We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, but no coffee/tea/milk and not the room we booked!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Fira Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Fira Suites to your Saves list
Porto Fira Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   FIRA TOWN, Fira 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Fira
Ankara, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stunning views, but no coffee/tea/milk and not the room we booked!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Just back from 5 nights with my two teenage daughters 13 and 16. Yes Beautiful, amazing position on the cliff. Views do not get any better. Yes lots of steps but with the amount o eating and drinking to be enjoyed, treat it as fitness for the day! Hotel staff nice enough- didn't see them much. On reflection didn't get the room we booked - we booked a suite with queen bed and two sofa Beds. Instead we got room #24 (one queen and one sofa bed) except for fact my husband couldn't come in the end, we would have been way too crowded In the room they gave us. With that one sofa out fully, we almost couldn't inch around it. And must say the mattress on the sofa bed was dreadful - my daughters head was lower than her legs!! Very annoyed no coffee/tea/milk but a kettle!! Get that at the supermarket before you arrive! Room was very quiet, queen bed was comfortable and hot water no problem at all. Breakfast was nice but a bit boring after a few days. Biggest issue was the shuttle back down to ferry port on departure. whilst only 20 euros for 3 of us in a lovely large modern mini bus, the hotel mixed up my departure shuttle booking (ie lost my original booking, so we made a new one which would leave the hotel half hour later than original) then they obviously lost that second booking and found original booking and so because we weren't there, the driver lost his sense of humour and wasn't interested in hearing my views! A joke. Bit of a sour taste. Having said that, we are returning to santorini next year with extended family (4 families) - but there are so many other lovely places to stay - some not so far down the cliff, but look simply just as stunning. Santorini is definitely a bucket list item you must do!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    37
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
90
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. A nice breakfast was delivered every AM, although it would have good to have a little instant coffee set-up in the room since there was an electric kettle. The view from our patio was outstanding. Also enjoyed a dip in their pool. A slight drawback was the limited hot water for the shower. We never had a consistently hot shower in the 5 nights we were there. The staff was very friendly, and helpful! And the porter was amazing that he could carry our large suitcase up and down those steep Fira walkways, while always smiling. Tip him well!

Room Tip: We had room #20, which had a more private balcony than the room next to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setagaya-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It is Beautiful place and you want to experience the typical beautiful cave hotel in Santorini then this is it. but there is no one can help you carry a luggage from the top of the hill to the Hotel and it is really long stair. Nothing you can do because this hotel is at right edge of the cliff that is why view is good.
Break fast is amazing. and to be honest after spending 5 days in Santorini. Best thing is the view in Santorini. if you stay in this hotel you've done most of thing you need to do in Santorini. so Important not to stay less hotel but hotel like this worth it.

Room Tip: Stayed in Mini Suites, it looks small in the Picture, but it is not. just average size for normal ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Arrived at 12:30.am., and were greeted with a very nice gentleman, soooo sorry I don't have your name, but im sure he is the only one who literally throws your 48lb luggage over his shoulder and walks you to your room, amazing!! You will appreciate this more than you know,as Santoini is all about walking up and down pretty steep stairs. Inquire ahead about pickups. We stayed in rm#21,right on the cliffs of Fira. Excellent spot. Room was very clean, our patio was spacious, and is where our breakfast was delivered each morning. They have traditional and other options to choose from, all is good and the presentation is amazing. We ordered room service one evening , pasta and salads were large and yummy. The beautiful ladies at the front desk are very helpful,so ask them all you need to know about thing to do. Adonnis at the patio bar was spectacular, he made us remember to just relax and take it all in. We were there Sept 4-8th,a few cruise ships making town busy,so we really loved sitting at the hotel bar and chatting with him, a gracious host. Housekeeping was thorough and prompt, thanks ladies. The pool area was small, but perfect for the size of the hotel , nice little private cave to sit and chill in. We were all over town and it seemed like we really hit the jackpot. The reviews here really helped though. It seemed like a team effort at this hotel and we'd definitely go back. Thanks to everyone. We were greeted each morning and evening with smiles and really appreciated that. In turn,we did tip, and all were very appreciative as well.

Room Tip: Suite #21 has perfect views and very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to Santorini. Travelled with four other couples.
Stayed at Porto Fira for two nights,
All the rooms are different layouts, our room 19 was great, with the bed right next to the window over looking the caldera and magnificent views.
Overnight the huge liners would slip into port ( disgorging thousands of tourists)
Our bed was comfy but couldn't get out of one side....didn't worry us, but some may not like it at all....as before all rooms have different configurations and sizes.
We had a spa bath for two in the cave bathroom ....didn't have time to use it though.
Rooms are air conditioned if needed.
Breakfast was on time, hot and delicious served on the balcony next to our room.
Pool is small but delightful.
Don't come to Santorini if you don't like steps....millions of them....and girls forget anything like heels.
Back to the hotel, friendly and obliging staff
We happily recommend this hotel, sadly we leave today

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here with our two girls for six nights. Thrilled with the location and that it had a pool, albeit small but at least a pool to cool off in. We hadn't been to Santorini for 20+ years and we always swore when we returned we would try and stay on the caldera for dramatic views. Porto Fira Suites does this dramatically.

