and then that you felt safe and familiar.

Our kindest regards,

Christina Vazeou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights before we went back to Canada after a cruise...loved this place Christina is amazing.. she is soo sweet and overworked... owners should realize how good she is... they need to hire more staff niko works too hard too..great room you need to book superior or you will be around the corner and not so nice room good breakfast too..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our family stayed for a week at The Rena's Suites attending a family wedding. So much praise for Christina, the Manager of the hotel. We arrived and one room was not suitable for an elderly relative, although the hotel fully booked,Christina somehow managed to accommodate all our needs. She was a huge help sourcing the best place to buy wedding flowers, cakes and taxi's without breaking the bank which helped me as the wedding planner was out to get as much money as possible. A few hiccups, ie I forgot wedding trousers to suit for one of my son's again, Christina came to the rescue, found me a shop to get more trouser, told me not to worry, everything was fixable. She always had a smile on her face and all our family thought she was lovely, even though I'm sure we caused a few headaches for her along the way. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wanted a stress free holiday, relaxing and very close to the main town Fira (5 minute walk), although hiring quad bikes is a must to get around the island (again Christina can arrange this). Nothing too much trouble for the staff at this hotel and they always had a smile on their faces. I would go back to this hotel again as it was a very relaxing atmosphere. Thank you Christina for all your help

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rena's Rooms & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rena's Rooms & Suites

Address: Rodies Area, Fira 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rena's Rooms & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rena’s Suites is situated in Fira, the capital of Santorini Island. This affordable boutique hotel is in a central location, only a short stroll from the city’s amenities and services, while simultaneously located in a quiet area of Fira. The hotel’s central location is ideal for couples, seeking romantic walks through the cobblestone streets, for families needing to be near restaurants and transportation services as well as groups of friends looking for adventure in Fira’s infamous nightlife. Boutique Hotel in Fira, Santorini. Rena’s Suites, an affordable yet elegant boutique hotel in Fira prides itself in being family friendly, welcoming couples and groups of friends to experience Greek hospitality at its best. Our qualified and approachable staff is dedicated to making your stay on Santorini Island an unforgettable one. Simple Elegance, are the words used to best describe this newly renovated boutique hotel in Fira. Our amenities and services, among others include; a sea view pool, a pool lounge area, and pool bar. All rooms in Minimalist Cycladic island style, indulge in the comfort of these fully renovated rooms and suites in Fira. We welcome you to come and enjoy the tranquility and serenity by our sea view pool, graced with swaying palm trees and light sea breezes, making your journey to Greece a magical one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Rena's Rooms & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rena`s Villas ( Rodies Area) Hotel Fira
Rena's Rooms & Suites Santorini/Fira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rena's Rooms & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.