We booked our transfer from the airport with the hotel directly; €50. We were met with our name on a board and directed to what looked like a 50 seater coach, all to ourselves! A 20 minute short drive took us to the junction near Fira bus station where we were met by Nikos who took our two large suitcases; one on his shoulder and wheeled the other whilst my husband and I took our children's much smaller bags. He then guided us up the short walk to Hotel Atlantis and then down the stairways further down the cliff to Porto Fira Suites. Hot work and he does this for every guest and their bags - bravo. Please tip him!

Our one room suite slept all four of us very comfortably. We were in Room 14 adjacent reception so only one flight of steps to leave the hotel to get up on to the lowest level public walkway above us. Our room was built back into the rock like a cave and every morning c8am we had the delightful footfall of donkey hooves and their bells making their way to the old port above our heads on the pathway above. It was a large suite with a day bed converted to a bed for our youngest and an archway into our eldest daughters single bed(room) area. Our king bed was on the mezzanine at the top a central wooden staircase. En suite jacuzzi bath with shower over.

Breakfasts are taken at your room, each one having a delightful outdoor seating area with the spectacular views beyond. Nikos again tirelessly delivers a tray of your chosen food all morning. Just complete your order the day before stating what time you would like to have breakfast. These were delicious and plentiful.

We ventured down to the pool every day at some point, after exploring the island and Fira. There are three areas to sun yourself and a cave with a bed built in to the rock, in here is also an internal phone and menu book so you can ring reception for drinks, snacks or lunch to be delivered down. There are c85 steps up to reception so this is a nice addition!

We had two evening meals in the bar which is on the street level (one level up from reception). Both evenings the meals were delicious and the bar small but a great spot to witness the sun leaving, or you can eat at your outside terrace. The menu is small (not in a bad way) and not flamboyant but definitely sufficient as you'd really only eat in if you, or the children, were too tired to venture out.

Rooms are cleaned and made up every day, one cleaner kept very busy - and fit! All the staff were very friendly at Porto Fira. Thannos at front of house was always warm and friendly.

We had an app which would give information on the yachts and cruise liners which docked early every morning and reception has binoculars for guests use.

Sally the cat (not a stray) was a delight for the children and ourselves, moving slowly around during the course of the day finding her cool spots. She's a grand old age, friendly and well fed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
台灣台北
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We booked Porto Fita Suites Superior Deluxe Suite 2 rooms for 2 night 4 month previously.
But the rooms they provided were not the rooms we booked.
They send us to the hotel called Santorini Reflexions Volcano Hotel witch across the street to Porto Fira Suites.
Finally the manager refund the gap price, we only receive the right one room for one night.
This is not good experience to us and suggest everyone to be careful about this issue.

大家請小心!!!
我們下訂的房型是Superior Deluxe Suite 2間兩晚上,不算是這間最便宜的房型
不過當晚上Check in之後
飯店的人員 帶我們離開Porto Fira Suites
接待我們下榻到飯店出門口上坡處隔一條街道的飯店入住
無論是房型 備品 設備 通通都不是Porto Fira Suites當初官網上呈現的房型

後來我們發現 我們確實是被帶往其他的飯店
剛好位於 Porto Fira Suites隔壁
叫做 Santorini Reflexions Volcano Hotel

明顯的來說
就是這家Porto Fira Suites 超收客人 或是 欺騙客人騙取房價差
(我們六月中入住 二月初訂房)

一開始飯店的主管堅稱我們入住的房間也是在Porto Fira Suites的園區內
但明顯和事實有相當大的出入
(住在隔壁的房客 Check in還有吃早餐的餐廳 都不在Porto Fira Suites)
於是最後我們最後爭取了兩天 在Check out時 得到談好的價差!!!

實際付費(已於二月付清)
Porto Fira Suites -Superior Deluxe Suite
375 EUR/ 兩晚
最後退費
110 EUR/ 兩晚
另一房間退費
55 EUR/ 一晚

就算是得到價差
除了住宿之外 其他活動還是可以自由進出Porto Fira Suites
但我覺得這是一個被欺騙的經驗!!!
如果當初沒有據理力爭
也許就這樣 傻傻付了很高的房價 卻沒有住到該飯店該有的房型...

請大家如果有意下榻(下訂)Porto Fira Suites前
必須事先確認好房型 或是不要住到這間飯店

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Fira Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Fira Suites

Address: FIRA TOWN, Fira 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#13 Family Hotel in Fira
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Fira Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Porto Fira Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Fira Hotel Fira
Porto Hotel Fira
Porto Fira Suites Santorini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Fira Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.